BBC Sports Personality 2009!

Loyal2TheRoyal

512870 stewiegriffin

Catch a grip, it was the British public that voted for him. Jealousy is an awful thing.

I'm guessing you are Man United supporter and the only one of then ten you have heard of was Ryan Giggs.

No i actually know two, Giggs and Ronaldo!

stewiegriffin (Tyrone) - Posts: 341 - 13/12/2009 22:24:48    512904

John Virgo just said it there himself, "never mind the X Factor, the best result so far tonight was Ryan Giggs winning Sports Personality of The Year".

You know it's true when JV says so.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 13/12/2009 22:29:58    512907

I think that Giggs was probably deserving of a lifetime award but Seve had already got that. Bit of a surprise but has had a good season and is performing well for 36.

Millhouse, sympathy for what??

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 13/12/2009 22:59:45    512934

A pure joke. Giggs could not win it when he was in his prime.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 14/12/2009 02:28:43    512978

Well done to Ryan Giggs. Fully deserved. Infinitely more talented a sportsman than most of his competitors and also achieved more last season and in his entire career than most others.

An all-round legend that should have won it several times.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 14/12/2009 10:29:32    513032

I understand what you are saying Loyal and i agree. Its the nearest thing to a posthumous award you can get !! Maybe he deserved it years ago but not now !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 14/12/2009 10:47:33    513049

13/12/2009 17:19:26
Rf

512607 Cavendish would have to win the tour de France outright to even be considered a seious contender. Haye or Button i'd say. Button because he was brilliant all season. Haye only had to fight for 36 minutes in fairness

I think its widely acknowledged that Cavendish (by his own admission) will never win the Tour. He is a true sprinter, not a climber. To win the amount of stages he has is an incredible feat. He was robbed.

BigSam (Kildare) - Posts: 266 - 14/12/2009 10:47:40    513051

Just like the X Factor or Strictly Come Dancing, this show proves that the most deserving don't always win. Winners are voted in by the public so if there's enough Man Yoo fans out there with nothing better to use their phone for then the likes of Giggs will win it.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 14/12/2009 11:04:48    513073

can i ask ye one question lads. Who gives a flying **** who wins that yoke?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/12/2009 11:58:14    513111

Rhodejim
County: Offaly

513111 can i ask ye one question lads. Who gives a flying **** who wins that yoke?

Have you anything better to talk about?

BigSam (Kildare) - Posts: 266 - 14/12/2009 12:10:45    513121

BigSam

513121 Rhodejim
County: Offaly

513111 can i ask ye one question lads. Who gives a flying **** who wins that yoke?

Have you anything better to talk about?
---------------------
we could get to know each orther a little better Sam? tell eachother our hopes and fears ...... you go first...

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/12/2009 13:00:00    513165

Seeing as u asked Jim....

A job would be nice seeing as I have done my time in College
To stay injury free for 2010
That Dermot Early/BO'D/PO'C/Bull will stay injury free for 2010
Leinster title/Grand Slam would be sweet

Fears would be any of the above not happening.. along with a few injections..

Yourself??

BigSam (Kildare) - Posts: 266 - 14/12/2009 14:32:10    513266

see , isnt it a lot nicer being civil to each other...!!!
fears - that work figures out i am contibuting nothing to the company.
hopes - keep the job. get a bit fitter and get back for another senior medal i suppose.

if i was aked that question 3 years ago every answer would have been sport related. cant believe how little interest i have in it now..

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/12/2009 15:22:54    513320

NavyNBlue

513073 Just like the X Factor or Strictly Come Dancing, this show proves that the most deserving don't always win. Winners are voted in by the public so if there's enough Man Yoo fans out there with nothing better to use their phone for then the likes of Giggs will win it.

Who deserved to win x factor or Strictly Come Dancing then???

Giggs is a sporting legend who deserves absolutely everything he has ever won. Navynblue, you seem a reasonable bloke so I'm not accusing you of this, but it seems to me that anything Man Utd or its players wins is perceived as undeserved?? WHen will be penny drop with some people?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 14/12/2009 15:46:29    513345

Ryan Giggs winning, what a joke..

Galway11 (Galway) - Posts: 570 - 14/12/2009 16:58:54    513437

it was pretty obvious he was going to win. a public vote when about half the country supports united no matter where they're from?

passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 14/12/2009 17:39:46    513507

The best man won ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 14/12/2009 17:44:45    513514

i suppose it comes as a little compensation for the humilating defeat sufered by his team mates at home to aston villa.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 14/12/2009 20:54:01    513792

Very surprised by this! Thought Cavendish or Button would have got it.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2019 - 15/12/2009 12:39:39    514321

Guys, Cavendish was never going to get it in a million years. The british public don't care how many stages he won in the Tour De France the fact is he didn't win the Tour itself so thats that. Infact I would doubt alot of people know who he is. I though Button would win it, but very pleased for Giggs. Also I had forgotten how gorgeous Jessica Ennis is, up there with Denise Lewis now!!!! As they would say in Monaghan, they're unreal hey!!!

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 15/12/2009 14:35:02    514450