Firstly ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 10/12/2009 18:19:01 509987 Link 0 |
Right ireland is at deficit 13% GDP, European Union's Stability and Growth Pact says it should be 3%. I aggree the government is to blame but my protest will be with my vote the next time around. So why can't the picket on their free time instead depriving the public (of which they should be serving) of services they need if they feel so bad about it. The only one's taking the brunt of it are the public which is ironic really. I have a lot more respect for them if they did that. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2009 18:37:50 510015 Link 0 |
Ruanua, Do you think there will be industrial action as it looks like it. I think that if there is it will not take the form of street protests as that would mean losing wages. It will be along the lines of non-cooperation and everyone just going by job descriptions and doing nothing else. According to the news the garda are taking their ballot. I have already said what they would do to disrupt big events, not use their own personal phones and not take calls at home etc. How do you see it panning out as you are usually near the mark ? Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 18:51:26 510028 Link 0 |
Hag, there will be No strike, they seem to have other ways !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 18:52:32 510030 Link 0 |
Fair enough slasher, I thought you meant that the Government was going to target the private sector. black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 10/12/2009 19:13:29 510079 Link 0 |
Slasher Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2009 19:39:48 510109 Link 0 |
Hag & Cheese, i believe that workers have to fight for their pay and conditions. I also think that they are entitled to refuse to use their own phones and do overtime to suit the Govt. That is not breaking any rules at all. I agree that dole is higher here than in many countries but so is the cost of living. When we joined the "one market" i also thought that v.r.t., v.a.t. etc would be the same all over but our crowd ripped us off. I do not want to see anyone suffering but my point is that the high earners are escaping all the time. There was a man on the Joe Duffy show today who said that he and his wife earned 80,000 each in the Private Sector and the budget took nothing at all from them and that they never had a pay cut either. Yet people on very little have to pay. Is this fair ? I am actually getting it hard to wait for the general election to get this crowd out !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 20:24:32 510158 Link 0 |
i took a 30% pay cut at the start of last year,and was on a 3 day week on top of that,luckily im back on a 5 day week,but was informed today that i wont have any work for at least all of jan.i know for a fact that the bussiness im working in is losing money on every job it does.the private sector is easily taking twice the hit the PS are.cop on,and get on with it. shapes42 (Cavan) - Posts: 383 - 10/12/2009 20:25:03 510159 Link 0 |
Same old story, 'get the money you need, but dont take it out of my pocket'. There are 300,000 people now unemployed that were recently in the private sector, surely its only fair that those in the public sector take a similar hit. Of second houses being sold in the last 12 months, something like 80% are being bought by those in the public sector. That tells you all you need to know TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/12/2009 20:41:34 510176 Link 0 |
shapes, did the Public Sector cause your trouble ? No, i didn't think so but to read your post would give the impression they did !! You just sit back and take so they will come after you again !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 20:52:04 510185 Link 0 |
The Master, seeing that you like statistics 70% of the Private Sector took NO hit !! Not that i want them to either !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 21:16:25 510215 Link 0 |
Think it of this way who are ye serving the government or the public.... grand protest in a way that dosen't effect the country in a bad way, as public servants ye have a duty to serve the public. Ok to save money what would you say to mass layoffs within the public sector the simple fact is its cuts or layoffs. And don't say the government owe ye, ye did ok in the boom times and don't even try to mention benchmarking you can't effectively benchmark against the private sector the top 10% make most of the money not the way as much in the public sector. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2009 21:16:54 510216 Link 0 |
Also in no way bigging up the government as they are most to blame for getting us in this state but Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2009 21:22:37 510225 Link 0 |
Slasher, None of us Joe Soaps caused the problem. But all the pay rises and Welfare increases which we all enjoyed for the past decade came on the back of this unsustainable bubble that we are all now cribbing about. We are still better off now then we were at the start of the Celtic Tiger. This year the cost of living has come down, previous pay increases were based on an increase in the Cost of Living Index so with the cost of living falling it is not unreasonable that pay should track it. I do agree however that the tax bands should have been changed and that more people should have been brought into the tax band. However if that had been done this time Public Servants would have been caught there too and suffered a double whammy. My guess is that it will happen next year along with Property and Water Charges and this new Universal Levy to replace PRSI and Health and Income Levies. The reality is that regardless of what Public Servants do this will not be reversed simply because if the Government did buckle, the International Financial Markets would surely recognise us as a basket case and wash their hands of us completely. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 10/12/2009 21:29:10 510235 Link 0 |
Slasher Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2009 21:34:26 510251 Link 0 |
Ruanua, Do you think there will be industrial action as it looks like it. I think that if there is it will not take the form of street protests as that would mean losing wages. It will be along the lines of non-cooperation and everyone just going by job descriptions and doing nothing else. According to the news the garda are taking their ballot. I have already said what they would do to disrupt big events, not use their own personal phones and not take calls at home etc. How do you see it panning out as you are usually near the mark ? ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 10/12/2009 21:55:14 510274 Link 0 |
Cavan_Slasher dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/12/2009 22:12:59 510309 Link 0 |
Cavan_Slasher dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/12/2009 22:16:55 510316 Link 0 |
Most low wage slave driven private sector workers will not be content until public sector employees are as downtrodden and unhappy as them. The private sector knows it gets a raw deal but doesn't have the backbone or balls to take on their wealthy profit driven employers. REMEMBER this is the same private sector that f**ked the property market up, destroyed the banking system, whose massive profit margins are killing the retail and tourist industries AND ensured that many many decent Southern citizens have to go North to make ends meet and feed their families. YET they still have the gall and bloody cheek to tell the public sector to shut up and take ALL the hits for the ROTTEN, CORRUPT dealings of the private sector.It is no wonder that people have had enough and are rebelling. The Dublin government has just pumped 60 Billion into the banking system to bail it out and STILL these corporate banking fools want to award themselves MILLION Euro bonuses. GET OFF YOUR KNEES AND SPEAK OUT! RISE, MARCH ON LEINSTER HOUSE AND TELL THEM, TELL THEM! Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 10/12/2009 22:58:29 510369 Link 0 |
slasher Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2009 23:15:46 510389 Link 0 |