Public Sector -Fightback.

It is time for the Public Sector to fightback against the budget cuts !! I would welcome ideas from other Public Sector workers on how we can do this effectively. Some people where i work said that they would take longer to do tasks hence create a backlog but that would only make ordinary people wait and i disagree with this. I believe that the garda will stop using their own private phones for work purposes and have also discussed the issue of refusing to work overtime at important events which would make policing impossible. Any ideas ?

P.S. many of my co-workers have boycotted the Irish Independent for their stance on Public Sector cuts and because Fionnan Sheehan was so overboard in his opinions on the cuts, wanting even higher cuts. This i would agree with and all Public Sector workers should boycott this newspaper too imo !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 14:32:34    509689

I bet you have a beard Slasher.
I think one of the best ways for PS workers to make their point is through their local TD's. You need to put the fear of God into them. If a few thousand PS workers rang a TD in one day, he's soon start to think about where his votes were going to come from.
Anyone who works in the Dail or Seanad should operate a work to rule and try to hinder the work of the TS's and senators as much as possible. They are the only people who can reverse these cuts so they should receive the message directly.
Go slow protests work well for farmers and I think you should consider them. Pick one of the bust Christmas shopping days leading up to Christmas and clog up a few urban centres. This is a risky one cause you could annoy a lot of people but that's probably one of your few remaining options: become so annoying that the govt has not choice but to reverse the cuts.
The Gardai should do as you say and withdraw any optional services (such as OT or the use of their personal mobiles).

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 10/12/2009 14:47:34    509709

Yez poor wee divils....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9897 - 10/12/2009 14:50:09    509711

I'm gonna spend more time on hoganstand.

Everyones a winner!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 10/12/2009 14:58:04    509723

As a public servant, one of the lower paid too, i actually just want this to be done and get on with it. I will accept the cut, say "I have done my bit" and get back to my work.
No strikes, no work to rule, none of that BS, it will gain us nothing. Just accept it and get back to work and please God they wont now come back for any more.
Striking is pointless, it wont get us anywhere.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 10/12/2009 15:14:01    509735

sit in a corner and sulk or fire your rattler on the ground or pull the head off your dolly.
the list is endless.

BELLYMAN (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 10/12/2009 15:17:50    509740

I'm semi State Public sector, a very succesful semi State at that too. I'm embarressed

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/12/2009 15:26:48    509752

Pray to God and thank him that you still have a job.

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 10/12/2009 15:30:09    509756

Breffni39, thats it man !! Its H.S. all day now for us !! Goof thinking !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 15:36:40    509763

Bellyman, well its the Private Sector next anyway as stated by a minister today !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 15:39:20    509766

You'll find Cavan_Slasher that most private sector people have been hit already months ago, so why don't you put your barely disguised glee away like a good lad.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9897 - 10/12/2009 15:47:20    509780

Slasher were carrying you lot a long time now. A bit more pain? So what.
Some of us have to keep the country going while others wont.

BELLYMAN (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 10/12/2009 16:12:39    509810

Slasher

Just wondering, how exactly do you see the Government cutting wages in the private sector? Taxes impact on both the public and private sector (although according to Peter McLoone the income levy was targeted at the public sector??), and it's not like the Government are paying anyone's wages in the private sector.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 10/12/2009 16:18:17    509816

Well said Liam. If we all get on with it there is a chance the recession will end sooner.
A lot of blinkered fools cannot see this.

BELLYMAN (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 10/12/2009 16:19:08    509818

Black&White, i heard an interview with Noel Dempsey today and he said he believed that the Private Sector wages would come down in 2010 in his opinion !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 16:55:31    509855

Bellyman, "blinkered fools" react with posts like your earlier one !!

Lockjaw, I personally will not have much pain at all but the young people i know will have a lot as they are also stuck with mortgages and childcare. I did not show any glee !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 16:58:22    509863

Liam: Talkin sense. Thank you

panboxty (Leitrim) - Posts: 129 - 10/12/2009 17:19:32    509904

Fight back???? They still have jobs don't they... cost of living is still dropping their should be cuts. Trying to equate average pay against the private sector can't be done either as the top 10% make most of the money. Before harping on have you looked to see how irish public sector equates to other countries and also the tax rates.

Don't get me wrong i still blame the government inflating wages in the good times simple fact is the country can't afford the the current public sector = pay cuts. There's been pay cuts in the private sector... i know i had pay cuts and in the end made redundant. I decided to go back to college what do i get nothing so sorry if i'm not bringing out my little violin for you.

Why have a public sector we can't afford??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2009 17:36:24    509933

Hag, nobody asked you to bring out your violin, you will need it for later !! Also my post was addressed to workers who work in the Public Sector. I am sorry you lost your job and for others like you but to say that we should be thankful we still have a job is just avoiding the issues of this Govt running the country into the ground and everyone accepting it. If we continue to take all that is thrown at us and allow the causes to get away scot-free then we will all get what we deserve !! There is plenty of money hidden away by the cute people in high places from the Celtic Tiger era and they are still getting it handy !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/12/2009 17:53:19    509952

The arithmetic is very simple lads. The Government simply has to stop spending more then its receiving or else we will go bankrupt. The I.M.F. will come in and the last 2 budgets will seem like paradise compared to what we all will have to face. You can only balance the books by cutting expenditure or raising taxes. Taxes were raised last year and any further increase would be disastrous. I have absolutely no doubt whatever that all the main Private Employers who have not already done so will be pushing for similar or bigger wage deductions in the New Year. It is indeed hard on anyone who has to take a wage cut, and I do sympathise with Public Servants , however whilst I know ye are sick of hearing it, Ye do have a guaranteed job and a guaranteed pension and that is a lot more then most. Its not over yet either, the Government will have to radically examine all areas of the Public Service to further reduce expenditure, and Property and Water Tax are coming for all. Happy Christmas.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 10/12/2009 18:03:45    509964