Just wondering, seeing that Wardy usually accounts for at least half of the Tones scores on an average day and has been their most important player for at least 6/7 years, what grade do people think they would be at without him. GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 06/12/2009 23:11:08 505452 Link 0 |
Oh my god, you cannot be serious??? BBD (Meath) - Posts: 228 - 07/12/2009 06:56:24 505578 Link 0 |
its up to Opposing teams to stop Ward then!!!..and to be fair, he has a few talented players around him too ! maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 07/12/2009 07:39:32 505583 Link 0 |
His input makes a big difference alright. Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 07/12/2009 09:12:22 505601 Link 0 |
They would not have had Ward or Harrington for most of their league games and still won it so that puts your theory down the drain drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 07/12/2009 11:52:58 505709 Link 0 |
Theres not much point to the question really because you could start that with any club that has county players & ask that! Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 07/12/2009 12:16:11 505735 Link 0 |
Now anyone who see's the Tones regularily will realise that his teammates are good footballers and for the most part Ward just gets the scores. I believe if he wasn't there there are plenty of lads capable of running up good tallies. Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 07/12/2009 15:13:02 505965 Link 0 |
Sure you could ask the eact same question about Senechalstown!! Like where would they be without the sheridans?? Bar3 (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 07/12/2009 15:32:38 506000 Link 0 |
The answer to this question is YES they would be senior stil. Obviously this question was posted by another lad who is jelous of the top clubs. If your from a small club , just have your swipes at other small clubs. sammaguire99 (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 07/12/2009 18:35:13 506312 Link 0 |
def senior, like any of the other top eight senior clubs, wolf tones could win any game without their top player. hate this small club mentality of relying on one or two players! at the top clubs other players always step up to the mark hillman2 (Meath) - Posts: 102 - 07/12/2009 20:05:31 506456 Link 0 |
Thats a fair question about tones but i feel they would still be senior. I have great respect for tones and the way they run there club. I have to say that Rathkenny would be a junior team without the donegans though. The rest of the top teams Navan , BHG, Sencheastown, Summerhill would all be capable of lifting the kegan without the top players. I also feel Oldcastle would struggle even if you gave them ward , sheridan and bray. Their bound for relagation. I feel the wining of the inter will go to there heads rather than be a steping stone to challange the giants of meath football. I heard the celabrations were way over the top there and it has already led to an early exit in leinster. Not enough fire power up front to chalange tight defences like BHG, Summerhill, Skryne and the rest of the teams who play tough tackling football. The bench is full of lads who are trying but not up to it and lads who just want a free tracksuit and big session after a final. Ye wont be gettin one next year lads. johnhanlon (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 07/12/2009 21:45:49 506600 Link 0 |
You mustnt know many contacts in Oldcastle then because youre talking more nonsense. Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 07/12/2009 22:27:49 506646 Link 0 |
john a bit harsh der on oldcastle in all fairness. der a very young team that everything is about movement. the could struggle physically as they are still very young but releagtaion is a bit far. and wit regard to their leinster losing to the champions by a point nd unlucky to do so aswell dont think that was poor so dont be puttin teams down the whole time. we wont know what they will be like until next year when they have the chance to prove what they can do at senior championship level and until then i think prople should keep their mouths shut juicy (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 07/12/2009 22:28:43 506648 Link 0 |
If those giving out about the topic actually read my post i didn't give my opinion on the matter. I mearly asked what others thought. GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 07/12/2009 22:41:57 506663 Link 0 |
This is a an unbelieveable reply to a question about wheter a team would be good enough without a certain player and how Oldcastle celebrated winning the inter.Surely you must have another agenda johnhanlon. jake1 (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 07/12/2009 22:58:01 506682 Link 0 |
On the wolftones they would still be senior obviously not as strong but still top 8. as said they did get to the league final without ward and harrington. however what make the tones a small club?? It must be in the top 5 biggest parishes in the county As for oldcastle well if you were actually at the match they lost in leinster they should have won easy it just didnt happen for the forwards on the day. they went training on the wednesday after winning the championship on the monday, not much clubs can say that they would do that. Oldcastle will win the senior in the next 5 years! great young team. foleysgoal (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 07/12/2009 23:56:21 506765 Link 0 |
Foley how on earth did you come up with that? What underage have they won in the last few years to prove your point? kittooleshoes (Meath) - Posts: 84 - 08/12/2009 02:47:32 506831 Link 0 |
How has this thread turn from a topic about Cian ward into another thread slagging Oldcastle? Some lads here have serious chips on their shoulders! Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 08/12/2009 12:02:50 507022 Link 0 |
I dont no maybe because 11 of their starting 15 in the intermediate final was under the age of 23. im fairly sure another two lads under 21 were brought on as subs foleysgoal (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 08/12/2009 14:01:44 507149 Link 0 |
Goalswingames, where would kerry have been without dara o shea, tyrone without dooher, etc. free takers need players like this to work to get them frees. cian ward is deadly from frees , fair enough but there is 25 other lads on that panel to work for him. rediclious comment. as for bar3. seneschalstown had 4 players in the top 10 sharp shooters in this years championship. 2 sheridans and the two Clarke brothers. aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 08/12/2009 15:22:17 507261 Link 0 |