"Of One"... The World turned out to be round.

REMEMBER the propaganda churned out by many of those who were opposed to opening Croke Park to rugby and soccer throughout the first half of this decade?

Instead of measuring it on its practical merits, they dug into a large bunker, booby-trapped the approach routes with emotional landmines and established 'Radio Rant'. The hysterical output was the same day after day.

Open up Croke Park and it would only be a matter of time before the Gaelic Grounds, Pearse Stadium and Pairc Ui Chaiomh were rocking to rugby and swinging to soccer. Next to fall would be GAA club pitches, overrun by local soccer and rugby teams.

There was also the spurious marketing argument. The FAI, in particular, would use Croke Park to promote soccer by giving free tickets to youngsters for international games when they couldn't fill the stadium with paying punters.

Opening Croke Park was, we were warned, a win-win for rugby/soccer and a scary lose-lose for the GAA. Of course, the truth was completely different.

Now in its third -- and, sadly, second-last season -- as the international home of rugby and soccer, Croke Park has contributed to the GAA like never before in its celebrated history.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/11/2009 14:24:41    496064

Instead of idling through the winter months -- and for long periods in spring and autumn too -- it came alive as a splendid international venue. In return for keeping rugby and soccer internationals at home, the GAA took 1.5m of rivals' money each time it opened its gates for the big games. Positive It was the sweetest of deals, the benefit of which has been spread all over the country. Very few of those who opposed opening Croke Park have acknowledged the positive reality of what transpired. Nor have they admitted that their scare-mongering negativity was out of step with the unquestionable logic of capitalising on the major asset which Croke Park had become. A few years on and another constructive development has come under attack. The grandiosely-titled 'Of One Belief' group have objected to the recently-announced GAA-GPA deal, claiming that it's wrong to allocate funds to the players' group. Quite apart from the fact that the 'Of One Belief' group has no mandate whatsoever, the central tenet of its argument is utterly unsustainable. Bizarrely, it describes the truth that inter-county players are core contributors to the commercial success of the GAA as "absolute fallacy". And you thought that the 42.3m earned from National League and All-Ireland competitions (excluding provincial championships), sponsorship and TV money in 2008 was due to the huge public interest in watching inter-county players perform. Not so, it seems. In fact, according to 'Of One Belief', inter-county players are "by far the biggest financial drain on the real GAA". The self-appointed custodians of all that's pure in the GAA -- which, in their view, does not include the inter-county scene since they also opposed Government grants for players -- will presumably attempt to turn the GAA/GPA deal into another source of contention all the way to Congress 2010 where it will be officially ratified. Meanwhile, the rest of the GAA world is pleased to see an end to the bickering which punctuated so much of the Croke Park/GPA relationship throughout the decade. Of course, quite how the new arrangement works out in practical terms remains to be seen. There will be points of conflict but, presumably, they will be kept in-house and worked through to a conclusion rather than thrashed out publicly which, in the past, was in nobody's interest. It has taken the GPA 10 years to gain official recognition but that was probably inevitable. There were times when the GPA appeared like its own worst enemy -- certainly in terms of getting the public behind it -- but then Croke Park didn't always handle itself particularly well when issues arose either. Deep down, Croke Park suspected that pay-for-play was on the GPA agenda but are now satisfied that it's not. The changed economic circumstances have bolted that particular door firmly shut, assuming of course that it was ever actually open. The GAA/GPA deal is probably the last big act for the Association this decade and indeed at the end of its 125th year. It's as important as any that has taken place for a long time because, ultimately, it's crucial for the players and the administrators to work together rather than waste time and energy at war over matters of mutual concern. 'Of One Belief' portray it as a disaster for the Association when, in fact, it's the very opposite. Time will show that, just as it proved that the planet was indeed round -- despite what the 'flat earth' brigade asserted. - Martin Breheny A

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/11/2009 14:57:25    496089

Of One belief.....

You see that's the problem right there. A narrow minded approach is a dangerous thing... if you are unwilling to compromise and adapt then you'll end up very bitter indeed. They've already proved from previous scare tactics that they dont know what they're talking about...and they didnt have the courage to come out and publically admit they were wrong and that their predictions were complete scare tactic propraganda BS.... Feckin Cowards...and what a surprise they're back with the same BS scare tactics. They are our version of Fox News.

Who are these people? Who funds this group? Who do they speak for?.... Why hide? The above article exposes this group very well indeed. "Radio Rant"....

All I know is that people like this are doing more harm to the organisation than any good! We must be a laughing stock to others... is it any wonder that rugby is catching up,.... and all I can say is well done to the rugby contingent. A sport that incorporates the entire island. A sport that looks to the future rather than a bleak past. Many people at the minute are preferring to send their children to play rugby and stay clear of that outdated bitter GAA lot... I hope that it keeps growing because when a group which have the neck to call thmselves "Of one belief" speaks on our behalf.. well I'm ashamed to call myself a GAA man.

One one belief my arse....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/11/2009 12:20:15    497433

Jimbobdub,maybe in Dublin parents are sending children to play rugby but from what I can see the GAA is flourishing,now more than ever.Maybe in Dublin yous view the GAA as oudated .then again yous never truly did understand the rest of the country.

NorthMonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 100 - 29/11/2009 13:00:06    497451

All that stuff about the historic nature of the deal between the GAA and the GPA looked to have been a bit previous when RTE reported that the Cork County Board had opposed the agreement.

It turned out that news was a bit previous too. The board had merely voted to refer the matter back to the clubs to get their views before any decision was taken. Delegates who spoke of their opposition to the deal were merely firing a shot across the bows of the GPA.

Then came the news that Wexford County Board were backing the deal. But that was jumping the gun a bit too. The board beside the Slaney were only mandating their delegate to vote for it at the next Central Council meeting which will enable the motion to be put to Congress. Real support will have to wait for the approval of delegates at the County Convention.

Confused? You shouldn't be. The bottom line is that nothing has any reality in GAA terms until it's passed at Congress. There might yet be a surprise ending to the lovefest which is When Dessie Met Christy. There's a possibility that what was lauded as a done deal could yet turn out to be a dead duck. Hyperbole about history notwithstanding, the outcome rests with the rank and file.

That's how it should be. Ordinary GAA members should take their time, examine the deal closely and make up their mind about what is best for the Association. And then they should vote yes, because this is an honourable deal, a good deal and a deal which finally shows the GAA giving the proper amount of respect to inter-county players.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/11/2009 13:02:23    497453

Opponents of the scheme last week kicked up a fuss about the €1.1m promised to the GPA for player welfare schemes and the €500,000 to cover administration costs for this year and next. Yet this is a mere drop in the ocean compared to the €63.4m the Association made in 2008. The GAA was typically diligent in giving money back to provinces, counties and clubs, handing over €52m. Yet this was still only 78 per cent of the total. The GAA may not be as awash with cash as some of its critics maintain, but it does have some money to spare. It's hard to see why anyone would feel the GPA does not deserve what amounts to between two and three per cent of that income. This deal will not break the bank.

Those opposed to the deal are undoubtedly sincere but the problem is that they seem to be motivated by the misguided idea that the GAA embodies a Platonic ideal of the amateur ethos. The reality is that an organisation which, for example, defends the continuation of Guinness sponsorship of the All-Ireland hurling championships purely on financial grounds is in no position to deny the modest request of the GPA.

The deal is a triumph for the GPA, and for its chief executive Dessie Farrell in particular. It's not long since the GPA suffered the crushing blow of having the much vaunted player payment scheme reduced to almost complete meaninglessness by cuts in the Government's sports budget. Yet, even then, the GPA displayed a great deal of integrity. Officials in the Department of Arts, Sports and Tourism wanted them to agree to the scheme being confined to the top echelon of inter-county players. By insisting that the reduced money be divided among all GPA members, Farrell conclusively nailed the notion that there was something elitist about the players' association.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/11/2009 13:03:34    497454

That Christy Cooney not only engineered the deal with the GPA but showed sufficient generosity of spirit to describe it as "a wonderful 125th birthday present for the GAA," bodes well for his time at the helm in Croke Park. The GAA spent far too long playing hardball with the GPA. In particular the attempt to set up its own player welfare body in opposition to the GPA was the worst kind of paternalism, a sporting reprise of that old "you don't want any of those oul' trade unions son, we'll sort it out between ourselves" works committee number.

Hurlers and footballers didn't fall for that one. From the start they've made it clear that they want the GPA to represent them and what the GAA have done, almost a decade too late, is face up to that reality. Better late than never.

In the early days of the GPA it seemed to suffer from confusion as to whether it was a kind of talent agency or a sort of trade union. The headlines the Association garnered in its first years tended to be about high-profile deals for a number of big name players and gave rise to the idea of it being solely concerned with money. But in recent times the perception has been of a GPA operating along universal lines. We don't hear about individual deals anymore, we hear about deals which benefit all inter-county players. The emphasis is firmly on player welfare and the organisation awards scholarships, offers advice on careers and education, and tries to help unemployed members find jobs. There is a lot more to the GPA than sponsorship deals with the manufacturers of energy drinks.

The GPA has achieved far more over the past decade than could have reasonably been expected. I can remember being at a press night in Cork before the 1999 All-Ireland hurling final and hearing about the inaugural meeting of this new organisation. The general opinion was that the idea was interesting but that the GPA probably wouldn't last too long.

Farrell, and GPA chairman Donal óg Cusack, deserve a great deal of credit for ensuring that the Association has confounded the cynics and the sceptics. But the real victory has been for the rank and file members who have kept the faith. They have been rewarded with an agreement of real substance, one which gives back a little to those who have given so much.

Now all that's needed is for club members to ensure their county rubber-stamps the deal at Congress. They won't let the players down.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/11/2009 13:04:27    497455

NorthMonaghan
County: Monaghan

Well I'm a quarter Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connacht. I have family all around the country.

I've a good understanding of them... The Northern attitude on sport is all about politics. GAA = Nationalist - Soccer/Rugby = Unionist

I'm glad I dont see sport like that. It breathes division and builds walls.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/11/2009 13:37:05    497477

Howya Tomo... Awful day isnt it!

Very interesting reading there..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/11/2009 13:39:12    497482

Tomo

should have posted earlier you'd have saved me 2.50

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 29/11/2009 14:02:32    497494

497482 Howya Tomo... Awful day isnt it!

Very interesting reading there.. .....................Awful weather altogeher jimbo-Your doing trojan work on here this week fair play..Good to see a good response to the Gaa-Gpa partnership all over the country...This one belief group are a funny mob No Website just a few blogs interesting...Over 1000, people came together from all over the world to voice their concern wonder how many bad -monkeys in there...I was thinking of starting a BELIEVE BLOGto see would i get more supporters......

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/11/2009 15:04:54    497541

madasbutter

497494 Tomo

should have posted earlier you'd have saved me 2.50 .....sorry

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/11/2009 15:07:02    497545

Whilst we're on this topic, can anyone tell me where all for these €1.5M's went. It was supposed to go to the clubs. I know our club got NOTHING. Some money (about €100k ) came to Monaghan but did not get as far as the clubs - Instead it went to the County Training Facilities - It was supposed to be 'ring-fenced' for clubs. I hear similar happened in most counties clubs too. My sources tell be that there will be one more similar payment made again and this time it is intended to develop county grounds.
How many matched were hosted there, what was to total take.
I'm getting very disillusioned about the upper echelons of the GAA. It it were not for the clubs there would be no GAA but we get no help at all.

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 29/11/2009 15:18:52    497551

27/11/2009 14:24:41

496064 REMEMBER the propaganda churned out by many of those who were opposed to opening Croke Park to rugby and soccer throughout the first half of this decade?

Instead of measuring it on its practical merits, they dug into a large bunker, booby-trapped the approach routes with emotional landmines and established 'Radio Rant'. The hysterical output was the same day after day.

Open up Croke Park and it would only be a matter of time before the Gaelic Grounds, Pearse Stadium and Pairc Ui Chaiomh were rocking to rugby and swinging to soccer. Next to fall would be GAA club pitches, overrun by local soccer and rugby teams. HAS YET TO BE DISPROVED NOT TO MENTION THE EFFECT ON MEMBERSHIP!!!

There was also the spurious marketing argument. The FAI, in particular, would use Croke Park to promote soccer by giving free tickets to youngsters for international games when they couldn't fill the stadium with paying punters. ARE YOU SURE THEY DIDN'T AS THEY STRUGGLED TO FILL WITH EXCEPTION OF ITALY AND FRANCE MATCHES!!!

Opening Croke Park was, we were warned, a win-win for rugby/soccer and a scary lose-lose for the GAA. Of course, the truth was completely different. AGAIN - YET TO BE DISPROVED NOT TO MENTION THE EFFECT ON MEMBERSHIP!!!

Now in its third -- and, sadly, second-last season -- as the international home of rugby and soccer, Croke Park has contributed to the GAA like never before in its celebrated history.

Sorry but, who was engaging in spurious debate???!!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 29/11/2009 15:55:31    497575

Is this the Tom and jimbo thread???!!!

Just shows how little interest there is in their ramblings! And as for me?? Well once an anorak always an anorak!!!

Pity though that they couldn't show that the GPA has a bit of decency about them, instead they chose to abuse and suffocate the opposition! How little we have learned from the Dublin Diocesan report!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 29/11/2009 15:59:04    497577

Real Louth fan
County: Louth

497577 Is this the Tom and jimbo thread???!!!

Just shows how little interest there is in their ramblings! And as for me?? Well once an anorak always an anorak!!!

Pity though that they couldn't show that the GPA has a bit of decency about them, instead they chose to abuse and suffocate the opposition! How little we have learned from the Dublin Diocesan report!! .................Good to hear from you again our paths haven't crossed in a while...RLF I don't have an anorak..

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/11/2009 16:13:21    497587

Ah it's king RALF himself...

No interest im my ramblings.. obviously you weren't around last week. I was involved in serious debate with several posters as was Tomo. Have no fear this story will soon grow and everyone will want their say soon enough.

Fairly heavy handed straight away there RALF... well seeing that I started the thread, Tomo is more than welcome to join and he added an interesting article,

Not one prediction has come true RALF... not one!! from the OOB group. Their Scare tactics were shown up to be total nonsense... and with soccer and Rugby soon leaving Croke Park. It really doesn't matter. The soccer/Rugby players have called off the invasion of our county/club pitches. It was a close call there... Well I hope the "Of one belief" will climb that high horse once again to complain about the proposed American football games being hosted in HQ.

So you can save the ramblings lark man.. you made some remarks there that you have no idea of the answer yourself, yet you used it as a means to attack the article. You weren't on the debate team in school then I presume. You're always the one to call other people's posts rants/ramblings... but really you have the established rep of a man that is guilty of such posts on occasion.

The "Of one belief" have done nothing to add to this debate apart from openly attacking the GAA and bringing their reputations as club men into disrepute. Very constructive alright... but it doesn't surprise me.

As for attacking us as GPA men in your own words - Pity though that they couldn't show that the GPA has a bit of decency about them, instead they chose to abuse and suffocate the opposition! How little we have learned from the Dublin Diocesan report!!

When it comes to this matter I am standing up for the GAA against being openly attacked in the media. The "Of one belief" group have personally attacked the leaders of the GAA in an open character assassination attempt. I'm glad to see that the GAA in their statement didn't stoop to their accusers level. Hardly open debate RALF in fairness... but again not surprising coming from this group.

Talk about ramblings...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/11/2009 17:02:28    497626

jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 3733 497477 NorthMonaghan County: Monaghan Posts: 77 Well I'm a quarter Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connacht. I have family all around the country. I've a good understanding of them... The Northern attitude on sport is all about politics. GAA = Nationalist - Soccer/Rugby = Unionist I'm glad I dont see sport like that. It breathes division and builds walls. How can you say that the Northern attitude to sport is all about politics?? ive played both gaelic football and soccer and wouldnt class either as a nationalist or unionist only sport, maybe in the past it was viewed like this but times are changing and most people are trying their best to move on and put the past behind us, but like anything else in life this wont happen overnight but it will happen eventually, so who are u to judge us northerners?? I get the feeling that people like you will always find something about the north 2 give of about. you give people in the south a bad name.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 29/11/2009 18:11:26    497679

NorthMonaghan
County: Monaghan

Well I'm a quarter Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connacht. I have family all around the country.

I've a good understanding of them... The Northern attitude on sport is all about politics. GAA = Nationalist - Soccer/Rugby = Unionist

I'm glad I dont see sport like that. It breathes division and builds walls.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thats the worse analysis I have ever heard. Worthy of Sky Sports/The Sun that was.

trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 29/11/2009 18:32:38    497701

Jimbob who mentioned politics.you stated that parents are sending their children to rugby instead of the GAA.all im saying is that in my own county and neighbouring counties this just isnt true. Perhaps in Dublin yous view the GAA as been outdated but here it's the cornor stone of the community and we're proud of it. There obviously is a substanial difference in other counties and Dublin and a young person in Dublin would rather relate to Man Utd and Liverpool sooner than his local club or county.Now you are stating that they would rather follow and take part in rugby.so not much has changed really.

NorthMonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 100 - 29/11/2009 18:34:36    497703