GAA Players- Pay or no Pay

Better expenses and conditions in some counties but if they ever paid players - I'd be done with the GAA

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 24/11/2009 10:08:21    492515

No pay. If they start this it will destroy the club scene all over the country.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 24/11/2009 11:24:46    492557

tyronepower1

491965 I would say no pay for the players, or elce dublin might win an all eire in the next 4 years, but what the gaa could look at is having a pot for the two final teams. 60K FOR THE WINNERS AND 30K FOR RUNNERS UP. THE GAA CAN WELL AFFORD

That wont work either. Same counties in contention for it every year. So the lesser counties see nothing eventhough their clubs and county teams are putting in serious effort too??? No pay for sure - Expenses should be sorted to ensure players are looked after for their travels.

soreilly (Wicklow) - Posts: 202 - 24/11/2009 11:45:59    492572

kerrykerry

491680 Maybe not a weekly wage but a decent grant plus expenses. Also, across the country, many county players have no or little work and some are having to consider emigration. Surely there can be some schemes-grants-scholarships-training to support these young talented players. These lads give up a lot for their county, they deserve something back, some security and financial recognition.

Additionally the players that have been playing for their county for numerous years should also get some recognition (maybe a bonus "grant" on retirment?)

Excellent post. This is indeed the way forward. Not pay for play... Pay for play cannot be sustained. Your views can Kerrykerry... well done on the post again.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/11/2009 11:56:13    492580

Tonga, your point is correct, pay would lead to a transfer system, no two ways about it. It would destroy the game, our games are based on parochialism, take this away and goodnight GAA. The jacks would win the AI with mainly culchies playing for them.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 24/11/2009 11:57:24    492582

No Pay for Play!

I personally feel that the counties with the least amount of success should be getting most of the money for development. I think the biggest danger for the GAA is that in certain counties will become disillusioned with the lack of success in their own counties. People may then latch onto a successful provincial rugby team instead.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 465 - 24/11/2009 12:09:50    492594

no pay.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/11/2009 13:20:22    492663

No pay

RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 24/11/2009 15:05:29    492772

Absolutely no pay.
I have said before that county players are as never as well looked after.
All the kit they need.
All the milege they need.
All the physio they need.
All the phychology they need.
All the publicity they need (good and bad) its all good.
All the nutrition they need.
They are icons in our society.
To be honest very little working time is lost.
All their employers are GAA sympathic.
Most are offered jobs because they play GAA.

Are they not supposed to sacrifice any part of their lives from now on.
Are we meant to believe that we are the priviledged ones from now on?
Somewhere along the way we will all realise that its too late.
Look at all the other sports in this land.
Club rubgy - no loyalty what so ever.
Club soccer - enough said.
Are we to be next?

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 24/11/2009 15:33:44    492790

51longago

492582 Tonga, your point is correct, pay would lead to a transfer system, no two ways about it. It would destroy the game, our games are based on parochialism, take this away and goodnight GAA. The jacks would win the AI with mainly culchies playing for them.

Hmmm pay for play aye....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/11/2009 15:47:01    492811

kerrykerry

491680 Maybe not a weekly wage but a decent grant plus expenses. Also, across the country, many county players have no or little work and some are having to consider emigration. Surely there can be some schemes-grants-scholarships-training to support these young talented players. These lads give up a lot for their county, they deserve something back, some security and financial recognition.

Additionally the players that have been playing for their county for numerous years should also get some recognition (maybe a bonus "grant" on retirment?)

What about the club players who are currently out of work? Looking at your post, you basically think playing football for your county entitles you to a job before anyone else, regardless of circumstances?? Sure, give them a grant and expenses and first pick on jobs. Maybe throw in a couple a holidays a year and a house. They get to play football for there county. They get to be the top 30-35 players who all others look up to. When did this stop being enough?
The GPA will destroy the GAA and by the time the likes of you and Jimbodub cop yourselves on, it will be too late.

SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 24/11/2009 16:17:41    492852

Tongo
County: UK

492480 Putting aside any ethical reasons as to whether players should be paid or not, there is one sad thing that would result from players being paid: i believe they would then be deemed as employees and open to the same labour rights as any other employee in the EU, which means the GAA would not be able to insist players play for the county of their birth (et al) as this would be deemed restraint of trade. Then a transfer system would no doubt evolve and the stronger counties would 'buy' the best players. That is the biggest, and probably the issue with the most ramifications, of players being paid.

I am not in favour of wages, but surely if the system was to have these contracts being with the GAA rather than with individual counties this could be avoided easily enough? Moving from one county to another would then be a case of moving from one local branch of the employing organisation to another (which you don't have a legal right to as such since it's not a case of restraining trade) rather than moving from one employer to another (which would fall under labour rights).

Sionnach (Kerry) - Posts: 77 - 24/11/2009 16:19:53    492855

SS1

Wheres the evidence for this? also it's clear that the GAA dont agree with you. So what are you worried about?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/11/2009 16:30:44    492873

I'm Worried players other than those on the inter county squads. I'm worried about smaller clubs who could have benefitted from a very very small percentage of the 1.6million that Christy Cooney just handed to Dessie Farrell. I'm worried about how clubs will cope when volunteers get sick of being treated like second class citizens in comparison to intercounty players and leave. Who will coach the underage, who will line pitches and take committee jobs while looking on as "the chosen few" get hand outs. Obviously you don't think much of the people who have kept the GAA running for 125yrs without payment, but i do.

SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 24/11/2009 17:08:59    492935

Im assuming if it were pay for play the stronger sport in each county would get paid more and offer more, this would destroy hurling in football dominated counties and vice versa, any talented dual young players would drop the lower paid sport in order to focus on trying for the richer one.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1700 - 24/11/2009 17:15:55    492950

Has yer man Farrell not admitted as much.
The original intention was a view to get some sort of monies for the players.
Elite ones will inevitably get more, leading to "**** this i`m of to another county"

Good man SS1, i forgot to mention the paid holiday they get along with their partner.
At least one holiday at that.
Plus getting to represent their country.
What was the line S.Cavanagh used, proudest day of his life or something.
Not overly impressed with that statement by the way.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 24/11/2009 17:21:27    492956

SS1

Ah SS1..stop it with the pitch lining stuff! GPA wont effect any of the grass roots.

Sure the GAA spent a fortune on a fire work display not so long ago.. this could have benefited clubs! They spend money all the time... none of which goes to the clubs.

Your argument is with the GAA.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/11/2009 17:21:49    492958

NO PAY...It would destroy the game.

JPM1981 (Kildare) - Posts: 825 - 24/11/2009 17:51:04    493010

The Premier League is over 200 million pounds in debt, now if the GAA started to pay now, in 10 years time the GAA will be in debt. Whatever the amount of money put away over the years by the GAA. Look at the economy, Britain are on the verge moving out of the recession while Ireland probably won't get out of recession for another 10 years at least. It is completely unrealistic to go professional or semi-professional, if it does will mark the beginning of the end for the GAA. Great quote from Brolly and as much as I don't like the man, I definitely agree with the quote!!!

Monaghan in exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 24/11/2009 18:07:11    493034

SS1

492935 I'm Worried players other than those on the inter county squads. I'm worried about smaller clubs who could have benefitted from a very very small percentage of the 1.6million that Christy Cooney just handed to Dessie Farrell. I'm worried about how clubs will cope when volunteers get sick of being treated like second class citizens in comparison to intercounty players and leave. Who will coach the underage, who will line pitches and take committee jobs while looking on as "the chosen few" get hand outs. Obviously you don't think much of the people who have kept the GAA running for 125yrs without payment, but i do. ..................1.6million for starters bad

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 24/11/2009 18:21:44    493047