GAA Players- Pay or no Pay

Viewed another thread in relation to this issue but very few answered it so I'm putting this question to YOU- PAY OR NO PAY? I'm totally against it and would be prepared to do ANYTHING to stop pay becoming an issue and I think it's just down to the head GAA lads whether they stop it or not. Pleease ANSWER :)

gaamad1996 (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 22/11/2009 08:30:58    490675

Yesterdays interim document contains the wording "The GPA is fully committed to the voluntary and amateur status of the GAA and and it will give explicit expression to this in its constitution"

Though most of the people at the press conference receive pay.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 22/11/2009 12:52:39    490758

True ruanua and thanks for that answer concerning pay

gaamad1996 (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 22/11/2009 16:34:05    490906

i think the players should get something
look at all the money the gaa pulls in with gate prices and other things they sell it must be millions and where does all the money go all to the fat cats in the high levels there are clubs i know that ask for grants and are turned down

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 22/11/2009 16:41:40    490911

No pay :(

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 22/11/2009 16:42:03    490914

NO-PAY

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 22/11/2009 17:04:21    490931

I would be reluctant to pay players a weekly wage as i believe it would be the downfall of the GAA as we know it. You only have to look at Derry City for example. Soccer clubs basically invest their money into players whilst their grounds and facilities are falling down around them.

As we all know both Soccer and Rugby had to rent out Croke park over this past number of years as there wasn't a stadium in the entire country that could cater for their needs whilst Landsdowne was being re-developed.

There are several junior clubs throughout Ireland that have better facilities than some premier division clubs in both the North and South soccer leagues. Whilst I have no problems at all with players receiving expenses it is important that we stick to the amateur ethos of the GAA.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 22/11/2009 21:32:49    491241

Pay the players, no question whatsoever.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 22/11/2009 21:53:24    491265

It only becomes an issue if players are refusing to play inter-county because it's not worth the effort. If this was to start happening in a major way, some money may be required to ensure that we get the best players on the field. I'm only aware of two players who, in my view, could have been great, but chose not to play inter-county. Therefore I wouldn't say it's a major problem in Cork and consequently there's no need to pay.

Might be different in smaller counties though? Do lots of guys walk away from inter-county duty in the less sucessful counties?

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 23/11/2009 12:07:05    491587

No pay for play. But I think that debate is over for a few years now given the GPA statement.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 23/11/2009 12:15:09    491599

Agree with Mugsy. In the case of Derry City no money was put into development of grounds or facilties over many years. They couln't even raise a relatively small amount for ground developement becasue people are reluctant to dig deep when they think the money might be going into players pockets.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 23/11/2009 13:05:26    491646

"There are some things in life that are more important than money and the GAA is one of them."
- Joe Brolly

The man got it right !!

Man in a ditch (Louth) - Posts: 321 - 23/11/2009 13:23:04    491662

Maybe not a weekly wage but a decent grant plus expenses. Also, across the country, many county players have no or little work and some are having to consider emigration. Surely there can be some schemes-grants-scholarships-training to support these young talented players. These lads give up a lot for their county, they deserve something back, some security and financial recognition.

Additionally the players that have been playing for their county for numerous years should also get some recognition (maybe a bonus "grant" on retirment?)

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 23/11/2009 13:34:59    491680

I think Dublin players should definitley get paid by all accounts, but lets be clear about this-Dublin Players Only.

After all we do create the most revenue for the GAA by a long long stretch, so it would be the only logical solution.

I think the real Question here is: Dublin Stars - Pay or no Pay? ?

Connolly_Dub

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 23/11/2009 13:40:34    491691

There is a belief amongst some that pay for play is feasible and is inherently good for the players and the gaa and that the gaa makes enough money so pay the players who generate the cash. All of these i disagree with strongly.

The first point is that yes its is possible to pay players but only a few counties could muster enough cash to pay a decent wage to their elite players. Even the Dubs only fill Croker a few times a year and they would be entitled to only a proportion of these gates. The Rugby people are only paying a panel of roughly 100 players in the country as a whole. So i do not think that this is a realistic option.

The notion that players would like to get paid or not is not a factor therefore as the cash is not there. The monies generated at present is going to grants for different projects such as the provision of playing facilities and this should not be stopped. The provision of floodlit pitches, the better dressing rooms, and club houses, all of these are good for our players and should not stop. Look at the number of hurling walls that clubs have spent money on, all of which benefit the youth.

As far as i know the gaa publish their accounts and where the money is spent is clear for all to see.

If players are to be paid, i believe that there would be a serious drop in people willing to be involved and the ticket prices would go through the roof making it impossible for people to really support their teams regularly.

If players are to be paid then what is a realistic wage? 40 thousand? Then multiply that by the squad number say of 30 and then look at both codes... and then the training, transport and food expenses.... i think it would not be possible. If people compare the Gaa with premier soccer, then we cannot compare, they are not like with like, and a big percentage of these clubs are currently in big financil trouble.

While the question of pay for play is not really an option at present i think that it is realistic of our players to expect that they will be treated ell in terms of expenses and that they get a chance of being set up with a job when unemployed.

The money generated must continue to be pumped into the development of the games or else we will have no games in a generation.

A big problem is the managers of club and county teams demanding and the clubs willing to spend small fortunes every season to buy success.This has not been addressed and is probably one reason why there is often a call for pay for play.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1883 - 23/11/2009 16:47:48    491907

I would say no pay for the players, or elce dublin might win an all eire in the next 4 years, but what the gaa could look at is having a pot for the two final teams. 60K FOR THE WINNERS AND 30K FOR RUNNERS UP. THE GAA CAN WELL AFFORD THIS...

tyronepower1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 58 - 23/11/2009 17:19:58    491965

No to pay.
Yes to taking proper care of our players through expenses for all thetime, work and dedication they give.

Galway11 (Galway) - Posts: 570 - 23/11/2009 17:41:02    491999

NO PAY

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 23/11/2009 17:53:34    492021

The short answer is,no pay for play.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/11/2009 06:36:42    492479

Putting aside any ethical reasons as to whether players should be paid or not, there is one sad thing that would result from players being paid: i believe they would then be deemed as employees and open to the same labour rights as any other employee in the EU, which means the GAA would not be able to insist players play for the county of their birth (et al) as this would be deemed restraint of trade. Then a transfer system would no doubt evolve and the stronger counties would 'buy' the best players. That is the biggest, and probably the issue with the most ramifications, of players being paid.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 24/11/2009 07:22:30    492480