Most successful Ulster Gaelic team of all time?

1) Down

2) Cavan

3) Tyrone (but couple more years and I think this will be different hopefully we will be top of the pile)

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 27/11/2009 09:59:34    495842

As we often agreed before on the fact that "the statistics don't lie", it has to be Cavan !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/11/2009 11:16:45    495893

as i said cavan but redhanddefender u are spot on.
the rate tyrone are going we will top the pile

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 27/11/2009 11:23:45    495902

All time county possibly cavan. But hey can crossmaglen not be included they've been superb over the years.

Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 27/11/2009 11:28:35    495906

Tyrone have a long way to go before they surpass the mighty achievements of Derry!

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 27/11/2009 11:47:38    495926

Loyal2TheRoyal

495926 Tyrone have a long way to go before they surpass the mighty achievements of Derry!

Things must be going well with Orlaith these days?????????????????????

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 27/11/2009 12:03:51    495947

yes i agree, cavan by a long way. BUT... they were the black and white days, the game has changed, any cavan man will agree, they would forfit a few of them games then, to get a day out in croker now... nothing like a summers day lads, sipping over a few pints before the throw in at HQ... :)

tyronepower1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 58 - 27/11/2009 12:04:30    495948

Loyal2TheRoyal even by your logic Down have to be above Derry, Down have 5 AI and 12 Ulster titles and 4 league titles and Derry have 1 AI 7 Ulster titles and 6 league titles. Even if league titles are worth twice as many points in your system as AIs then Down would still be more successful.

maiden (Down) - Posts: 85 - 27/11/2009 13:21:46    496011

You're trying too hard loyal, telegraphing it man, theres nobody stupid enough to take the bait. Now back to Leinster with you!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/11/2009 13:45:18    496039

Judging on trophies won and years of dominance/or pushing close in the province!!!

1, Tyrone

2, Cavan

3, Down

4, Armagh

5, Monaghan

6, Derry

7, Donegal

8, Antrim

9, Fermanagh

Monaghan in exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 27/11/2009 13:59:09    496047

Monaghan in exile
County: Monaghan

496047 Judging on trophies won and years of dominance/or pushing close in the province!!!

1, Tyrone

2, Cavan

3, Down

4, Armagh

5, Monaghan

6, Derry

7, Donegal

8, Antrim

9, Fermanagh

------------------------

Maybe if the title had been most successful county since 2000 then you might have a point.

maiden (Down) - Posts: 85 - 27/11/2009 14:36:24    496071

Dominance and closest, ie runners up, etc. Tyrone have always been there or there abouts in Ulster. In the 80's pushed and pushed at monaghan and won a couple of their own!!!

Monaghan in exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 27/11/2009 15:41:40    496140

Monaghan in exile
County: Monaghan

496140 Dominance and closest, ie runners up, etc. Tyrone have always been there or there abouts in Ulster. In the 80's pushed and pushed at monaghan and won a couple of their own!!!

Get real. As good as they are now, Tyrone have never dominated Ulster. Is it really that hard for you Monaghan lads to accept that its Cavan???? :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 27/11/2009 15:47:55    496146

Its hard to accept, and your right you are up there, but Tyrone are ahead of yous, in my opinion!!!!

Monaghan in exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 27/11/2009 16:14:59    496171

You're entitled to your opinion but it doesn't bear scrutiny. The only Ulster county that can make a claim to Cavan's crown is Down.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 27/11/2009 16:25:09    496183

1.Cavan
2.Down
3.Tyrone

Cavan are the greatest because they have won far more ulsters. if tyrone reach 6 all irelands (which they are the only team at the min looking the most likely) then they'll be straight to number one.

gaelic_life (Down) - Posts: 286 - 27/11/2009 17:04:47    496237

cavan

mondred (Wexford) - Posts: 872 - 27/11/2009 22:03:15    496569

Alas boys and girls it has to be the fighting men of Crossmaglen. Lets be honest, great and all as Cavan were, its 60-70 years ago. The standard was crap, most teams were lucky to get a side out. If it was county then I would go for Down

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 28/11/2009 10:18:27    496727

i agree omaghredhand, the standerd was totaly differnt. Todays game is much more intence, faster, and alot more teams are in with a shout. I wouldnt put cavan there at all, as tyrone have been there every year, armagh, derry, and monaghan, are todays domaniters of ulster.. Between these teams any of them could turn over each other on there day, and it looks like staying that way for the next 10 years. So "CAVAN" stop hanging on to the black and white days, most of you wernt even alive to enjoy it at that time...

tyronepower1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 58 - 28/11/2009 12:11:16    496763

That's a hard one to call

1. Cavan - the best Ulster team in the '40s & '50s

2. Down - the best Ulster team in the '60s and early '90s

3. Tyrone - the best Ulster team of the last 15 years

ajdoyle78 (Down) - Posts: 520 - 28/11/2009 15:02:03    496845