RuanNua??? Where do you get your facts from?? A teacher does not get 50eur for supervising the yard. Teachers sign up for a scheme called S and S. As part of this scheme a teacher commits to a cetain level of supervision per week. They also sign up to keep two of their free periods a week free to cover for a collegue. So in total we may cover up to 35hrs of class a year and also about 35 hrs of supervision. That is 70 hours. We get a payment of 700eur in jan of which your looking at 150 going back in tax,. We get another payment of 700 in june. Once agin getting taxed at 150. We are talking at most 1100eur for 70hrs work. Do the maths that aint your 50eur.. Get your facts right please. We also do not get thousands for our degree level. I get roughly 130eur a month for that extra. You also said that " your tax pays for schools and our wages" get a life we prob get taxed the most out of all workers. I can tell you now that every time i get a payslip I lose quarter of it to tax at least so do not get on your high horse. As a profession we were made several promises by our shabby government. We have been stabbed in the back and been made scapegoats. A very limited amount of teachers give grinds. I could name on one hand the amount of teachers do it in my school. We have a staff of 62 and 4 give grinds. All this teacher bashing is getting old at this stage. topman500 (Monaghan) - Posts: 294 - 15/11/2009 12:08:50 484101 Link 0 |
14/11/2009 15:59:34 nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 15/11/2009 12:16:24 484105 Link 0 |
topman500, how much do you earn annually and how many days in the year do you work?. I wont ask you to do the maths I'll do that part myself. BartleDoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 389 - 15/11/2009 12:39:05 484117 Link 0 |
TOPMAN ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/11/2009 13:06:27 484132 Link 0 |
Ruanua, you are on a good old wage yourself and not a word about it !! You probably get a mileage allowance too but not a word about that !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/11/2009 17:34:50 484271 Link 0 |
O.K. I take your point on board ruanua. But the fact is our wages are getting seriously cut. At the minute it does not affect me as it is only my second year in a job and i am earning for the first time in my life but i do feel genuine pity for those teachers who are married to eachother and have planned mortgages on the pay increase we were promised for 2009. I am actually against the strikes and in fact I am not even part of a trade union because I would rather speak for myself. My major gripe is with the fact this is a total public sector strike and yet still it is us the teachers who are recieving all the bad press. I work from 8-6 every day accept the weekeends and my weekend is spent with prep and correcting. I give up all my lunchtimes in order to ensure my students get plenty of coaching time in GAA, Basketball and Soccer. I also give up 1hr and a half a day after school to train and coach teams at various levels. I know of numerous teachers who do the same. Who are grateful for the chance to interact with the youth and help them in ways other than just academically. I also ensure that any games I may have as part of school activities run during lunch times or during my scheduled free periods. I am not permanent in my school so I do not get paid for holidays be it mid term or summer. If its figures that people are looking I believe I earn 24k before tax and i am def not complaining. It is a massive wage for someone just coming out of spending 4 years as a broke student. I can guarantee you all that the majority of teachers share my view on strikes. We far from want to disrupt the plans of our students however it is important to let our government know that we are not here to be walked all over while fatcats in the banks who caused all this are still earning an absurd amount. topman500 (Monaghan) - Posts: 294 - 15/11/2009 17:53:42 484287 Link 0 |
15/11/2009 17:34:50 ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/11/2009 19:14:33 484342 Link 0 |
Ruanua, well fair play to you for getting that job and the free car !! Where did you see the mention of a 7% reduction in the Public Sector ? I have not seen mention of that. Nobody minds doing a longer day if the rewards are good and believe me i have often worked extra days for nothing while trying to get a young person settled in a particular place and i have also done a lot of fundraising to help childrens organisations also in my own time and for free. My main gripe with the whole economic problem is that some sectors are escaping scot free. I am aware of some self employed people, even a dentist, who gets education grants for his children because he can adjust his own tax form to suit himself, the P.A.Y.E. sector cannot and many qualify for nothing. I have put all my 5 children through university with the help of the local credit union. I was lucky to be able to do this and have no complaints except with the likes of the case i mentioned. Also if i was on the dole or never worked at all i would get a free house, reduced electricity, free education or university for my kids and i could spend the whole day in the bookies or pub. Also if i was ultra rich i could avail of all the tax-free breaks and again escape just like Bono or his likes. All i want is a level playing field for everyone. I know many lads who lost their jobs in the Private sector and i am genuinely sorry for them as they are mates, but they used to laugh at me because i earned a lot less than them and i was also encouraged to leave what i am doing and go and work with one of them. Thank God i did not !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/11/2009 20:08:23 484387 Link 0 |
Slasher - the 7% was in one of todays papers though I would guess that might be 5% for <50k and 10% for>50k, But thats just a guess. Reading the papers today the spindoctors are really against the public sector - more so than is justified. Im with you on the PAYE sector. I did my leaving in 1990 and my father was earning about 15k as a public sector worker. at the time UNI grants came from VEC and were means tested whereas RTC grants were ESF funded. I did'nt qualify for a UNI grant and there were also fees at that time so I went to an RTC even though I was offered a UNI place. Did two years and ended up doing home study after that. ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/11/2009 20:49:29 484426 Link 0 |
Ruanua, do you remember big Denis the night porter in that hotel ? A decent fellow indeed, very helpful gentleman !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/11/2009 21:03:36 484440 Link 0 |
Slasher ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/11/2009 22:01:41 484511 Link 0 |
Patrique - boohoo for the poor teachers so. You're just like every other union official. RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 16/11/2009 15:11:30 485090 Link 0 |
if they have it so good why didnt ye all go into teaching so? i for 1 would HATE the job , trying to educate 30 brats & dealintg with naggy parents. no thanks mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 16/11/2009 15:52:38 485153 Link 0 |
Ruanua, i will ask the barman about him so. big Paddy from the island. Might call on him in April when i go up. You would have been there when the T.J.'s went up every April from 1991 !! I was with them and still am, a mad bunch but great craic !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/11/2009 15:56:14 485162 Link 0 |
I am aware of some self employed people, even a dentist, who gets education grants for his children because he can adjust his own tax form to suit himself black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 16/11/2009 16:04:11 485176 Link 0 |
rua black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 16/11/2009 16:06:07 485178 Link 0 |
Cavan_Slasher dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/11/2009 18:56:22 485373 Link 0 |
Black & White, you are not so naive to believe that all the self assessed are honest in their tax affairs and that they cannot fiddle their books by the use of a good accountant. The dentist who is getting education grants for his children is well connected with a big noise in the income tax office and will not be put under any pressure by them at all imo. I often saw them golfing together !! many people would say "fair play to him" !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/11/2009 19:55:13 485455 Link 0 |
thanks be ta god, a lie on at last mondred (Wexford) - Posts: 872 - 16/11/2009 22:31:50 485669 Link 0 |
16/11/2009 15:11:30 patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/11/2009 22:47:19 485701 Link 0 |