The Forgotten Policeman

dhorse
County: Laois

482116 omaghredhand

481759 paddyogall

480682 Most of the people on here wouldnt have any respect for him because of his ties to the British security forces especially the Nordies which is a shame. About time people other then Cusack are getting the recognition that they deserve.

Good post. Would you agree that Militant nationalists were sometimes blatantly wrong in what the did, just as the groups you mentioned above

Without doubt DHorse

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 12/11/2009 21:18:44    482518

omaghredhand

481935 Agreed Yop.

Toma, maybe that's the point, you don't understand why some Ulster folk are bitter, whilst others are not. First of all it is down to human nature. Some people live and let live, some don't and harbour grudges and all have their reasons for doing so. This does not mean that they should be lambasted at evry opportunity by yourself and Mr OGall. Like I said in my previous post, take time and educate yourself on the issues you comment on and it may balance your outlook. As for having sidekicks, I would seriously doubt it. I have agreed with and disagreed with most of the posters on here which is my right as it is theirs, however, I take each thread/topic on its own merits and take my stance on that basis. You should consider doing the same instead of extolling anti-northern rhetoric hot on the heels of your chum everytime he posts. ........................Whats your point

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 12/11/2009 21:54:02    482542

4748 posts and not a word of sense. Must be a record

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 12/11/2009 23:22:30    482614

Fellas, one doesn't like to stick one's oar into a situation which i have no experience of, but isn't all the finger pointing etc just dredgin up old issues? I remember when Ireland played England at Croker for the first time and one English commentator was so impressed with the Irish public for how they handled the whole situation and how, as he said., "Ireland was looking forward rather than looking back." Admittedly, i have no idea of the atrocities that went on in the North, but surely those sentiments above, and the attempts at reconciliation are a foundation upon which to move on.

I expect much criticism for this comment, but the nature of some of the posts on this thread have taken away the original theme and have bogged down the whole debate etc. I apologise in advance if anyone feels this view to be offensive.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 13/11/2009 07:42:42    482715

As a follow up to my previous comment, please note that i live in a country, i.e England, where holding grudges against other people / countries / nationalities is almost a national sport. It is probably easier to name the countries that some English people do not hold a grudge against because of some past skirmish. And it is particularly tiresome whenever England play certain countries in any international sport. Don't get me wrong, there is plenty of good natured humour, but there are plenty of xenophobes. Anyway, my point is: maybe this is an opportunity to move on and not be held back by grudges, as some are over here.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 13/11/2009 08:13:21    482717

omaghredhand

482614 4748 posts and not a word of sense. Must be a record
---------------
And you will probably find that out of that number, not one was actually written by his own fair hand, likes to cut and paste or 'tag' a lot does our tomaoo, as well as plagiarising others, I know I caught him out fair and square with one of my own. He reminds me of one of those little greasy sidekicks you see at the side of a Louisiana sheriff, usually called 'Bubba'!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/11/2009 10:12:01    482758

brendtheredhand

482758 omaghredhand

482614 4748 posts and not a word of sense. Must be a record
---------------
And you will probably find that out of that number, not one was actually written by his own fair hand, likes to cut and paste or 'tag' a lot does our tomaoo, as well as plagiarising others, I know I caught him out fair and square with one of my own. He reminds me of one of those little greasy sidekicks you see at the side of a Louisiana sheriff, usually called 'Bubba'!

Haha!! I think himself and Paddy are more like Father Dick Byrne and Father Cyril McDuff. "Better luck next time!!!!"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12425 - 13/11/2009 10:28:35    482768

ruanua

482463 12/11/2009 16:19:09
wise_guy

482243 dHorse, give us an example.

Joey glover

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 13/11/2009 12:49:48    482885

dhorse, Of course you are correct in pointing out that the man in question had nothing to do with the northern troubles. I accept your point 100%, that is why you'll note, from previous posts, that I really don't care whether or not a monument is erected to McCarthy.

However, I do feel that you should consider my point regarding the accusation of whinging. That word just seems to trivialise the very real grief experienced by many GAA members during the troubles.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 13/11/2009 13:30:05    482934

wise_guy they killed many many innocent civilians not just soldiers

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 13/11/2009 14:28:56    482992

Culchie

482934 dhorse, Of course you are correct in pointing out that the man in question had nothing to do with the northern troubles. I accept your point 100%, that is why you'll note, from previous posts, that I really don't care whether or not a monument is erected to McCarthy.

However, I do feel that you should consider my point regarding the accusation of whinging. That word just seems to trivialise the very real grief experienced by many GAA members during the troubles.

Dont think i said anything about you whinging, dont start. Nationalists give the impression to me anyway that they have a monopoly on grief, whereas grief was inflicted by nationalists also, but that gets explained away by such quotes as Ah sure there were "ins and outs" to this or that outrage.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 13/11/2009 14:38:36    483006

As I have already said a noble opening post has now been reduced to who did what during the troubles in the North. There is no doubt whatever as in every war terrible atrocities are committed by every side. There is nothing romantic about war, it is a horrible, plain and simple. Atrocities brutalise survivors and their community and lead to counter atrocities. There is absolutely nothing to be gained by now comparing Republican/Loyalist and British atrocities, it will just stoke up deep feelings that are better left dormant. No side has a monopoly on hurt and pain or blame, this is definitely not an area in which to allow wind up merchants to operate.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/11/2009 14:56:53    483026

Posters from the south should read " Death on a Country Road " by Desmond Fahy

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 13/11/2009 15:46:13    483083

Ye could also try "Before the Dawn" by Gerry Adams

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/11/2009 16:13:46    483107

Chainsaw, another mighty read by Mr Fahy, unfortunately he has plenty of material to work with. It tells the story of two innocent men murdered on their way back from watching Derry and Dublin in the All Ireland semi in the 70's.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 13/11/2009 17:51:22    483186

dhorse
County: Laois

Joey glover

____
Familiar with the name his background and the walk/climbs - He died before my time - Not aware of how ??

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 13/11/2009 17:58:52    483188

corkcelt

483026 As I have already said a noble opening post has now been reduced to who did what during the troubles in the North. There is no doubt whatever as in every war terrible atrocities are committed by every side. There is nothing romantic about war, it is a horrible, plain and simple. Atrocities brutalise survivors and their community and lead to counter atrocities. There is absolutely nothing to be gained by now comparing Republican/Loyalist and British atrocities, it will just stoke up deep feelings that are better left dormant. No side has a monopoly on hurt and pain or blame, this is definitely not an area in which to allow wind up merchants to operate.

what war republicans were responsible for two thirds of all death in northern ireland....and then they cry they were the victims

david09 (Kildare) - Posts: 115 - 13/11/2009 18:38:30    483222

david09 County: Kildare Posts: 73 483222 corkcelt County: Cork Posts: 1233 483026 As I have already said a noble opening post has now been reduced to who did what during the troubles in the North. There is no doubt whatever as in every war terrible atrocities are committed by every side. There is nothing romantic about war, it is a horrible, plain and simple. Atrocities brutalise survivors and their community and lead to counter atrocities. There is absolutely nothing to be gained by now comparing Republican/Loyalist and British atrocities, it will just stoke up deep feelings that are better left dormant. No side has a monopoly on hurt and pain or blame, this is definitely not an area in which to allow wind up merchants to operate. what war republicans were responsible for two thirds of all death in northern ireland....and then they cry they were the victims. Your ignorance knows no bounds. Approx 55% of all victims were killed by Republicans to start with. 11% is a big difference and equates to 400 people in the context of the number of people who died, a not insignificant amount. However, this is not my main beef with this "statement". You appear to have the old unionist assertion that all Catholics are republican which is far removed from the truth. I will not get into the who whats and wheres as this would indicate a hierarchy of victims that I do not wish to get involved in, but it is an attitudes like yours that prevailed in the North that ensured that upwards on 400 Catholic's most of whom were completely innocent were murdered by Loyalist Paramilitaries, RUC and British Army. I don't doubt that many many innocent Protestants were also murdered and by no means do I condone it. The facts are that when IRA volunteers are killed it is generally accepted that it is a risk or a hazard of the "job". However the murder of innocent Catholics just for the fact that they were Catholic is a different scenario altogether. Are they not victims? I rarely if ever hear a republican "crying" about being a victim. Sure, there were instances of volunteers being murdered by "STATE" forces who broke the rule of law they contended to updhold and this is a different argument. Your ambivalence and distinct lack of moral fibre disgusts and saddens me and is a poor reflection on your knowledge of the affairs of the north and of your country. Shame on you

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 13/11/2009 19:32:49    483253

Pretty crass statement there david09, like I told you before, to become a proper WUM you got to demonstrate a bit more in the way of subtlety. Based on your statement, given that approx 2/3 of the deaths that occurred between 1939 and 1945 were as a result of the activities of the Axis forces and there cohorts, does that also mean that there was no war then?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/11/2009 20:56:48    483332

Organisation Total Killings Protestant Catholic Not from NI
IRA 1696 (49%) 790 338 56

omagh a lot of protestants killed by the ira my dear friend and a lot of catholics and a lot of people from the main land for what.please explain

david09 (Kildare) - Posts: 115 - 13/11/2009 21:03:09    483336