New players for Meath!

Well Benny Blanco you that is always on this forum giving ur opinions about this and that,(most of them been hilarious) please explain how you believe Tadgh Boyle should get a run with the county,you must be his brother or your from Meath Hill,one or the other,Ciaran Lynch didnt make the U-21 squad last year either and you believe he is senior material too,and lets remember that squad didnt exactly set the world alight which again dosent go in his favour! You seem to have all the answers,explain them two choices,neither of them half the footballer of Finnerty,and would Skryne be tryin to snatch Boyle of Meath Hill and Lynch of the Michaels,i dont think so,where as they wont leave Finnerty alone! Enjoy Junior A next year because your definately a Drum or Meath Hill fanatic with comments like that! Iamurdad, same sentiments as that, you must be a Castletown man you're that protective of Finnerty. Fair point about Tadgh i suppose sitting back on it he could be past county potential now but young Lynch is worth a look at, one man definitely worth another shot is Terry Skelly from Drums and before you question my heritage again, yes i'm from the Barrack country, blue and white of the hill. From what I saw of ye again Drums ye won't be too far behind us, ye could be down junior yet lad.

bennyblanco (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 24/11/2009 16:40:29    492891

A lot of people are claining Andrew Collins should be given a run at full back during the O'Byrne Cup and possibly the early stages of the league, yet are arguing that some others shouldn't be near the team as they couldn't make last years U21 team. Funny enough, either did Collins, now maybe he was injured or maybe he wasn't up to it.
The on;y players Seneschalstown have up to Senior standard are Joe Sheridan, Brian Sheridan and David Lyons. Damien Sheridan could be up to the standard of being a pannelist and doing a job on occasion but I am not of the opinion that he would be justified in being a regular pick at either centre field or full back.
Some players that could get a call up are Ciaran Lynch (St. Ultans), Ciaran Lenihan (Skryne), Harrison Silke (Na Fianna) and Michael Newman (Kilmainham?).
Also, I would like to see a development squad put in place of lads between 19 and 23 whereby they would be put on a training programme and weights programme and developed for senior county football.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 24/11/2009 17:55:45    493017

Kingofclubs why dont you read my post again and see which Ciaran Lynch were on about!! Or get someone to read it for you maybe.BennyBlanco i am not a Castletown man but a neighbour and have played minor and schools football with them boys and know there potential especially Finnerty,And i dont believe they will be playin the Hill for a long long time,not in our day anyway,loads of potential there and had they scored 3 more points in the group they would have topped it,FACT!! My colours are of the black and red,little hint for ya of my heritage! Foleys goal i do believe Lynch should have been a u-21 panelist last year but there were top forwards there in his way but not for senior,thats my view anyway!

iamurdad (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 24/11/2009 18:03:41    493028

NorthMeathMan: "Full back now is the hardest position on the field as possession of the ball is critical and good teams especially Northern teams do not kick the ball into the forwards until the forward is 100% sure of receiving the ball. And that's why this Meath side are not a good team. Until we learn to be economical in posession we will not win a Leinster, never mind bring Sam back. Auldfella, we have a glut of ball-playing forwards and target-men. Brian Sheridan, Jamie Queeney, Shane O'Rourke and Brian Farrell can all comfortably rotate the full-forward role. "Yes the delivery was not always perfect... ", is the understatement of the year, against Kerry we didn't put a good ball into our forwards untill mid-way through the second half when Mark Ward came on and Cormac McGuinness started getting on the ball more. I can remember one incident in the second half when we really needed to tack on a few scores, the ball was layed off to Brian Meade who looked up and proceeded to hoof the ball in on top of David Bray, who was being marked by Tom Griffin and Seamus Scanlon. Guess who won that contest? Management failed to take the conditions into account, a greasy football wouldn't hold up when it was lobbed into the corners, lads were bouncing the ball onto a very soft pitch rather than toe-tapping it... I could go on. That's school-boy stuff, you didn't see any Kerrymen doing that. I agree with you completely regarding Stephen Bray as an inside forward, he's reverted to the playmaker role he occupied at St. Pats but we're really missing his flair on the inside line. Move Bray inside though and you have to move Ward out to no. 11, where I think he's more effective. His natural tendencies to hold the ball up, run at backs, coupled with his range of foot-passing, (which we don't see enough of at full-forward) make him very effective on the forty.

Googan (Meath) - Posts: 105 - 24/11/2009 19:51:18    493133

God Ard, you just got told by your old foe NMM, and there was me wondering where he gone too or was he still drowning his sorrows about the Wood's failed attempt to return to senior.... I think your point re days past and the lads you mentioned played full back for most of their intercounty career, which meant they played their from an early age and maybe trying to put Damo back there when he's 28/29 (not sure of his age!!!) is possible denying Collins or Lenihan to press their claims, in a position they have represented the minors/U21's with a ccertain degree of distinction. Jack Hackett, good point re Collins and U21's last year, but who knows why he wasn't involved. Also i agree with your point re a development squad for 19-23 age group. We need to get these lads involved with the senior set up, and on weights and training programme. Take the example of Tyrone Mickey Harte has said he intends involving 9/10 members of their minor team from 08 in the upcoming years panel, and i don't see why we shouldn't do similar if the quality of player is there to be involved. I think there's certainly a few of the 08 minors who could be involved as you intimated Newman and Lenihan, and surely there's others possibly Tommy Johnston, Damian Carroll and Harri Silke... I'd also expect a few current squad players like Queeney and brian sheridan to push on for places in the 08 team as well as a fit Shane O'Rourke. Also it seems people don't want Paddy in goals next year, is that a common consensus???? I think given he's 19/20 he surely deserves another chance next year!!! He did seem to improve as the summer went on

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1994 - 24/11/2009 20:44:15    493180

Paddy O'Rourke may very well go on to be a top class goalkeeper for Meath but he's some distance off that standard right now. If they're serious about winning a Leinster next year management should be doing everything in their power to persuade Brendan Murphy to make himself available for selection, failing that we have to look at finding a good back-up for the injury-prone David Gallagher. At the moment that would seem to be either David Lyons or Ricky Nolan. David Lyons fully deserves a run-out during the O'Byrne cup, Nolan has had opportunities under Barry.

As regards selecting players in positions that differ from their club roles at inter-county level that is the norm rather than the exception. Tyrone's team is built around club midfielders who have been trained to play in new roles. I'm thinking Joe McMahon, Sean Cavanagh etc.. Boylan's teams were built along the same criteria. Cormac O'Sullivan, Mark O'Reilly, Darren Fay, Graham Geraghty, Trevor Giles, Donal Curtis and Brendan Reilly all played different roles for the county team than they did for their club. We really need to find adequate cover for Kevin Reilly who but may be a little injury-prone. Most of our other backs, (Harrington and O'Connor for example), while being talented footballers are a little suspect under the high-ball, this is why Moyles was drafted into the full-back line this year.

Obviously we should be looking to see if Collins or Lynch are up to the task but Brian Meade has all the qualities to play the full-back role to perfection. He played there for Rathkenny at juvenile so it wouldn't be much of a culture shock. Definitely a sensible experiment to undertake in the NFL.

Googan (Meath) - Posts: 105 - 24/11/2009 22:11:57    493258

Northmeathman

Like Brian I too have been wondering where you got to. Thought you got washed away in one of those floods. I have been baiting you for the past fortnight trying to draw you out of the woods (no pun intended) and have failed until I suggested trying Damien Sheridan at full back for the O'Byrne just to see if it might work. I would have to take issue with the point you make that he is too slow. If you are right then why not let him have a go and then we can drop the whole idea. Maybe winning the O'Byrne means something to you but I would rather experiment with players at that stage. Your suggestion of Harrington at fullback is laughable. Corner, wing or even CHB but definitely not Full back. He is much too light for that position and his speed and agility would be better used elsewhere.

P.S. I had no problem today as I was allowed out to buy a bag of chips and I snuck a pint when I had their backs turned.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 24/11/2009 23:28:45    493348

Players id like to see having a shot are Paddy Gilsnean(Might be a bit young but worth a run) , Paddy Smyth ( Good enough club footballer), Ciaran McLoughlin and Ciarain Martin ( Impressed this year) , Ciaran Lynch ( St Michaels if 100% fit is a serious player), Michael Newman ( Kilmainham Serious Player ) , Stephen Kiernan Michael Shankey ( All impressed on the woods run to inter final might b worth a look), Terry Skelly( Surely worth another look),Brendan Murphy ( BEG him back)!! thats a list of a few i would try out whether any would get on the panel is a different story.

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 25/11/2009 09:58:37    493471

Well done Ard, on the sneaky pints but more so on dragging NMM from his fox hole.... Oh and i agree with your assesment of Harri, if he's put at full back we're in serious trouble, very suspect to high ball, thats why i think a move to half back line for next season might be in the offing for him

Paudi thats a few players worthy of a shot at least and never mind age, if their good enough their old enough.....

Anyone else think a call to Brendan Murphy should be made? He's mid 30's but that shouldn't matter to a keeper really, plus a year beside him might help paddy????

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1994 - 25/11/2009 10:53:49    493513

Ard Ri, you have finally got me out:) for gods sake, for full back he is too slow. O'Byrne cups are not important to me, findin a full back is. It's like looking at a horse u just know it's not a jumper or flat racer... u dont need to enter it into the race to find out. Listen the chap is a good club player, however he has never played in the backs, doesnt look like a back, cant move like a back, do u want me to go on. I would go with McGill and your comment re Harro not being strong enough is crazy... as i said get out of the 70's will u the game has changed. Maybe for the O'Byrne cup I would try Leinhan,Mulligan or Collins but again relating to horse story above just not good enough. Ard Ri your history of the game is second to none here but I'm afraid u are a poor judge of a footballer with this current rant but I will put it down to baiting me out Glad u got sorted with grub.. be carefull not to mix too much beer with those tablets.

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 25/11/2009 11:18:00    493539

Christopher Lynch is the chap from the Michaels. Think Sean Mulligan is worth a look. Young Gilsenan very small for that level, Ciaran McLoughlin must be 32 or 33 now so I think he's too old for it. Niall Kelly, Charles McCarthy are only 27 or 28 and should be brought back in after playing great stuff with their clubs, alos are two very big and strong men which we lack.

bennyblanco (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 25/11/2009 12:18:54    493588

agree with NMM, don;t think Damien Sheridan would be a viable choice for full back, yes under a high ball he would be good, but we tried that with Moyles and it didn't exactly work. Full back is a specialist position that requires excellent reading of the game, the ability to mark your man and also to be absolutely ruthless and take no prisoners and while Damien has some of these qualitites, the key one of marking tightly I think might not suit his style of play

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 25/11/2009 14:21:18    493694

im sorry lads but this is crazy 1st people are saying damo sheridan and brian meade should be tried at full back, i know these lads and they would laugh at these suggestions, they are midfielders, end of story, their is full backs out there or defenders who could play there who should be tried before we start even thinking of putting midfielders back there, and 2nd point benny suggests bringing niall kelly and charlie mccarthy back, and somebody even suggested john cullinane on another thread, good lord man they've had their chance especially mccarthy, how many times does he have to prove to you he's not up to county football, we build for the future with NEW PLAYERS NOT PAST ONES.

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 25/11/2009 15:27:03    493767

really full back is rthe only position where meath are bound to fall short on this year and in my opinion the woos sean mulligan does deserve his opportunity he is still young enough at only aroubd 23 or 24...the way he kept brian farrell at bay in the semis was very impressive... also i know brian meade and the thought of him at full back he would just laugh and him and damo shero are really on midfielders simple as that... but now is the chance in the o'byrne cup to try out these players and with paddy o'rourke he is a great keeper still young with a years experience under his belt and he should be left where he is...it would not do his confidence very mich good if they drop him now then want him back at some stage he is one for the future... we also need shane o'rourke cack he is a player with great ability and really the replacement for nigel crawford in the future...

delhouse (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 25/11/2009 16:30:09    493842

In all honesty lads if there has been a better full back in this county than Ciaran Mc Loughlin from the Tones then I have not seen him and i go to a lot of matches

drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 25/11/2009 19:49:40    494092

I cant see the logic in trying Damien Sheridan at full back and not Andrew Collins. The simple fact is that young Collins is a better full back than Sheridan is. Which is why Seneschalstown play Collins at full back and not Sheridan. Now I am not sure whether Collins is good enough to be a county full back but I am absolutely certain that Sheridan is not. And I am twice as certain that Eamon O'Brien knows that too.
I cannot understand why people insist on trying to put square pegs into round holes. Sometimes I wonder whether it is just try and seem smarter than the next lad - trying to think of some combination that no-one has thought of just to seem clever. It is that sort of thinking that left us with Caoimhin King at full forward last year. Sometimes the simple obvious answer to a problem is the best one. Find the best couple of young full backs in the county, give them games and let them grow into the position. Be patient and accept the fact that there will be problems at the start but that in time things may work out.
Having said that, in my opinion, Kevin Reilly is still the best full-back in the county and if fit is the man for the no 3 jersey.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 25/11/2009 20:05:20    494108

Does the rule still apply whereby players playing in the O'Byrne Cup for their college are ineligible to play for their county?
If so, that will negate on the plans to experiment somewhat I would imagine.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 25/11/2009 20:24:19    494127

A good, athletic outfield player will often perform a variety of roles during their fooballing career. How many different jobs has Anthony Moyles done for Meath? David Heaney, Tom Griffin or Graham Canty for their respective counties? I'm almost 100% sure that Meade played full-back for Rathkenny at juvenile level, not that this automatically qualifies him as a specialist but it just proves once again that footballers are more versatile than your average fan gives them credit for.

And we would at least get one significant advantage from having Meade playing in front of the square... he wouldn't be loping around midfield kicking all our posession away ;)

It's kind of irrelevant anyway because if Moyles stays on for another year and Reilly's injuries re-occur than I would put the house on O'Brien once again handing Moyles the number 3 jersey. O'Brien seems perpetually unsure of his best fifteen but he's no tinker-man. Don't think there will be too many positional switches next season.

So if we're looking at 'specialist' full-backs, (and I agree that an alternative here is a priority for next season), the common consensus would seem to be Cormac McGill. Could McGill hold his own against a Tommy Walsh or Aidan O'Shea type player? Is he that good in the air? This is a weak point for our full-back line right now, (which is why I was touting Meade). This summer when Kerry tried to work the ball inside and lay it off to the free man Meath looked very composed. We kept Kerry to a couple of points for the bulk of the first half but when O'Connor adjusted his tactics and brought Tommy Walsh on, we were in trouble almost immediately.

What's a little worrying is that my preferred full-back line, namely Harrington, Reilly and McGill, was tried out during the league at least once, against Kildare. They looked very vulnerable, particularly under the high ball to Alan Smith. Now Smith's a good forward but he shouldn't be causing that much stress for a highly-regarded senior full-back.

Googan (Meath) - Posts: 105 - 25/11/2009 21:26:35    494193

Do any of you lads think Micheal Burke will start in the championship next year, i would put him left half back and drop King to the bench.And i would put McGill at no 2 and O'Connor at no 5 and put Kenny on the bench.And if we had O'Connor and Burke on the wings we could be a stong force getting in for the breaking ball and steaming forward out of the backs with the ball i think we could be a strong force against the likes of Kildare and Dublin in Croke Park.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 25/11/2009 23:30:44    494356

yeh burke is a great player, i wouldnt drop kenny.. heis great for winning the breaking ball..

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 25/11/2009 23:50:03    494383