Kennelly going back Officially

did kevin Moran come back from manchester to play a championship game for dublin

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 07/11/2009 14:30:47    478088

07/11/2009 05:11:32 Thunderstruck County: Meath Posts: 168 477916 What do Kerry people make of Kennelly going back? I think he is a gentleman but I have to say part of me feels its an ill divided world...he played one year of senior intercounty football and is walking into the sunset with an all-ireland medal; players such as Dermot Early, Eammon O' Hara, Anthony Lynch and Ciaran Whelan have given years of service to their counties but have no all-ireland to show. Personally I think he owes the players, who helped him achieve his dream, and the loyal supporters of Kerry a few years service before he should walk away. Upon reflection that is what I should have said but he hardly deserves any compliments for walking out like that! And after the semi-tearful appearance on TV and all despite the attack on Murphy. I hope you completed the work Nixon sent ye her for - good luck to ye!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 07/11/2009 15:15:47    478116

07/11/2009 13:51:05
3inarow08

478058 The Irish - a nation of begrudgers? Surely not!

What exactly are we begrudging?

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 07/11/2009 15:16:51    478117

ruanua

One Sam
One National League
One Book
One Shoulder
One Ticket
One Way

One Love

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 07/11/2009 15:23:00    478124

Real Louth fan
County: Louth

A man coming home to Kerry to win an All-Ireland, and then deciding to resume his career as a professional sportsman, in a country that has a better climate, where he gets paid more than most in this country, where he is idolised.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 07/11/2009 15:55:10    478159

Whether this is true or not I don't know:

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/kennelly-yet-to-decide-despite-irish-reports/2009/11/07/1257247793111.html

Also, anyone ever wonder why there's no Kerry person coming out and having a dig at Tadhg for leaving (if he does)? It always seems to be people from other counties........

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 07/11/2009 16:08:54    478170

I have no problem with him coming home to play and win an All Ireland, neither have I a problem with him deciding to go back. A little peeved that he got away with his challenge but that is all water under the bridge now, 2010 beckons and everyone has renewed hope for their own County and that is as it should be.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/11/2009 19:37:52    478298

t kennelly was a great addition to kerry this year , if i had his talent at 18 i would have gone to aus to play profesional as well, the only mistake he made was coming back for the one year , he should of stayed in aus to continue his brillant career, im moving out to sydney next year so he gives me a reason to watch the AFL ,which i think is a awful game, as of what he said about that tacke i play junior b football and i see worst fouls in most games, wish him all the best .

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 07/11/2009 20:04:17    478330

Real Louth fan County: Louth Posts: 2717 477967 3 of them (of late) used it to get professional careers in Australia, others used it to get TV and media careers whilst even more used it to get successful careers in politics - don't anybody tell me it's a religion down there - UTTER NONSENSE!!! Well, that's that then. About 10 out of some 750 all Ireland winners in Kerry USED the medal for something. Fully justifies your claim of NONSENSE. Do you base all of your ideas on less than 2%?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 07/11/2009 20:28:00    478345

Best of luck Tadgh. Thanks for the contribution you made. You were one of the players who helped to turn our season Of course I would have loved if you stayed but as triona says you have another life also. Never mind the begrudgers, you achieved your goal. Slan agus saol maith duitse.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 07/11/2009 20:48:17    478361

I'd find it hard to take him seriously if he comes home again in a year or two and throws his lot in with Kerry again tho'.

paddywexman (Wexford) - Posts: 289 - 07/11/2009 21:10:27    478373

Talent will get you a professional career in Australia, not medals.

Thank God TV and media careers are based on more than medals, that could make for very poor television.

As for that lad Jack Lynch, don't get me started.

"UTTER NONSENSE" - I agree completely.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 07/11/2009 21:16:05    478374

patrique

Real Louth fan

3 of them (of late) used it to get professional careers in Australia, others used it to get TV and media careers whilst even more used it to get successful careers in politics - don't anybody tell me it's a religion down there - UTTER NONSENSE!!!

I detect from your posts that jealousy seems to be your main problem. Darragh for Taoiseach.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 07/11/2009 22:07:30    478400

if the medal meant so much to him and it meant so much to him to wear the green and gold, hed stick around.

laser (Galway) - Posts: 230 - 07/11/2009 22:14:42    478403

Why all the fuss ?
Surely this should be kept on the Kerry board.
Its nobody elses business really.... up to Kennelly and Kerry to do as they see fit.
It wont affect the price of pork in Ballygawley !!!!!!

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 07/11/2009 22:27:27    478416

3 in a row i dont begrudge kennelly his medal i think he is a great sportsman in my post i spoke about the lies to the kerry fanns,the fallout from the book i now wonder did he get alot of media exposure in aus and perhaps he missed that by the way finally i have nothing but respect for kerry i grew up in the era of sheehy egan bomber spillane ogie jacko johno and my favourite the great tim kennelly i wish tadgh nothing but the best but i think he should take alot of life lessons from the last few weeks ?

jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 07/11/2009 22:38:07    478423

07/11/2009 15:55:10
3inarow08

478159 Real Louth fan

A man coming home to Kerry to win an All-Ireland, and then deciding to resume his career as a professional sportsman, in a country that has a better climate, where he gets paid more than most in this country, where he is idolised.

And where did anybody begrudge him that?

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 07/11/2009 22:57:52    478440

07/11/2009 22:07:30 Real Kerry Fan County: All Posts: 1744 478400 patrique County: Antrim Posts: 5264 478345 Real Louth fan County: Louth Posts: 2717 477967 3 of them (of late) used it to get professional careers in Australia, others used it to get TV and media careers whilst even more used it to get successful careers in politics - don't anybody tell me it's a religion down there - UTTER NONSENSE!!! I detect from your posts that jealousy seems to be your main problem. Darragh for Taoiseach. Certainly not. Nobody in their right mind from Louth could ever engage in such a debate given our paltry state. There are so many many more between us and Kerry, so if jealousy was my motive I'd be here for eternity! My point is that they (folk down south) go on about how 'it' (I assume they mean GAA?) is a religion and that it is all about the jersey. Yet they don't turn their nose up at the limelight that it brings which makes me believe that it is not all about the jersey by any stretch of the imagination. And back to tadgh - he gave a very passionate and emotion filled post match interview (despite making that potentially life threatening tackle) telling us all how difficult it was for him in Australia, during his time here he publicly said it was not on for Ozzy rules guys to poach GAA players and took a paying job with Kerry CB! It's the Kerry folk I feel sorry for but also the GAA family at large that were used to allow this guy fulfill a personal ambition. I would not deny him or begrudge him that nor his career in Australia but don't pretend you are doing it for the jersey!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 07/11/2009 23:08:43    478446

3 in a row are you for real??
Your comment "Also, anyone ever wonder why there's no Kerry person coming out and having a dig at Tadhg for leaving (if he does)? It always seems to be people from other counties........ "

Maybe people from other counties criticise certain thing kerry related because as a neutral you can take an objective and not an emotional view on things which is what you seem to be doing.
It may be a tiny bit admirable to defend your man no matter what but that smacks of parochial nonsense. Kerry people are after all the people that will vote for John O'Donoghue no matter what, and ye turfed out Dick Spring.
Need I remind everyone what one of your own favorite sons Paidi said on the subject of Kerry people..........

Overlord (USA) - Posts: 46 - 08/11/2009 02:09:42    478523

big sacks yuo didny say that when it was kyle coney if you dont like it stay off the page

jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 08/11/2009 14:08:39    478638