Kennelly going back Officially

Friday, 6 November 2009 21:08

Tadhg Kennelly has informed the Kerry Co Board of his decision to return to the professional ranks of Aussie Rules.

As of now it is unclear to which club he will play for, but it is almost certain that he will resume his role as player and coach with the Sydney Swans, though St Kilda's also are believed to have made him a sizeable offer.

Reacting to the news, Jerome Conway, Chairman of the Kerry Co Board said that it came as no surprise but he would be missed. He explained: 'Tadgh has notified us officially that he is returning to Australia. I suppose as things were turning out over the last few weeks, it no great surprise to us now.

It seems people were well aware of this, looks like its official as of 9 o'clock this evening.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 06/11/2009 22:09:33    477750

Think a whip round for a 1 way ticket might be in order.

ballinaman (Mayo) - Posts: 226 - 06/11/2009 22:53:52    477789

the fairytale has ended

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 06/11/2009 22:58:02    477793

Just read it on rte.ie.

Well done Tadhg on wining your dream medal, the precious All-Ireland.

Good luck back in Austrailia and lets hope you can win another Grand Final.

Bye bye Tadhg.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1848 - 07/11/2009 00:14:54    477860

What do Kerry people make of Kennelly going back? I think he is a gentleman but I have to say part of me feels its an ill divided world...he played one year of senior intercounty football and is walking into the sunset with an all-ireland medal; players such as Dermot Early, Eammon O' Hara, Anthony Lynch and Ciaran Whelan have given years of service to their counties but have no all-ireland to show. Personally I think he owes the players, who helped him achieve his dream, and the loyal supporters of Kerry a few years service before he should walk away.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 476 - 07/11/2009 05:11:32    477916

Fair play to the man, it was his ultimate goal of winning Sam and he acheived it, now he can fly off to sunnier, warmer and altogether more pleasant climes and see out his career, nice work if you can get it.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/11/2009 08:48:47    477927

i would tend to agree with ballinaman after all the furore for years about coming home to emulate his great father tim who i was a huge fan of tadgh has got what he wanted obviously his life was and is in australia and thats fine he should have just been honest , there was the book controversy and last week we heard about the -----not to mention the blatant fibs to kerry fans about staying home when all the time you new you would be leaving i have been dissaointed in the way you conducted buisness

jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 07/11/2009 10:32:59    477953

He got what he came for so good luck to him. He'll not be missed!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 07/11/2009 10:53:13    477961

3 of them (of late) used it to get professional careers in Australia, others used it to get TV and media careers whilst even more used it to get successful careers in politics - don't anybody tell me it's a religion down there - UTTER NONSENSE!!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 07/11/2009 10:58:18    477967

Im a huge fan of him and I wish him the best of luck back in oz

zidane (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 07/11/2009 11:00:56    477969

If anyone's to blame it's the girlfriend. She wouldn't move over to Ireland with Tadhg, preferring instead to stay in Sydney and force Tadhg to come back. Women.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 07/11/2009 12:04:26    477997

agree with you 100% Thunderstruck but sure its a decision he has made and best of luck to him

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 07/11/2009 12:08:32    478001

Have to agree 'thunderstruck' i think he has come out of this mess (all of his own making) with a slightly tarnished reputation. Im not a big fan of his - less of a one now - he got his medal and off he goes. I wonder if there wasnt such an outcry about his 'tackle' in all ireland would he have gone? His PR machine was trying to undo the mess this week but to no avail - at least we are spared an interview with him on the Late Late!

dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 07/11/2009 12:24:23    478009

I suppose the lad he did out of an AI medal will be glad to see him go.After all some poor old lad down there in kerry stayed at home and went training every night, winter and summer over a number of years in order to get that medal.Tadg comes back for one year,pushes him aside,gets his medal and then f---s off back to Aussi land.Hero,gentleman? I don't think so.

Frances56 (Dublin) - Posts: 378 - 07/11/2009 12:25:34    478012

He comes home, the kerry county board gives him a coaching job having been gone for along time out of the game, plays for one year and goes back to play professionally with an all ireland medal in his pocket after a handy year.. doesnt exactly typify what the gaa is all about.. we ve really came along way in 125 years..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 07/11/2009 13:04:10    478031

massive blow to kerry football

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 07/11/2009 13:04:29    478032

He's got every right to come home and push who ever he wants out of the team no matter how long he comes back for - he was the ONLY professional athlete in this years championship and definitely unarguabley meritted a place in the Kerry squad, didn't play himself up as a big time Charlie, kept his head down worked hard, fulfilled a life long dream and has now decided that he would rather wake up every morning and head off to kick ball in the sun (Iknow theres alot more work than this!) rather than get up and go into an office 9-5 for half the money. I dont see how anybody can begrudge him, I'm not his biggest fan but I would make the exact same decision, best of luck to him.

BlueSon2010 (Dublin) - Posts: 23 - 07/11/2009 13:14:55    478041

The Irish - a nation of begrudgers? Surely not!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 07/11/2009 13:51:05    478058

In fairness to Tadgh when he came back he said he wanted to do what his father and brother had done, win an All Ireland with Kerry. Luckily for him he done that in his first year back. He done what he wanted and now wants to go back, you can't question him wanting to emulate his father and brother as he lost a lot of money by walking out on his contract. Was a big fan of him, good luck in the AFL Tadgh!

Galway11 (Galway) - Posts: 570 - 07/11/2009 14:26:17    478081

One Sam
One book
One Elbow
One Ticket
One Way

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 07/11/2009 14:29:32    478087