Offaly v Meath

What do you think lads will be the outcome of this game next year? i personally think meath by 5 or 6...... btw does anybody know where this will be played?

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/11/2009 13:27:33    477090

its a bit early to make a call on this one ,alot will depend on how good a league we have .if we can get a good run going in that we will give meath a real go and we never fear them .not sure were its being played but maybe portlaoise

liffo (Offaly) - Posts: 649 - 06/11/2009 15:29:00    477235

i agree with liffo,we badly need a good league run to build a bit of confidence for the championship.

balboa (Offaly) - Posts: 100 - 06/11/2009 18:10:28    477485

I reckon we haven't got a hope against meath. Don't know if it's just me, but Offaly lacks physical strength throughout the squad. Our players are small compared to other senior teams, which was very evident in the match against Kildare earlier this year.

Goatsucker (Offaly) - Posts: 265 - 08/11/2009 20:46:22    478923

trust me you always have a chance against meath. they seem to fail when expectations are high. would offaly prefer this to be played in croker? i personally would choose croker as nothing beats the banter on hill 16!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 09/11/2009 16:02:23    479495

Never get the crowd in Croker for it, doubt a double header is on the cards unless it could be with Kildare.

Meath could have a great league run and Offaly could get relegated back to division 4 but I still don't think it would influence the championship game too much. Reckon it'd be a close one, a few points either way. No matter what our form has been in the past, over the last decade Offaly have only been able to raise their game for two or three counties. Luckily for us Meath is on of them.

wild_biffalo (Offaly) - Posts: 91 - 09/11/2009 22:33:40    479831

ye true... but luckily for meath you dont have that damn Roy Malone!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 09/11/2009 23:14:53    479889

Meath will beat us easily and will probably walk it to a Leinster. It's Meaths or Dublins to lose next year.

liffo1 (Offaly) - Posts: 22 - 19/11/2009 15:01:43    488398

Meath well due a leinster and after getting to the all-ireland semi last year i think they will def do it this year.

Clara00 (Offaly) - Posts: 2 - 24/11/2009 16:05:33    492834

Lads have faith. We are well able to beat Meath. I fear a meeting with Kildare in 2010. To be honest, if it isnt us that will win Leinster next year, I hope Kildare do it!

jasonkaka (Kildare) - Posts: 22 - 26/11/2009 23:30:07    495657

wel said liffo1....

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 27/11/2009 16:37:30    496200

Meath are due a Leinster?? If anything the only two teams have any chance of winning leinster next year are Dublin or Kildare. Offaly have not even kicked a ball yet in 2010 and according to some supporters we are beaten already! Show some faith. Offaly have nothing to fear against Meath in all fairness. They ain't no world beaters or anything!

oyman (Offaly) - Posts: 58 - 27/11/2009 21:56:48    496563

oyman
use have everything to fear against meath

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 01/12/2009 17:27:09    499677

Bring Meath on they are just another ordinary football team. Keep blowing Meath up there, because Offaly love being the underdogs.

oyman (Offaly) - Posts: 58 - 01/12/2009 21:28:54    499991

use are always the underdogs and never cause even the slightest shock..

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 01/12/2009 22:29:10    500062

Meath aren as brilliant as they all seem to believe they are. Offaly have as good a chance as any. Too early to make predictions. Lets all see how the league plays out.

Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 02/12/2009 00:43:50    500233

Use are always the underdogs? Use? what kind of grammer is that? Toddle onto your own forum with your stupid talk. You would swear Meath were All-Ireland Champions or something! Get down off yourselves!

oyman (Offaly) - Posts: 58 - 02/12/2009 00:44:06    500234

Lads, flyer is just getting a bit anxious there, no harm from him tho relax.
Its the same with every county who goes on a run in any given year, they cant wait to get next year started & bate all round them. Doesnt happen like that.
Sure look at the Wexford lot last year, nothing was gonna stop them this year! Except of course their total lack of ability, forwards, fitness & a plan b!

To be honest tho its almost impossible to see where both teams are at! Meath are a div2 team, no higher, no lower. Offaly tho I feel could also be a div 2 team. When you look at some of the teams that have been there, like Wexford & fermanagh, then Offaly could definatly be there as Id consider then much better than these two put together.

From an outsider looking in, it seems there is absolutly no confidence in Offaly at all. The players dont seem to believe they can beat teams around them. Ye have had a couple of very good minor teams over the last 3/4 years & those lads should be coming through now.

Im expecting a real though encounter next may which could go either way. I actually think the venue will have a bit to do with how the game goes too.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 02/12/2009 10:41:39    500372

Well said Jinxie. It will definitley be an interesting match. League form generally does just go out the window when it comes to championship matches so we won't really have any idea how the match will go until the day of it.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 06/12/2009 13:43:11    504745

League form generally does go out the window alright but I'm hoping that this time we'll be able to get through the league with a lot less disruption than we faced last year. Think Cribbin can get the lads playing decent football when he gets a settled team to give a run out on a regular basis in the league. If anything we can hope to push for a promotion spot in division 3 and carry a bit of confidence and belief and more importantly a bit of unity into the championship for the first time in a few years. Who knows what we could do then...

wild_biffalo (Offaly) - Posts: 91 - 13/12/2009 20:39:14    512790