Limerick Minors 2010

Conor Crowley-young.talented,ambitious,very sporting,fit,a first year student in teachertraining in Mary I and the reason why Conor did not play for kilmallock in the 2 county finals was because he was late for the warmup due to a grind but was not late for the MATCH.Conor is a member of the Mary I freashers team and played very well in the trials

an puc (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 28/12/2009 20:45:11    521733

If Conor Crowley is so good how come you didn't put him on your team?

habanerocat (Limerick) - Posts: 48 - 29/12/2009 11:57:44    521863

1. Eoin Webb (Kilmallock Great year this year for him Was man of the match in the county final against na pairsaigh made some unreal saves and has played well this year with the limerick U17's Definate first choice and if he plays the way he is at the moment he will cause Barry Henessey all sorts of problems for the Kilmallock no.1 shirt)2. Alan Dempsey (Na Pairsaigh Great year also started in the full back line for the city side but was so dependable that he was often moved onto the oppositions strongest players or out to centre back)3. Jeremy Lynch (Ahane Big Strong and solid are words to describe him Has a great first touch for a big man very dependable and gives very little away His addition will add a lot of strength to the full back line)4. David Barry/Mark O Loughlin (Both Kilmallock Would have any one of the 2 in this position as they both are excellent defenders. Barry probably had the better year as he was outstanding in the county final and started both the matches in the 21's final and was excellent. Has a great first touch and I am yet to see a stickier defender in the county at this age. O Loughlin is probably the stronger physically of the two as he is bigger. He also has maybe a bit more pace than Barry but is less used to corner back maybe back up to Lynch at full back would suit him better.)5. Kevin O Donnell (Kilmallock Unreal year for Kevin Probable captain of the team as he was captain of Kilmallock and was out-standing was by far in a way Kilmallock's best player in the 2 matches of the under 21's final at just 17.Has an abundance of pace and strength and is a hugely intelligent player with his distributuion and organisation.)6. Declan Hannon (Adare 1-13 against Newtown, 21's panelist at just 16 last year's centre back county senior champion with Adare need I say any more)7. Chris O Riordan/David Murphy (Dromin Athlaca/Kilteely O riordan is still only just gone 16 but is big strong and surprisingly skillful. Saw him play for the south in the interdivisional at mid-field and scored some fine points was great under puck outs and worked all day. From what i hear is a better back and captained Shamrock Gaels to a county title from centre back and won u16's hurler of the year this year well worth this place. Murphy is strong tough and solid a very good hurler maybe a bit over enthusiastic but is very good to mix it and will mark anyone.)8. and 9. Robert Egan/Thomas Ryan (Kilmallock/ South Liberties Egan had a great year this year played mid-field for kilmallock minors and 21's great under high ball. Excellent striker of the ball very intelligent maybe a bit greedy and over ambitious but overall a definate starter. Ryan's year still continues as he leads south liberties to an intermidiate all ireland title. Great pace and strength huge engine always working.)10. Not sure about this position any suggestions?11. Shane Dowling (Na Pairsaigh definate centre forward has become more physical over the last year is big stong dedicated and has an abundance of skill to pick from. Can put a point over from anywhere very intelligent and has a thunder bolt of a shot. Still only 16 but already has the expierence at this age level from being on the panel last year)12. Jake Mulcahy/Richie Burke (Kilmallock/Mungret hard to choose.13. John Fitzgibbon/Darren Sheehy (Adare/Effin Also too difficult to choose.14. and 15. Michael Ryan/Sean Kelly (Murroe Boher/Adare both are top class hurlers and both can play in these 2 positions Ryan is probably the more skillful and intelligent hurler. Started with Murroe seniors this year on their to a county semi final appearence and is lethal with the ball in hand and facing goal. Kelly is the mor physical unreal under a high ball and always works his socks off. Temperment also in question but has a huge amount of heart)

LimerickGAA85 (Limerick) - Posts: 10 - 30/12/2009 19:25:28    522561

Limerick 85 Good selection of players and there are others which should make a strong panel But here is the burning question the panel will i aume start training soon will the following 1.Webb 2.Mulcahey 3.Egan 4.O Donnell 5.Barry 6.O loughlin committ to hurling some of these are playing youths soccer for kilmallock and some are also on the limerick district youths team which will lead to a conflict for both codes. They MUST BE ASKED TO DECLARE ONE WAY OR THE OTHER AND THE BEST OF LUCK TO THEM IN WHICH EVERY CODE THEY CHOOSE

123fedup (Limerick) - Posts: 225 - 30/12/2009 22:55:59    522695

1. Eoin Webb (Kilmallock

2. David Murphy (Kilteely 3. Jeremy Lynch (Ahane 4. Mikey Drain (Mungret

5. Brian Murphy (Fedamore 6. Kevin O Donnell (Killmallock 5. Ciarain Keogh (Na Piarsigh

8. Liam Ryan (Doon 9. Declan Hannon (Adare

10. Jake Mulcahy (Killmallock 11. Thomas Ryan (South Liberties 12. Barry O Connel (Killulta Gaels

13. Mike Ryan (Murrue Boher 14. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsigh 15. John Fitzgibbon (Adare

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

16. Barry Neville (Ahane
17. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsigh
18. Kevin Shire (South Liberties
19. Sean Kelly (Adare
20. Brendan Giltenane (Mungret
21. Mark O Donnell
22. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell
23. Richie Burke (Mungret
24. Adrian Breen (Na Piarsigh
25. Gary O Conner (Claughuan
26. Ger McPartland (Doon
27. Dermott Dee (Mungret
28. Brian Griffin (Ballybrown
29. Ronan Liston (killulta Gaels
30. William Hickey (South Liberties

Think a two man inside line of John Fitzgibbon and Mike Ryan would be very effective with young dowling drawing his man out the field......

City_Gael (Limerick) - Posts: 97 - 31/12/2009 02:30:33    522781

ok lads just to be clear im neutral ive been to alot of senior and minor games this year and some of the teams ye are naming suprises me. i have intercounty experience in the past so i have my opinion on talent. firstly lads eoin webb -- an average goalie. i saw the county final yes he made good saves but the corner back young o loughlin( cant remember his first name) nsaved the penalty and saved webb on a few occasions and thye goal na pairsigh got first webb ran ten yards out and took out his corner back and the corner forward with the ball trickling over the line. to say hel cause hennessy problems is rubbish, hennessy is only gone 20 has 4 21s has played in an all ireland and munster final and is going into his 5th year senior and is one of kilmallock seniors best performers year in year out. i was at the 17s interdivsional and the ahane goalie and the west goalie are more solid and to top it off the best goalies available to the minors are shane dowling and pj hall but are needed out the field. im not having a go at webb as he is only young. conor crowley has talent. he is good but not that good he was only average with kilmallock. the man to lead the team is kevin o donnell wat a talent this is thee man of the match from the minor final talent to burn lets hope he can bring good fortune along with hannon and dowling, Luimneach abu

goalie101 (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 02/01/2010 13:32:01    522874

Goalie101 sounds very offended by people praisin eoin webb. Its a bit harsh to call the guy average when he clearly not. By any chance is goalie101 barry hennessey or a relation cuz they seem to know an awful lot about him. Its wierd aswel that ur first post on this thread is to defend barry. all i said was that eoin could challenge him in the coming years. I was also at the minor final and his performance was well above average. He also saved the penalty as I spoke to Paul Doona who was on the line with him not o loughlin and he said he walkd out in front of him missed d ball nd eoin got his leg to it. Give the guy some credit. I know a gud few guys personally who are big names in kilmallock around the senior panel and they are delightd to hav 2 top class keepers on their panel nd they can see some gud battles in the future for the no.1 jersey. I would agree with you though about Kevin o donnel and conor crowley two gud judgements. Also if PJ Hall and Dowling are as gud as webb even bettr so u say den how cum arent they on any1's teams in goals.Dowling is a top class talent out the field and should be played in his best position which is out the field. So infairness giv the guy some credit i am not doubtin hennessey's credentials but i am just sayin webb wil push hennessey which is great to see and dat barry wil hav to improve again as in comparison webb has a better puck out is a lot faster and is stronger but i still think that barry is the better keeper but it will b a gud battle over the next few years. But as far as i am concernd if this minor team wants to succeed thiis year they need webb in goals and o donnel, hannon, Dowling, Michael Ryan, Thomas ryan, egan and a few more of the Kilmallock lads to b starting and at their very best. I am extremely excited to see what this panel of players can do as this is the most talented bunch of players Limerick underage has had since we reached the minor final a few years nd i want to wish them the best of luck!!!!!!

LimerickGAA85 (Limerick) - Posts: 10 - 02/01/2010 15:40:56    522927

....................................................................Eoin Webb
..............ALan Dempesy..............................ConorCrowley..................................Brenden McCarthy
..............Brian Murphy.............................Declan Hannan..................................Kevin O Donnell
..................................Tomas Ryan.................................Chris O Riordan
............John Fitzgibbon............................Brenden O Connor..............................Shane Dowling
.............Michael Ryan..............................Conor Sheehan...................................Jake Mulcahy

an puc (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 02/01/2010 19:19:58    523055

I can assure u i am no relation of barrys i am four years older than the lad but i am friendly with him and feel he does not get credit where it is due,we agree he is the better goalie but eoin played a few good matches in one year people need to realise its only a year and without o donnell and robbie egan kilmallock would not be minor champs i just had my opinion and wanted to share it and u are correct they are a great bunch of lads and hopefully they can wear the jersey proud and put limk back on the map, hall and dowling were not on peoples lists as goalies coz der needed outfield,

goalie101 (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 02/01/2010 20:28:14    523090

declan hannon for captain a born leader with school and club

123fedup (Limerick) - Posts: 225 - 02/01/2010 22:21:47    523163

I hope I am nt offending Barry cuz u are right he has been 1 of Kilmallocks best players over the last few years nd nt only dat he's been one of their most consistant performers so he does deserve his credit but the world doesnt revolve around him and just because he has made a name for himself over the last few years so young doesn't mean anything. It doesnt mean some1 else can't come along and take his place so these others guys deserve their credit aswel to be fair. And to be fair thats a bit harsh on the rest of the Kilmallock minors that deserve a huge amount of credit. Players like mulcahy webb o loughlin barry and doona also deserve credit as they have put in huge performances this year to become county minor champs. If the others are needed outfield then how come hall is in maybe 1 or 2 other teams but as far as dowling is concerned he is a special talent and is only gettin better so it would be a stupid decision to stop his scoring ability by putting him in goals. An puc's team is a very good team and i tink with a few more would make an excellent panel.

LimerickGAA85 (Limerick) - Posts: 10 - 02/01/2010 23:40:48    523200

shane kenny ballybrown great player should be on the team ¬!

tom1995 (Limerick) - Posts: 22 - 03/01/2010 20:34:56    523596

If a player cannot commit fully to being a County Minor, he should not be considered for a place on the panel.No ifs or buts.And in all honesty , i would think management will concentrate on those players who are prepared to give 100% to the County team. In all seriousness, its a no brainer. If your lucky enough to be chosen to play minor for your County,the chance to play in a Munster final,Croke Park in front of thousands , not to mention t.v coverage,if thats not enough to whet the appetite of a young hurler,well then off and play anonymous junior soccer and best of luck to them.I know who i'll be following.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 04/01/2010 08:28:35    523780

any news of the minor hurling panel,surely Ger Hegerty and his selectors(who are they?) have some kind of a panel picked after the trials.

an puc (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 10/01/2010 12:32:09    529229

People the teams ye are picking are useless what about Michael dreyne (Mungret),,, Barry Lynch (Castlemahon),, Paul Doona (Kilmallock) Keith Lacey (Drom)

Comeonref (Limerick) - Posts: 27 - 10/01/2010 21:21:56    529607

After watching the hurling trials and u17 divisional matches there will be players playing both IF ALLOWED
MINOR F,BALL ..........................................................minor hurling
1..John Greney(St Kierans)
2..Brendan Mccarthy(St Kierans)......................................both
3.Stephen Foley (Capagh)
4..Brain O Doherthy(Ncw)
5..James O Meara (Ballysteen)
6..Paul Hannan (Ncw) (CAPT)
7..Padraig Scanlan(Glin)
8..Ian Corbett (Ncw)
9... Robert Egan(Kilmallock)............................................both
10..Paul Doona (Kilmallock).............................................both
11.. Thomas Ryan(South Liberties)......................................both
12... Jake Mulcahy(Kilmallock).............................................both
13...Gary O Connor(Claughan),,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,both
14...Jamie Mcgarry(Na Piarsigh)
15...Jamie Lee (Ncw)
16...Anthony Supple (Rathkeale)
17..Danny Frewn (Ballylanders)
18..Liam Quinn (Ahane)
19..Mike Flynn (St Kierns.........................................................both
20..Kevin Doody (Senans)
21...Kevin Brosnan(Monagea)
22...Podge Scannel(Monaleen)
23..Eoin Kelly (Abbeyfeale)
24..Stephen O Brien (Ballingarry)

an puc (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 11/01/2010 13:20:53    529815

any1 have the list of the minor panel for 2010?

hurling10 (Limerick) - Posts: 13 - 11/01/2010 15:55:34    529960

yes them teams are usless what about Jack Ahern and Barr Lynch and paul doona and a few others

wingbak2 (Limerick) - Posts: 20 - 13/01/2010 12:32:40    531763

players who got on the panel were phoned last night..

few strange decisions..

lk1973.2010 (Limerick) - Posts: 31 - 14/01/2010 17:00:11    533030

lk 1973.2010.....what is the panel....and these strange decisions?

hurling10 (Limerick) - Posts: 13 - 14/01/2010 17:27:51    533084