Westmeath's greatest hurler ever

Thanks for that information Overdabar. I will definitely make a point of visiting the Lough Lene Inn next time I am down that way ( in the Spring ). I would love to see those photos of the " Jobber ". I would also love to visit his grave in Killulagh. I hope there is a headstone to mark it. I forgot to mention in my previous post that one of the " Jobber's " trademarks was to play in his bare feet when he really wanted to turn it on ! And that was long before Babs Keating did the same when playing for Tipp when Michael O'Hehir referred to him as " the barefooted wonder ". What a pity there is no footage of him playing so that younger Westmeath folk would know what we are talking about.

thirty1 (Dublin) - Posts: 161 - 01/12/2009 21:12:03    499961

no bother31, i wasnt even born when he died but the stories and legends live on from talking to the older crew.

overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 01/12/2009 22:32:50    500069

Has to be Darren Kilcoyne, a spritely young talent from Ringtown. Quick to da touch, alert to to breaks - a joy to watch.

56Dunaras (Donegal) - Posts: 43 - 08/12/2009 15:28:06    507274

Jays David Kilcoyne was a mighty hurler. Its a tight call between himself and mattie mcdonagh, a flip of a coin job.

The young Kilcoyne is a good prospect, a bit gangly alright but we'll be seeing more of him years to come i'd say.

MullingarMoJo (Westmeath) - Posts: 4 - 11/12/2009 15:29:22    510916

hurlings differnt now a days back in my day david kilcoyne was one of the best around id say he'd put murtagh in his pocket

handrelief (Westmeath) - Posts: 31 - 14/12/2009 22:55:21    514013

back in your day, thinks were a lot different i d say. Anything to do with ur username??

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 14/12/2009 23:38:28    514050

what about seamus pender lads

jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 20/12/2009 13:48:13    518980

john jobber mcgrath was probably the best ever, other counties wanted him when he was in his prime. represented leinster and ireland teams also. has he any relatives playing hurling now?

fonejacker (Kildare) - Posts: 315 - 13/03/2010 11:31:03    587038

David Newman??? Crookedwood??? the newmans have a great dynesty in westmeath hurling? how many are on the senior panel now? 6 is it?

shouldbestartin (Clare) - Posts: 58 - 23/03/2010 17:57:37    596597

Inexperieced pundit above...ridiculous claims about the newmans...

Richie_Elliot (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 26/03/2010 15:42:23    599993

I agree wit mullingar mojo, Tis a reale flip o the coin job

ranglerrothar (Limerick) - Posts: 72 - 30/03/2010 12:44:14    603764

David Kilcoyne (Mayo)

ontheroad (None) - Posts: 530 - 30/03/2010 14:39:17    603986

Did a fella called Comaskey play for Westmeath? Was he not the best Westmeath hurler of all time?

maryellen (Roscommon) - Posts: 96 - 13/04/2010 15:45:06    616128

no and no again maryellen. this thread really should be just laid to rest. some joke the names some outsiders are coming up with.

overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 13/04/2010 18:31:49    616403

Well overdabar, I have to say that I met a chap in Spain who said he played for Westmeath hurlers. He said he was a fairly handy hurler.

maryellen (Roscommon) - Posts: 96 - 13/04/2010 21:49:30    616667

He was obviously filling you with lies mad to score with you!

overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 13/04/2010 22:00:18    616694

Good girl maryellen...fair play ta ya! thanks for your input..

Mr.CleeToris (Westmeath) - Posts: 16 - 14/04/2010 17:12:04    617483

The only scoring this chap Comaskey was interested in was scoring goals & points for his beloved Westmeath.

maryellen (Roscommon) - Posts: 96 - 15/04/2010 11:46:11    618063

Paddy Bradley, Saint Brigids, this lad hardly played much for the county but still won a railway cup hurling medal in 1965 when he was 20 years old i think, he must have been very good and could have been great

fonejacker (Kildare) - Posts: 315 - 16/04/2010 16:16:15    619670

Hugh Gaffeny of Clonkill
great first touch and could disect the posts from all angles.
his familly had a great hurling tradition with brother Eddie destined for "great things" only for wrist problems cut his career short..

bic (Westmeath) - Posts: 51 - 16/04/2010 18:25:03    619838