Well lads, who do ya think? One of the current batch like murtagh or mccormack or would you go for somebody who played years ago like Kilcoyne or cosgrave? elmatador (Westmeath) - Posts: 89 - 05/11/2009 09:21:58 475734 Link 0 |
David Kilcoyne was the best I have ever seen. He had everything; skill, speed, strength and would always score the frees. The older people would always say Jobber McGrath. Other notable mentions would be Michael Cosgrave, Mickey Fagan, Sean Greville, Brendan Murtagh and Ger Jackson MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 05/11/2009 13:16:19 476000 Link 0 |
id agree with marnells list. i could only comment on hurlers in the last 15 years. on his day barry kennedy was a great scoregetter, maybe a bit inconsistant. killian cosgrove was looking like a massive prospect only for being dogged with back injury. he still has plenty of time to prove himself if he could come 100 per cent fit as hes only 22. brendan murtagh as well. overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 05/11/2009 18:28:03 476403 Link 0 |
would have to be micheal o leary ,he was a great man in the air and also a flyer down the wing . liffo (Offaly) - Posts: 649 - 05/11/2009 18:54:34 476431 Link 0 |
Personally I always thought Michael in his own way was as good as David Kilcoyne.Michael Cosgrave was a truly superb hurler and what about the great Brownstown team that won 9 championships in 15 years with the brillaint Noel Fitzsinons a veteran when he returned from Canada but what aplayer.Anthony Kelly could have been the best ever if he wasnt destroyed one evening in Joristown jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1744 - 05/11/2009 19:27:51 476471 Link 0 |
u must b neil delamere liffo! musnt be much happening on the offaly page! overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 05/11/2009 20:22:20 476528 Link 0 |
overdabar i definitely agree with you about Barry Kennedy, im only 20 so cant comment on players from years ago but hes the best i've seen, and the most dedicated player i've ever seen as well, a real role model for younger lads celticbhoy18 (Westmeath) - Posts: 58 - 06/11/2009 15:06:56 477207 Link 0 |
and he is prepared to put his shoulder to the wheel at underage level, which many ex great players seem unable to do. Kennedy would probably get my vote mau_mau (Westmeath) - Posts: 75 - 06/11/2009 16:59:18 477402 Link 0 |
puddin (Westmeath) - Posts: 46 - 09/11/2009 01:47:00 479081 Link 0 |
lads just a question here...do any of ye know the name of the only connaught footballer with 4 all ireland senior football medals,and ill give a hint he didnt play for london..first person wit rite answer will get prise.. handrelief (Westmeath) - Posts: 31 - 09/11/2009 19:10:48 479644 Link 0 |
Mattie McDonagh (Galway): 1956,1964,1965 &1 966 MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 09/11/2009 23:50:54 479924 Link 0 |
iarmhi4life (Westmeath) - Posts: 4 - 10/11/2009 01:07:35 479958 Link 0 |
Has to be the Chick Mahon without doubt. Gombo in a close 2nd. Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 835 - 10/11/2009 14:07:17 480278 Link 0 |
jobber mcgrath was the best - in the Pele _ Maradone mould. The other names mentioned are GOOD - but in the next tier ... Platini, Zidane Kaka range. jfd (Westmeath) - Posts: 256 - 10/11/2009 18:45:06 480527 Link 0 |
Leo Smith, even though I hear he's about to rejoin Galway. Anyone know if thats definite? KilrushShamrock (Clare) - Posts: 75 - 26/11/2009 00:11:25 494408 Link 0 |
its just a rumour as far as i know but id say john mcintyre is keeping a close eye on him. LovelyCounty (Leitrim) - Posts: 69 - 26/11/2009 23:31:28 495660 Link 0 |
kilrush your knowledge of hurling up this way is obviously fairly limited. leo smith played 5 r 6 times for westmeath and all of a sudden hes the greatest. hes a good hurler and a good worker. if he got the chance to play for galway he would jump at it but i doubt if he will get called onto the panal. his brother andy was wing forward for galway this year. he qualifies to play for westmeath because he works in athlone. overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 26/11/2009 23:51:20 495696 Link 0 |
There is no doubt about the answer on this one. "Jobber" McGrath was not only the greatest Westmeath hurler ever but one of the best in the country. I had the great pleasure of seeing him play in Cusack Park when I was very young and he really was something special. It was rumoured at the peak of his playing days that the top teams in the country wanted him to go to them. As far as I can recall he played with Ringtown. thirty1 (Dublin) - Posts: 161 - 27/11/2009 14:55:24 496084 Link 0 |
RE: thirty1 overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 27/11/2009 15:18:30 496121 Link 0 |
KEVIN JORDAN WHO PLAYED WITH SOUTHERN GAELS - I THINK HE EVEN HAD TO LINE OUT THIS YEAR AT 52 YEARS OF AGE, WAS A FINE HURLER UP THERE. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 28/11/2009 18:11:50 496987 Link 0 |