Hurling development- Carlows options?

Here here Carlowman.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1847 - 03/11/2009 00:11:27    473611

The Westmeath champions are in the senior competition because Clonkill won the All Ireland Intermediate Club Championship 2 years ago. That is the sole reason that they are there. Not sure why Carlow were relegated to intermediate but they are and moral victorys like they only lost to the Kilkenny Intermediate champions by 2 points ( you left aout the point that the Kilkenny Inter champs were beaten by Meath Champs in the final - does that make Meath stronger than Kilkenny & Carlow) and they only lost to Ballyhale by 5 aren't a good ewnough reason to say you should be at the senior grade. If ye want ye're clubs to play at senior level win the intermediate club championship - plain and simple.

Listening to the Rangers people they already have Leinster won this year before they even play a game in the competition so that means they only have 2 games left. Should be easy enough for them.

solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 03/11/2009 08:40:32    473658

your in the intermediate because the stanard is tripe i know the truth is a terribly thing to swallow but facts are facts all you win are donkey derbies

bowsey (Carlow) - Posts: 102 - 03/11/2009 09:35:25    473693

old yellar at least he didnt defect to another county

bowsey (Carlow) - Posts: 102 - 03/11/2009 09:38:47    473696

just to clarify my initial point about dual players, i meant picking one county squad to play with not give one code up completly.. As for mlr/inter or senior champ, that just one point.. Best of luck to them.. So keep the development ideas coming..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 03/11/2009 09:52:10    473704

Solo,

Are you a Kilkenny Man. If so stick to your own site. Dont be coming on this one making accusations. Mount Leinster Rangers are a honest, decent, modest bunch of players & one thing is for sure they are not cocky & they def dont think they have Leinster won already. if people atre writen things about Rangers on this site it is not Rangers people. I wish rangers all the best on Sunday & i will be there supporting them, even though im not a Rangers person but i am a Carlow man & they always followed teams from carlow in Large numbers when other clubs were winning. They are the Top Team in Carlow now but talking to there county players no matter how hard you try to get it out of them they will not admit it, WHY because there modest & have there feet firmly on the ground thats why they are where they are. Best of Luck Rangers, we are all with you.

Order (Carlow) - Posts: 36 - 03/11/2009 11:11:45    473776

Yes I am from Kilkenny and not too far from Borris. I hear the talk and while none of the Rangers fans on here might be talking about it, there is talk around there that they are going to walk a Leinster Championship. Pride comes before a fall.

solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 03/11/2009 12:06:54    473823

B is for boring and B is for Bowsey. Didnt like going to school in Carlow or something like that, bears a cross for it still. He never posts on the Laois page by the way!

getonwithit (Carlow) - Posts: 527 - 03/11/2009 12:42:55    473865

move on bowsey, move on.. i remarked that ye didnt care about one of yours and indeed irelands finest hurlers in the last 10 years, nothing disparaging or a slag. when we get a good player we appreciate them, might put us out when we loose him, but at least we ve got passion and respect.. maybe thats whats lacking up there in laois. a lot of anger and no direction on the hurling front.. course if he was from arles there would be 50 posts about him, either slating him or defending him.. its a pity there is so many people like you in the gaa up there, negating the good work that the likes of tony ryan does up there. why do i waste my time replying to you, well, its not out of anger but pity.. i love gaa, i love my county, and i respect it in all counties. i get such a kick from it, you well i think your my opposite. why do ya bother at all with it...

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 03/11/2009 13:53:34    473951

Solo your talking tripe... I totally agree with orders comments! I live around the Rangers area and can guarantee that there isnt an ounce of cockiness in the camp. They are looking forward to Sunday but they are very weary of what they'll face in Celbridge. They have a very grounded bunch and never take anything for granted. Carlow and Kildare have had massive battles in the christy ring in the past couple of years and a lot of the Mlr team have been involved in them so they are prepared for a huge challenge. I wonder are you a Blacks and Whites man solo???????? keep to the kk forum either way. Anyway best of luck to both MLR and Rathvilly on Sunday...Hope we are talking here next week about victories!!

Dualclub1 (Carlow) - Posts: 286 - 03/11/2009 14:12:06    473971

ah poor getonwithit did i upset you ah thats terrible i didnt go to school in carlow i got a good education poor you i nearly feel sorry for you

bowsey (Carlow) - Posts: 102 - 03/11/2009 14:25:05    473985

Solo,

your Probably a Black & Whites man so that explains all.

Order (Carlow) - Posts: 36 - 03/11/2009 14:25:41    473987

Bowsey is a Laois type.. most likely unemployed like most of his county.. what's the only place is Laois that gets bigger crowds than O'Moore Park? The Dole office in Portlaoise. ;)

Anyway, Bow-Bow, you have failed to grasp the irony that if MLR do win the Leinster, the Laois champions will drop to IHC next year as they are next in line. Also, you would be ranked 11/12th in the Liam McCarthy and Antrim have one more year of guarantee, so if Carlow stay up, you will be heading down.

The only positive thing in Laois right now is that Portlaoise are to their football what Eire Og were to Carlow in the 90's and might win Leinster. That said, Eire Og won 5 Leinsters (count 'em) and where did it get our county team? Being dominated by one club is not good for county level teams.

TAFKANO1FAN (Carlow) - Posts: 588 - 03/11/2009 14:44:53    474007

Def not a Blacks and Whites man but I have to laugh at your comments about the Rangers not being cocky. Most Carlow popele will tell you that they are too.

solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 03/11/2009 15:22:50    474059

Solo,

As The Saying Goes if You Dont Know Them Dont Judge Them. Go Back To Black & Whites try & Win The Junior Leinster. Then there will be 5 Leinster Medals in Carlow. After All the 2 Maloneys live in St Mullins all there life & the 3 Whelans live in Ballymurphy all there life. Pity ye could not win it on your own ye had to poach players from Carlow.....................................

Order (Carlow) - Posts: 36 - 03/11/2009 15:35:06    474080

We are not sure of winning Leinster down in Borris. We are looking forward to the challenge though. What you have to remember is that these lads have lost 3 county finals aswell as winning three so they wont take anything for granted. These guys what ever you might think of them are a fantastic bunch of lads who have committed huge time and energy to both club and county over the past number of years. I wish them and Rathvilly the best of luck at the weekend.

I think we should move on from bowsey who has nothing to contribute to this forum or GAA in general.

aragorn1 (Carlow) - Posts: 156 - 03/11/2009 16:17:34    474119

i think when u ve trained over 125 times this year, lost only 2 or 3 matches all year in all competitions against a variety of teams at various grades and from different counties, u get confident and u getting that winning habit and feeling. I think thats what mlr have. I ve spoken to a few of them lately, and the have great confidence and believe that the are as good as whats in other counties. Maybe thats what a lot of our champions lacked before, eire og aside. The no longer want to win carlow and drink and be great lads and then go out a wk later for a hiding. The want to raise it up a level. We need to no longer accept that its good enough to compete, that we have to win.. Best of luck to them. And may i also say the same to blacks and whites. I know a few of them and the a good club..
Also i see westmeath have a senior colleges team in senior a this year, down to hurl birr this week..
On a seperate note, i dont condone any of that stupid slagging about dole queues in laois. Thats for the pub, not a gaa forum.. Keep it country.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 03/11/2009 16:22:33    474127

Old Yellar you are the only one one here that is speaking any sense. Winning does bring confidence but there is a fine line between confidence and over confidence. While others are on here talking of moral victorys its is right that every team not just Carlow one should aspire to win games and not be happy that they put in a good performance and be beaten.

As for all the B&W jibes, like I said I'm not from there, don't know anything about them other than what I see of them playing or where their players live so jibes like that aren't going to rise me. I hope they win their Leinster and AI championships the same way as I do Freshford and the Shamrocks.

PS Order, that is some stupid statement to make about KK teams needing outside players to win championships. Says a lot about your worth in posting here

solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 03/11/2009 16:51:53    474169

solo, i see what ye lads wrote bout kk, mlr, and b/w's etc. I dont get involved in slagging off '' oh the wudnt win that unless they got them'' type of stuff. I know the maloneys were from carlow, boo hoo, we lost them. We ve moved on, well i have! Sur we got a few imports that have driven our clubs and county scene on no end. Take eoin garvey from clare as a prime example and the work he s done in carlow. So i wish them lads well. I rem michael in the dj carey as a 14 year old. A very good chap. Fairplay to him when he moved that he applied himself to his new club and county. At least them lads didnt move for money etc.. Its not a slagging thread i started, so as an outsider with a bit of inside knowledge, have you any good ideas for us?? And before u say, move to paulstown...!

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 03/11/2009 17:09:04    474208

I think ye are well on ye're way to developing. Ye're county team has achieved a lot but its all about developingnext year. I reckon ye're guys should be targetting at least 2 wins and like you said not settle for moral victorys. Moral victorys are for losers and if you're happy to settle for them you'll always be losers. Its important to have as many competitive clubs as possible so the Championship doesn't become a one horse race although Ballyhale are doing this in KK at the moment.
I also think that Carlow teams entering junior and junior A competitions is a waste of time especially entering the Junior A. I think Carlow clubs should put more emphasis on the Leinster leagues than these and try and play at higher levels.
I would also suggest trying to get your minor teams into the KK minor leagues as some of the Laois teams do. Its underage that development needs to take place. Its too late at senior level

solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 03/11/2009 17:19:41    474216