I was in liverpool last sunday for the match and i was asked a question , "What rare record do frank lampard and vladimar smicer hold" ? i was on the right track but my answer was wrong .. give it a go and see if yous get it :)
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 29/10/2009 20:28:34
Would it be for eating more pies than any other two ?
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/10/2009 21:25:13
Who?
RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 29/10/2009 21:50:55
no cant say thats why Cava Slasher :)
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 29/10/2009 21:53:41
They've both scored in the Champions League Final,Lampard vs ManUtd in 2008 & Smicer vs Ac Milan in 2005.........can't see why this would be a rare record though but worth a shot nonetheless
Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 30/10/2009 03:43:06
They both scored 2 goals over 2 days in a European Final. The games went to extra time and went past midnight (local time of the venue) and therefore scored on two different days.
KerryLondoner (Kerry) - Posts: 41 - 30/10/2009 09:05:49
ram85 smicer won a champions league medal with the pool. scored a cracker in the best game of soccer in a long time,for the best team in europe that year. he has the same amount of champions league medals as paul scholes, only the media never played him up as much as they do scholes
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 30/10/2009 10:26:34
Thanks for clearing that up Rhodejim. By the way Liverpool weren't even the best team in Liverpool that year. And Paul Scholes can hardly be held accountable for what journalists do.
RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 30/10/2009 11:18:07
Rhodejim County: Offaly Posts: 1260
470570 ram85 smicer won a champions league medal with the pool. scored a cracker in the best game of soccer in a long time,for the best team in europe that year. he has the same amount of champions league medals as paul scholes, only the media never played him up as much as they do scholes
And the Liverpool fans booed him when he came on in that final. He scored a good goal and was such a great player for Liverpool, his contract wasn't renewed and he left the club a few days later.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 30/10/2009 11:48:58
oh yea, and he's one more champions league medal than roy keane
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 30/10/2009 11:49:43
Rhodejim
Who did Smicer win his second medal with? Scholes has medals from '99 and '08. If you want to play "show us your medals" then try comparing Steven Gerrard to John O'Shea, equally as pointless.
As for the media playing up Scholes, here's just a sample of the people who disagree with you, but I'm sure you know much more about soccer than them. Try not to let hatred of a club cloud your judgement of a truly great player, it's just being petty.
Alan Shearer : "If you ask footballers to pick out the player they most admire, so many of them will pick Paul Scholes. His passing and shooting is of the highest level. He's the most consistent and naturally gifted player we've had for a long, long time."
Eidur Gudjohnsen : "I'm more an admirer of Paul Scholes than I am of Ronaldo. Ronaldo is a fantastic player, but he has 10 other great players around him every week...Scholes is one of the most complete footballers I've ever seen. His one-touch play is phenomenal. Whenever I have played against him, I never felt I could get close to him."
Edgar Davids : ""Every one of us (midfielders) is just trying to become as good as him. Everyone can learn from Paul Scholes." ; "I'm not the best, Paul Scholes is."
Cesc Fabregas : "He is the one whose level I aspire to. He is the best player in the Premier League."
Patrick Vieira : "The player in the Premiership I admire most? Easy - Scholes."
Thierry Henry : "I can't understand why Scholes has never won the player of the year award. He should have won it long ago. Maybe it's because he doesn't seek the limelight like some of the other 'stars'."
Zinedine Zidane : "My toughest opponent? Scholes of Manchester. He is the complete midfielder." ; "Scholes is undoubtedly the best midfielder of his generation."
Marcello Lippi : "Paul Scholes would have been one of my first choices for putting together a great team - that goes to show how highly I have always rated him. Scholes is a player I have always liked, because he combines great talent and technical ability with mobility, determination and a superb shot. He is an all-round midfielder who possesses character and quality in abundance. In my opinion, he's been one of the most important players for United under Sir Alex."
Gordon Strachan : "Paul Scholes has been the best England midfield player for 30-odd years. You'd probably have to go back to Bobby Charlton to find someone who could do as much as Scholes. When the ball arrives at his feet he could tell you where every player on that pitch is at that moment. His awareness is superb."
Veron while at Chelsea being asked in an interview who's the best english player : "Paul Scholes."
Peter Schmeichel : "People say he is a great player, but you have to define what a great player is, For me, it is a player who has a bottom level that means his worst performance is not noticed. If he is having a bad game, a team-mate might feel Paul Scholes is not quite on his game, but a spectator wouldn't notice. Scholes, of all the players I have played with, has the highest bottom level. His reading of the game is unsurpassed. He has an eye for a pass, for what the play or the game needs at that precise moment, that I have never seen anyone else have. He controls and distributes the play and the game better than anyone I have ever seen."
Laurent Blanc : "Scholes is the best English player. Intelligence, technique, strength... all the attributes are there. At Manchester United I saw what he could do on the training field. Phew!"
David Beckham said that, among his teammates at Real Madrid, which included Zinedine Zidane, Raúl, Ronaldo, Luís Figo and Roberto Carlos, Scholes was the most admired opponent : "He's always one of those people others talk about. Even playing at Real Madrid, the players always say to me 'what's he like'? They respect him as a footballer, and to have that respect from some of those players is great."
black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 30/10/2009 11:53:53
Rhodejim County: Offaly Posts: 1262
How are you working that out?
Champions League Medals: Paul Scholes - 2 Roy Keane - 1 Vladimir Smicer - 1
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 30/10/2009 11:57:30
Rhodejim County: Offaly Posts: 1263
470650 oh yea, and he's one more champions league medal than roy keane
Again, where did he win his second medal. Or did he acclimatise to Liverpool so much that he stole one somewhere?
Keane and Scholes both have medals from 1999. Teams name a 25-man squad for the Champion's League, and every player in the winning team's squad get a medal, regardless of whether they play in the final or not. I would have thought somebody as knowledgable as you think yourself to be would have known that
black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 30/10/2009 12:05:52
And my favourite quote about Paul Scholes ever:
Sir Alex Ferguson was giving a character reference in court on behalf of one of his former trainees and as the prosecution barrister's listed out United's top players, he interupted her: "You've missed Paul Scholes - and he is my best player."
black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 30/10/2009 12:10:40
I know that this thread has gone slightly 'off message', however as a football fan foremost and Liverpool fan second, Scholes is the one Utd player I would love to have seen in a Liverpool shirt. Not just for his untiring work on the field, but for his attitude off it, no prima donna, no assaulting girls in niteclubs, no sarong wearing, celebrity wannabes, he's THE model pro in my eyes. Is it true that he doesnt use an agent and negotiates his own deals with the club?
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/10/2009 12:40:24
Scholes also has irish connections, his grand parents are from the finnvalley area in Donegal
MegaPampers (Donegal) - Posts: 121 - 30/10/2009 12:44:24
well why dont ye all go out and marry him so.....? one bad comment on him and ye all come out of the woodwork,why dont ye always be praising him? if ye want to count '99 go on ahead but real sports people dont count such token medals.
every time a free was given to liverpool or united at the weekend himself rooney and ferdinand were in the referees ear. paul scholes has shown time and time again that when the pressure comes on he gets dirty, just like gary "im finished" Neville, who should get an 8 match ban for his tackle against barnsly.
id love to hear what patrique has to say on this matter...
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 30/10/2009 13:01:16
Heads to heads
Manchester U wins draws Liverpool wins League 58 43 52 FA Cup 8 4 3 League Cup 1 0 3 Other 1 3 2 Total 68 50 60
RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 30/10/2009 13:08:55
Is it true that he doesnt use an agent and negotiates his own deals with the club?
Apparantly so. He negotiates the terms of the deals himself, and just gets a solicitor to review to final contract prior to signing.
He's out of contract at the end of this season, and has previously stated that he intends to retire in 2010. There is a rumour doing the rounds that his contract will be allowed to expire, and he will sign for Oldham (the club he supported in his youth) for one more season before retiring.
black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 30/10/2009 13:10:04
Do you really think Keane didn't earn his medal in 1999? He missed the final, but his performance in Turin a four weeks earlier was the reason that the team was in the final.
You're normally a sensible poster on here, I'm not sure if you're just trying to be a WUM, or if you're really as bitter as you're trying to sound.
I take it you agree that John O'Shea must be a better player than Stephen Gerrard. They both have one Champion's League medal each, but O'Shea has a few league medals as well. By your own logic O'Shea must be better than Stevie Me
black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 30/10/2009 13:16:05