Mattock Rangers v Portlaoise

Those of you who wanted to put a few pound together for christmas must be fairly sickened! What happened? There is no way portlaoise are so good as to wup your ass's by that much. I wasn there many wides?

Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 26/10/2009 09:10:08    466281

Mattock Rangers were nothing short of a disgrace yesterday. For that result to go out nation wide, what kind of message does it send out to the country. i was in shock when i heard the result yesterday, i still cant believe it. a junior team would have faired better, absolute disgrace

Joe_Don (Louth) - Posts: 247 - 26/10/2009 11:18:41    466354

god love ye fitzer louth football hits all time low yesterday in gaa grounds what a year beaten at home by tipp in championship and best team in county embarrasses us even further we are now officially bottom of the pile with carlow london waterford etc but maybe its a good time to take over as expectations are at an all time low and the only way from here is up

auldson (Louth) - Posts: 143 - 26/10/2009 11:21:51    466357

sure its not a fair reflection on mattock with so many of their players that make them tick out

boss (None) - Posts: 88 - 26/10/2009 11:22:51    466358

Aulson , granted Louth club football is not of a great standard, but IMO Mattock were representing themselves yesterday,
nothing to do with An Lu except for maybe the 1 or 2 players they contribute to the county team who are substandard also.
Until we compress the 40 or so clubs we have in Louth to create a smaller more competitive Championship/League, and start
putting more effort into coaching in schools, we will always be stuck in the 1950's.

LovelyBall (Louth) - Posts: 352 - 26/10/2009 11:51:00    466378

disagree lovelyball mattock were representing louth yesterday as well as there club they are offically our best team got walloped by twenty odd points by a hung over laois team

auldson (Louth) - Posts: 143 - 26/10/2009 15:01:05    466520

Lads,lads most of you didn't even go to the game and says enough for me.

First of all they had a serious strong wind in the first half which died in the second.

We took the pitch without three top players, Mark Brennan who is one of the best players in the county, Adrain reid who was my man of the match in the final and Daire Englishby who left White only scoring two from play in the final. Donal Geraghty was also sick, Then we had three guys just back from Holidays.
We are only a small club with a limited pick and we are one of the most successful clubs in Ireland considering what we have to pick from in a 1 mile radius of Collon

Bad day at the office and we are not in a graveyard, we will get out of it !

They are some team in saying all of this and could go on and win it out.

Last year the blues could of beaten a team that won the All-Ireland, so Louth football is not that bad.
We have also got to semi and final in previous years !

MR (Louth) - Posts: 2570 - 26/10/2009 17:45:04    466661

1) I WAS AT GAME
2) HOW THE HELL CAN YOU MAKE EXCUSES AFTER BEING BEATEN BY TWENTY ODD POINTS
3)THE FIRST PART OF FIXING ANY PROBLEM IS ADMITTING YOU HAVE A PROBLEM AND BOY DO WE HAVE ONE .SORRY IF I CAME ACCROSS AS COLLON BASHING I WASNT I FEEL IT COULD HAVE BEEN ANY OF OUR TOP SIDES YESTERDAY AND RESULT WOULD HAVE BEEN THE SAME.ITS JUST A TRUE REFLECTION ON HOW LOW OUR STANDARDS HAVE DROPPED.

auldson (Louth) - Posts: 143 - 26/10/2009 18:27:31    466687

"we are one of the most successful clubs in Ireland" please tell me that you are having a laugh when you say this MR because if you are serious then I have to say that any respect I had for you is gone.Furthermore when a team like mattock who have such a small area to pick from can win three Louth senior football titles in the last decade then that IMO has to be seriously detrimental for the inter-county picture.

BartleDoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 389 - 26/10/2009 20:27:11    466765

BartleDoo- I suggest you go back to your own county and look to see how you can win an Ulster, we Louth people will discuss our own County.

I spoke the facts about the game and Mattock.

Fitzer I beleive was about number 10 on their list, no one would take the Job but I will go along and support him and they team !

MR (Louth) - Posts: 2570 - 26/10/2009 21:31:58    466847

I am sickened at the lack of pride Mattock showed in their county.
Have a laugh lads sure didn't you win Louth and sure isn't that enough.
You were DEFINITELY out there representing your county. There's no two ways about it.
Gone right down in my estimations. Sickened, sickened, sickened.

People rant about junior football in this county but at least Mochtas showed pride in the place they come from, the people and parish they represent and pride in the county they represent.

Benjani (Louth) - Posts: 49 - 26/10/2009 21:33:11    466848

Simply not good enough, Louth football going backwards

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 26/10/2009 21:43:58    466861

Sorry MR,

You are representing Louth.
Also you have a huge area to pick from, nearest clubs in louth to you are, Hunterstown, Glen Emmetts at Inter & Junior level so no competition there, collon village granted is a small village but you have a nimber of townlands around there to pick from. Country teams always had bigger squads than town teams. Leinster club /ship obviously not taken serious this year as compared to other years when you did very well in Leinster, no excuse for lads on hols if you are county champions you should have enough strength in depth to cover all positions, if Brennan is so good why is he not playing with Louth?

I'm afraid this is clear reflection on the state of Louth football. No county champions should be beaten by that score & for you to come on here and insult the rest of us by blaming players on hols & 1 player being sick is a joke

Also well done to the Mochs fair play. No fuss made by there win

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1615 - 27/10/2009 10:21:36    467090

MR, you will have to excuse my complete lack of knowledge regarding the successes of the mattock rangers gaa club. so would you please kindly identify the clubs roll of honor both at local and national level which makes them "one of the most successful clubs in Ireland" as this is an area that I am very interested in.

I have always took a keen interest in Louth football and would dearly love to see Louth do well. Louth on their day can be formidable opponents for any county but unfortunately those days are few and far between. By the way I think Louth made a mistake getting rid of Eamonn McEneaney the way they did and at the time they did. I also think the new manager will not be getting adequate funds to do what needs doing with the counties senior panel this imo cannot be the way to go if you expect your county to make any sort of progress.

BartleDoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 389 - 27/10/2009 11:13:30    467139

LOOK THE SIMPLE FACT IS THAT THERE IS TOO MANY CLUBS IN LOUTH. IM NOT SUPRISED BY THE DEFEAT. TAKE FOR INSTANCE, PORTLAOISE,ITS THE BIGGEST TOWN IN LAOIS, AND THEY HAVE 1 CLUB. NOW TAKE DROGHEDA OR DUNDALK, THEY HAVE ABOUT TEN TEAMS IN EACH TOWN RESPECTIVELY.

LOUTH CLUBS HAVE NEVER PUT IT UP TO TEAMS IN LENISTER CAUSE OF THE TALENT OF THE COMPETIITION. PORTLAOISE DESTROYED ST PATS COUPLE OF YEARS AGO ALSO. IS A PITY LOUTH CLUBS ARE NOT COMBINED, NO NEED FOR SO MANY CLUBS. IM COUNTING HERE NOW HOW MANY CLUBS ARE IN DLK. I HAVE DOWDALLS HILL,CLAN NA GAEL, DLK GAELS, DLK YI,NA PHRAISAIGH,SEANS,GERADLINES. AM I MISSING ANY

TAKE THE COLLON AREA ST, MARYS, HUNTERSTOWN, ST KEVINS, LANNLEIRE,TULLYALLEN,. I DONT SEE WHY ST KEVINS DONT COMBINE WITH LANNLEIRE, ST MARYS WITH HUNTERSTOWN AND SO ON. MAYBE THEN LOUTH CLUBS COULD MAKE STRIDES IN LEINSTER.

damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 27/10/2009 11:31:39    467150

Bad day at the office for Mattock. Was at the game and Portlaoise came firing out of the blocks. Mattock have not played a team as good as this in a long while. It certainly didnt suit their style and setup. Great running off the ball by Portlaoise and nearly all their play was directed straight at the Mattock goal. Saw similarities with the Louth game against Laois in the Leinster championship, At times there were 4 PL players running forward (halfbacks and midfield) supporting the man in possession...pure class to watch. I'm sorry to say Mattock were nowhere in sight during these moves just like the Louth Team. To think that they were almost beated by Arles-Kilcruise in the Laois County Final getting a late penalty shows the quality out there. We need to introduce more pace and weight training in Louth as well as clear coaching techniques to play anywhere near this standard. The way attacking PL players held off their MR men with one hand was a sight to be seen.
It should be known that this Portlaise team are potentially the best club team in Ireland at the moment in my opinion and should win the whole thing. Mattock will learn from this and so should the rest of us. Peter McGrath will need all our help in picking next years Louth team. Only 2 potential on display from MR today I'd say.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 754 - 27/10/2009 11:55:01    467177

What do you mean by Peter Mc Grath will need all our help in picking next years Louth team?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6183 - 27/10/2009 13:33:59    467309

Meant Fitzpatrick...Freudian slip me thinks.....!!

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 754 - 27/10/2009 14:04:40    467349

Peter McGrath will need all our help in picking next years Louth team. Only 2 potential on display from MR today I'd say.

Have we sacked Fitzer already?!

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 27/10/2009 14:05:16    467351

MR, Bartledoo is in his own county, I think you'll find he comes on here quite regularly as "Squidword". This is just his other alias to stir the you know what!!

SmallBoy (Louth) - Posts: 297 - 27/10/2009 14:06:42    467354