Me great grandad used to be from east Belfast,he used to work in H & W,built the ship's for the brits,needless to say he got sense and met me great granny who was from Carlow Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 10/11/2009 22:21:43 480660 Link 0 |
Duffy89 tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 10/11/2009 22:38:57 480672 Link 0 |
Auldfella tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 10/11/2009 22:43:52 480678 Link 0 |
tomaoo7 paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/11/2009 22:51:27 480686 Link 0 |
tomaoo7 Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 10/11/2009 23:02:25 480694 Link 0 |
10/11/2009 22:38:57 Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 10/11/2009 23:37:30 480733 Link 0 |
Auldfella, did have relatives that died in both world wars, also had 2 family members murdered by the british army (SAS). I respect anyone wishing to honour a minutes silence for the war dead, but the ramifications for the minutes silence have been hijacked in the north of this country and in the west of Scotland. Trust me,coming from a town like Portadown, we learn these things from an early age!! sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 11/11/2009 11:42:32 480967 Link 0 |
I had a grandfather shot and injured in Flanders and a granduncle killed there. Four years later the said grandfathers son fought with Tom Barry's Flying Column in West Cork. My grandfather was a gentle soul, even as a very small boy I can remember giving out to him about fighting for the British Army. He just used to laugh at me and said they were told that if they enlisted then Ireland would be granted Independence after the War. I have fond memories of my grandfather and say a prayer for him every night. I'm neither proud nor ashamed that my Grandfather fought in Flanders, its a decision he made at that time of his life. I grew up as a Republican and all my sympathies lie in that direction. For the most part we are all products of the environment we are born into and the early adult influences that shape our minds. I have no problem whatever with British people commemorating their dead from the Wars, in fact I think its very admirable that they put such effort into it. I do object to the element of compulsion involved in bringing it into sporting arenas. For me I could never wear the poppy, but I am proud to wear the Easter Lily. I very much support the present Peace Process and agree that we have to build bridges with those of another persuasion. However for me that does not mean mixing Green and Orange until we are all a shade of pale yellow. Let the Orangeman continue to be what he is and let me be what I am but let us agree to live in peace. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/11/2009 12:29:16 481016 Link 0 |
Great post corkcelt. Agree with you totally. Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 11/11/2009 12:42:56 481031 Link 0 |
corkcelt,in what part of Flanders is your granduncle buried? I would be very much a republican too but can fully sympathise with the young men of the day.Remember for centuries Irish men and often ones with young families joined the British army to obtain a living.Also at the start of the First World War there was a significant effort by parts of the Catholic Church to get men to sign up,Catholic Belgium had to be protected and the PR of the day had Belgium children bayonetted by the Dastardly Hun. Anyway three years back I spent a weekend in Ypres,the largest town in Flanders searching for the grave of my own granduncle.Easy to find and amazingly out of circa 130 burial plots in this graveyard were those of the great Irish poet Francis Ledwidge and the equally famous Welsh poet Hedd Wyn,who could not speak a word of English.There is a campaign to get Ledwidge included amongst the War Poets,a place he richly deserves. An interesting point about Francis Ledwidge is that prior to joining up he acted as secretary of his local Slane GAA club in Meath. Yes this Poppy thing has been hijacked of late but estimates reckon that some 30,000 who volunteered here and another 30,000 Irish born who joined up across the water lie in the Green Fields of France and southern Belgium. A very much hidden part of our recent history and one that is starting to surface. Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 11/11/2009 13:21:06 481072 Link 0 |
link bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 11/11/2009 13:29:13 481076 Link 0 |
sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 11/11/2009 14:53:29 481162 Link 0 |
Auldfella, I don't know where he is buried and it never occurred to me to try and find out. Now that you posed the question it has aroused a certain interest and I might start doing a bit of investigating. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/11/2009 16:32:15 481275 Link 0 |
bad.monkey Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 11/11/2009 17:46:45 481364 Link 0 |
yes i would support an irish team over a scottish team or any other british team bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 11/11/2009 17:54:44 481377 Link 0 |
corkcelt dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 11/11/2009 17:56:53 481381 Link 0 |
bad.monkey County: USA Posts: 1719 481377 yes i would support an irish team over a scottish team or any other british team Yeah, me too. What about Cork vs London in hurling? Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 11/11/2009 18:07:12 481396 Link 0 |
11/11/2009 17:56:53 Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 11/11/2009 18:10:28 481401 Link 0 |
World War I Victoria Cross Recipient. A native of Rathdowney, Queen's County, Ireland, Moyney was from a large and poor family, and he left school early to find work on a local farm. There are conflicting stories about why he enlisted: Moyney claimed later it was patriotic feelings stirred by a recruiting poster, but a letter in his army file from an officer of the Royal Irish Constabulary states that it was because he was trying to avoid the consequences of seducing a local girl in Rathdowney. At any rate, though his training record gave no indication of his potential for heroism, he showed his mettle once being posted to active duty. His commander in Company 3, 2nd Battalion of the Irish Guards, regarded him as one of his most dependable NCOs. Moyney was awarded the VC for action at a position called Ney Copse, east of a stream called the Broembeek, during the Third Battle of Ypres (Passchendaele), September 13-16, 1917. From his citation: "For most conspicuous bravery when in command of fifteen men forming two advanced posts. In spite of being surrounded by the enemy he held his post for ninety-six hours, having no water and little food. On the morning of the fifth day a large force of the enemy advanced to dislodge him. He ordered his men out of their shell-holes and, taking the initiative, attacked with great effect from a flank. Finding himself surrounded by superior numbers, he led back his men in a charge through the enemy, and reached a stream which lay between the posts and the line. Here he instructed his party to cross at once whilst he and Pte. Woodcock remained to cover their retirement. When the whole of his force had gained the south-west bank unscathed he himself crossed under a shower of bombs. It was due to the endurance, skill and devotion to duty shown by the Non-Commissioned Officer that he was able to bring his entire force safely out of action." Private Thomas Woodcock was also awarded the VC, making it one of the times in the history of the VC that two men from the same unit had been awarded the VC for the same action. Unfortunately Moyney's post-war was anything but glorious; his service file is filled with complaints and appeals for funds. His job as a railway porter was not enough to support a large family, and apparently he was not a very good manager of what money he did have. He retired in 1960 after 40 years working for the railways, and passed away at his home in Roscrea, County Tipperary, at the age of 85. His medals are on display at the Irish Guards RHQ, Wellington Barracks, London. dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 11/11/2009 18:16:09 481408 Link 0 |
bad.monkey, I am humbled by your patriotism. Its heartening to know that you are prepared to forsake the symbols of your Club i.e. The Union Jack and Loyalist Flags and re-embrace the Irish tricolour. As for me, I don't deal in hypothetical situations, the scenario which you talk about will not happen. In any event I never deserted the Irish Flag in the first place and I never will. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/11/2009 18:34:13 481429 Link 0 |