Rangers...

corkcelt i have several times admitted that rangers have a problem with sectarianism and have condemned it. Its a shame celtic fans refuse to do the same and perhaps the problem could be addressed.

I notice that you didnt comment on the photos I linked showing a three year old child who was hit by a brick by a celtic fan while his family was attacked and also pictures of celtic fans ripping seats in the city of manchester stadium. Best to keep your head in the sand eh? oh course celtic fans are perfect....

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 09/11/2009 10:14:38    479149

dhorse
County: Laois

477670 finglas full ba

can you tell me why they never take lads from the south on trail?

Because they're not scout leaders?????

Brilliant.

johnnos bulls (None) - Posts: 527 - 09/11/2009 10:40:31    479180

Not at all bad.monkey I well know that we have a number of thugs on our side as well and indeed I have had a few run ins with a few of them over the years. It is an absolute impossibility to have 60,000 supporters without having a few hundred morons thrown in. I do genuinely believe though that the problem is much more evident on the blue side. The reason you and I cross swords is that I firmly believe that you are not a Rangers fan and are only adopting this position to wind people up. I have no problem whatever with decent Rangers fans.I am quite friendly with a few and there is one particular bar Manager in Glasgow that I regularly drop in to for a chat and a slagging session whenever I go over. He is as sound a guy as you could meet and he is Rangers through and through. Despite what you may think of me through my posts, I am a very responsible guy. I am a member of the AICSC and have been responsible for organising trips and bringing dozens of kids and teenagers over for matches. Believe me if you and 3 other adults have to keep 20 teenagers in line on a weekend in Glasgow you would need to be on your toes. Anyhow at the moment I am so depressed about the alarming drop in standard of Football and the total rubbish we are watching at present, I'm happy to give all this tit for tat stuff a rest for a few weeks. No doubt we will revisit the issue some time in the future.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 09/11/2009 10:52:04    479193

I was heading home for the Stranraer to Belfast boat yesterday and tuned into the celtic V Falkirk game on the radio. It was unfortunate that those outside the ground chose to use the Aidan McAnespie song, about the young Tyrone footballer murdered by the security forces, to voice their disapproval at a minutes silence in memory of young Scots who died for what they believed to be right. I don't see the connection being made by soccer fans who probably by and large have never seen a gaelic pitch.

I was also deeply disturbed about the Man city incidents. There is a small and vocal hard core of celtic followers who are mixing west of scotland sectarianism with support for dissident Irish republicanism. Not exactly a productive combination. Although not as large in number as the sectrian elements at Ibrox they are still there and causing huge embarresment to the irish community in Scotland. Having said that I would be no real fan either of the current celtic board or the fortysomething season ticket holders who appeared out of the woodwork, but never went near the club during the lean times.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 09/11/2009 13:32:29    479341

patrique-firstly no that was not me in the picture.regarding the negri incident i fully accept that is probably an urban myth,it sounds good though.
secondly,i worked with a lot of rangers fans on building sites and they all are of the opinion that the red at the knee of the sock is refering to the line from that song which 100% includes the words up to our knees in dirty fenian blood.fact.
and finally i take your answer for my third question was a joke.i would dearly love to know why rangers dont sign lads from the south.so if just for one second you could drop the patronising tone and answer me that.because i find their policy of not signing lads from the south very bigoted.
i look forward to your reply

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 09/11/2009 19:19:49    479653

corkcelt

479193 Not at all bad.monkey I well know that we have a number of thugs on our side as well and indeed I have had a few run ins with a few of them over the years. It is an absolute impossibility to have 60,000 supporters without having a few hundred morons thrown in.

Only because its accepted and expected.... a lot of sporting occasions take place with 60000 supporters and no moronic element

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/11/2009 19:49:35    479688

dhorse

479688 corkcelt

479193 Not at all bad.monkey I well know that we have a number of thugs on our side as well and indeed I have had a few run ins with a few of them over the years. It is an absolute impossibility to have 60,000 supporters without having a few hundred morons thrown in.

Only because its accepted and expected.... a lot of sporting occasions take place with 60000 supporters and no moronic element

where

Dublin09 (Dublin) - Posts: 433 - 09/11/2009 20:15:52    479714

the behaviour of the Celtic support at Falkirk today was impeccable. The Celtic fans inside the ground at kick off respected the minute's silence for Remembrance Sunday while those who don't agree with War celebrations and Britain's record in Ireland remained outside while the silence was observed. If this is not maturity I don't know what is?

more fairy stories from the celtic fans. Celtic fans booed and sang sectarian songs throughout the minutes silence. Here is it is -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sc5ZS3QRJ7Q

Sky announced today they had to mute out the fans singing and heckling

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 09/11/2009 20:22:51    479721

Dublin09

479714 dhorse

479688 corkcelt

where

rugby games in croke park this year, AFL in Australia. NFL in USA. etc etc. maybe soccer fans need to take responsibility and not accept loutish behaviour as normal

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/11/2009 20:35:31    479739

finglas full ba

and finally i take your answer for my third question was a joke.i would dearly love to know why rangers dont sign lads from the south.so if just for one second you could drop the patronising tone and answer me that.because i find their policy of not signing lads from the south very bigoted.
i look forward to your reply

I stand by what I said, there is no-one good enough. Not strictly true, Stephen Ireland and andy reid are two playersgood enough for Rangers but Rangers could not afford their wages.

I cannot think of another player from the south who would be good enough.

Oops, Given of course, but again wages are a factor, and he wasn't good enough in Scotland in the past so that counts against him.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 09/11/2009 20:44:58    479750

Another poorly researched offering from our good friend. There were roughly 600 Celtic fans at the game approx. 300 entered and participated in the Remembrance Day ceremony and remained totally silent during same. Of the 300 who excercised the right not to participate 260 or so did maintain a silence outside the stadium about 40 others foolishly in my opinion decided to sing a verse of the Aidan McAnaspie song. This of course provides ammunition for our detractors which is why I was annoyed at what they did. In the grand scheme of things singing a song outside the grounds whilst not a welcome development is hardly a hanging offence. Yes bad.monkey difficult as it is for you to understand there is a large element of the Celtic following from the 6 Counties who have no reason to feel kindly about the British Army and if they do not wish to participate in a Remembrance Day Celebration they are perfectly entitled to opt out.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 09/11/2009 20:52:32    479756

Jaysus dhorse no morons amongst a Rugby Crowd, none in the U.S. or Australia ya must be joking. I've attended quite a few Rugby Internationals. In the pubs before the game have you ever bumped into say a Welsh Club over for the match. I've heard them sing infantile filthy songs, Dinah and **** a Wallaby to name just 2. I've seen about 20 of them dropping their pants in unison in a pub in front of women and children etc. I'm not particularly picking on the Welsh but a lot of the behaviour of a certain type of Rugby Supporter can be loutish in the extreme.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 09/11/2009 21:05:21    479768

dhorse-impressive spelling my man

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 09/11/2009 21:08:32    479771

bad.monkey
County: USA

more fairy stories from the celtic fans. Celtic fans booed and sang sectarian songs throughout the minutes silence. Here is it is -

You are way out of line with this one bad monkey. In what way is the Aiden McAnespie song sectarian. Obviously, the chucky oor laaa boys sing it as it brings them attention and also embarreses corporate celtic. Sad to see a the tragic death of Aiden McAnespie being used by these half wits to score some kind of political point.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 09/11/2009 21:36:14    479795

patrique-im not just talking about the present crop of ireland players,what about taken kids from the schoolboy leauge and putting them in to the youth academy like ever other british club? i am not talking about them buying an established full international.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 09/11/2009 21:48:10    479800

The video is there for all to see...far more than 40 people singing

Corkcelt - of course they can opt out but that is very different from jeering and taunting a minutes silence. i understand that Irish celtic fans have a problem with the british army but to travel over to Scotland and jeer a minutes silence is deplorable. Insulting and jeering those who have lost family members is deplorable. You unreserved condemned those who taunted the family in portadown and yet make excuses for celtic fans doing the same thing to other families.

If british fans came over to Ireland and jeered a minutes silence for irish people killed id say you wouldnt be so apologetic. there is one rule for celtic fans and another for everyone else.

But of course celtic dont have a problem with sectarianism, no way...

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 09/11/2009 22:26:24    479826

corkcelt

479768 Jaysus dhorse no morons amongst a Rugby Crowd, none in the U.S. or Australia ya must be joking. I've attended quite a few Rugby Internationals. In the pubs before the game have you ever bumped into say a Welsh Club over for the match. I've heard them sing infantile filthy songs, Dinah and **** a Wallaby to name just 2. I've seen about 20 of them dropping their pants in unison in a pub in front of women and children etc. I'm not particularly picking on the Welsh but a lot of the behaviour of a certain type of Rugby Supporter can be loutish in the extreme.

Never been at rugby but have been to AFL, NFL rugby league and Baseball and saw some
Childish behaviour for sure, soccer fans also do all of the above, and then more.

If you think that singing Dinah and **** a wallaby is on a par what the Celtic and rangers crew get up to, then i'm afraid your in denial
why do they have to be segregated?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/11/2009 22:31:07    479829

finglas full ba

479771 dhorse-impressive spelling my man

Eh??

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/11/2009 22:34:04    479833

Apologies thistle harp i couldnt hear the exact words of the song. However singing, taunting and jeering a minutes silence for thousands of people (including many Irish people) in front of their relatives is disgusting This is nothing new to Celtic fans though. I remember them jeering and laughing during the minutes silence for the victims of the Ibrox disaster in front of the victims families. Best fans in the world...? yeah right

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 09/11/2009 22:36:11    479836

I think they have gone overboard with this poppy, british army celebrations in recent years. A celebration of peace would be more appropriate. Celebrating death is nothing to be proud of.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 09/11/2009 22:36:25    479837