Ireland V France Predictions

Dellboypolecat

459540 Well france are finished and if ireland do not beat them trap will have to go .

Ah now Dell hold fire there sir, That Dunphy man has your head away. Wait and see how we perform first before sending the old maestro back to Italy. He hasn't done that bad with what he has at his disposal.

Were you one of the guys calling for Mickey Harte's head after the Down game last year, I hope you weren't, I'd be very disappointed in you.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 19/10/2009 22:08:42    459575

mugsys_barber

No i would never call for mickeys head at the time i set up a thread supporting him and telling the barstool supporters to wise up and mickey should be left there till he decides to go. But on the france thing there finished and i do not rate trap as andt reid should be on that team.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/10/2009 22:22:54    459598

mugsys_barber

Were you one of the guys calling for Mickey Harte's head after the Down game last year, I hope you weren't, I'd be very disappointed in you.

No that was me! :)

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 19/10/2009 22:34:55    459615

That clears that up Dell, I was only taking the Mickey. Wouldn't mind seeing Andy Reid on the team myself but we'll see what happens.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 19/10/2009 22:39:32    459622

Triona - Are you from Carrickmore per chance??

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 19/10/2009 22:50:42    459637

"they are just so hard watch much less follow- was i just young or did the 90s not make you wanna follow the team im afraid there just isnt as much interest anymore and its a shame- the gaa in cash, the irfu as the top followed sport and france as going to the world cup are the 3 main winners- alas the age old problem of accepting second best it there in abundance it a mentality thing the rugby lads got it right in their heads last christmas and look what happened- the most lions, grand slam (triple crown if you want to be particular) win HC and magners league a clean sweep so to speak the difference is they go out to win and refuse to lose, the soccer boys are more give it a go and try your best kinda thing- would you ever think munster going out in thomand ever even contemplating getting beat- i seriously doubt it and would include any international team, personally i think the attitude stinks, as paul on connell once said when i met him'you live to die on that pitch' - it was one of the best things i ever heard a bit of passion like that wouldnt go amiss in the fai"

biggest load of rubbish ive ever read. you cant compare rugby and football. its one thing saying "you live to die on that pitch" in rugby and another in football. in rugby you can get physical and hang out of even the best rugby players and drag them down or even just slow them up. in football you might come in with the same mentality but the reality is you might give 1000% but theres not much you can do when your one on one with a maradona no matter what effort you put in.

and rugby isnt the top followed sport

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4156 - 19/10/2009 22:51:50    459639

France do have the better side but so did Italy and arguably Bulgaria. The only advantage we have is that their manager is a total nut job!

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 19/10/2009 23:32:06    459703

Do you all really believe we will get through?I thought we would until I heard we got Michel Platini's team-Wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwipeout!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 20/10/2009 00:02:30    459736

Dellboypolecat

Well france are finished and if ireland do not beat them trap will have to go .

Dell, I suggest you stop posting on soccer matters as you are obviously a Man United fan.

Last week you told us Ireland were in a useless group, along with the WORLD CHAMPIONS, now you tell us France are finished, the RUNNERS UP.

I googled "world cup play offs" and this is what I got.

"While France, the highest ranked team in the play offs at nine, will be favourites ..."

The HIGHEST ranked, FAVOURITES. Gourcuff, Gignac, the impressive Govou, Benzema, Anelka, Ribery, and even say Henry and Evra?

The manager might be an idiot but I fear they are far from FINISHED.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/10/2009 01:25:01    459778

cavanmuja

459285 left back stephen kelly or joey o'brien in at centre back he is playin consistantly with bolton but has been overlooked since stan played him midfield. stephen reid is a must for these games.
i am seriouly delighted with the draw lads think we got the best pssible draw we could have asked for. remember they knocked us out of world cup in 2006 so we owe them a favour in return!!

I think you are confusing Joey and Andy O'Brien. Andy is a centre back and is retired from international soccer. He's not getting his game at the minute and doesn't look like he will soon. Joey is a midfielder/full-back who has done a job for us at centre-back once or twice. He has been injured for the last 18 months and hasn't played at all.

PS I think I know who you are!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12370 - 20/10/2009 10:33:46    459922

Ireland 1
France 1

France 2
Ireland0

maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 20/10/2009 11:06:15    459968

Piggy Malone.....how do you think the game will go?
I think Ireland 1-1 France then France 2-1 Ireland. Hope i am wrong though.

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 20/10/2009 13:15:33    460179

Ireland by the odd goal, but we will all be chewing our nails off.

JPM1981 (Kildare) - Posts: 825 - 20/10/2009 13:15:35    460180

Ireland 1-1 France
France 1-1 Ireland

Either team could win on penalties.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2008 - 20/10/2009 15:33:47    460382

Ireland 1-0 France
France 1-0 Ireland

The IRISH to go through on peno's
Will be a cracking atmosphere in Croker
Much people here for the game ?

Augher (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 20/10/2009 16:41:43    460509

At the end of the day, as long as France win, who cares?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/10/2009 17:30:33    460597

Ireland 0 France 0

France 1 Irelan 1

We go through on the away goal

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 20/10/2009 19:14:05    460695

patrique

France are not the team they where and to me are finished .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/10/2009 23:11:10    461004

Dellboypolecat

patrique

France are not the team they where and to me are finished .

OK.

But they are ranked 9th in the World.

So you would have to say they were better than say Northern Ireland, ranked 30th? Agreed?

The Republic of Ireland are ranked 34th.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/10/2009 00:36:18    461107

I knew you wouldn't believe me, so that's the rankings. Ranking Team Sep 09 1 Brazil 2 Spain 3 Netherlands 4 Italy 5 Germany 6 Argentina 7 England 8 Croatia 9 France France 1049 1 Up 9 10 Portugal Portugal 1042 7 Up 162 11 USA USA 1025 0 Equal 51 12 Russia Russia 982 -6 Down -147 13 Switzerland 14 Cameroon 15 Czech Republic 16 Greece 17 Chile 18 Mexico 19 Côte d'Ivoire 20 Serbia 21 Paraguay 22 Ukraine 23 Bulgaria 24 Australia 25 Uruguay 26 Israel 27 Denmark 28 Egypt 29 Algeria 30 Colombia 30 Northern Ireland 32 Nigeria 33 Slovakia 34 Republic of Ireland 35 Honduras Honduras

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/10/2009 00:50:29    461112