Drinking on Hill 16

Lebowski,

The guards dictate that you can't bring it into the stand for ANY event, they don't place any restrictions on the sale other than those enforced by licencing laws.
It's up to the Croke Park management committee if they decide not to sell at certain events.
For the Montenegro game on Wednesday night alcohol was only on sale in General admission areas from 15min after half-time to 10 min before the end of the match - a 20 minute window. Not sure what the purpose of this was, but surely seemed a good way of turning down mich-needed revenues.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 16/10/2009 11:22:09    456300

There's no need for drink in Croke Park, go watch the game in a bar if you want to drink simple as.

Dingle08 (Kerry) - Posts: 128 - 16/10/2009 11:38:50    456310

" If there was drink for sale in all areas of Croke park would the Dubs be in on time for matches? "

Good point RAM85, they could even show the man utd game on the big screen as well!!!

Only joking Dubs.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 16/10/2009 11:39:19    456311

High five jos!!!

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 16/10/2009 11:52:46    456326

NavyNBlue ....the Westmeath lads must have thought it was safe enough to come back out - ha!

jos33 (Dublin) - Posts: 243 - 16/10/2009 12:26:12    456352

No doubt. I'd be in the mad-house long ago if I let it get me down for too long.

P.s. A friend of mine from Raharney won 25 grand this year.
He had 1000 (pounds at the time) with paddy power in '99 the no Leinster team would win Sam
for the next 10 years.
He put 1500 on Meath in the semi-final this year (nearly killed him) just to cover himself.

True story. At least some of us had a good year.

RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 16/10/2009 12:46:00    456368

Jaysus!

illbeyourdawg (Dublin) - Posts: 16 - 16/10/2009 13:01:33    456392

black&white
County: Sligo

456300 Lebowski,

The guards dictate that you can't bring it into the stand for ANY event, they don't place any restrictions on the sale other than those enforced by licencing laws.
It's up to the Croke Park management committee if they decide not to sell at certain events.
For the Montenegro game on Wednesday night alcohol was only on sale in General admission areas from 15min after half-time to 10 min before the end of the match - a 20 minute window. Not sure what the purpose of this was, but surely seemed a good way of turning down mich-needed revenues.

If this is true, then why can you see people drinking in the stand at six nation matches. Watch out for it this year

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 16/10/2009 13:05:49    456400

there are bars in all stands in croke park, i enjoy a pint between the first and second games. There is a bar in the hill 16 end, maybe they dont open it when dublin arent playing

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 16/10/2009 15:02:11    456513

i was in the hill for the tipp killkenny all ireland final this year and there was a man sellin cans!! i declined of course. how can stewarts allow this?? did anyone else meet him?

nuriballshangin (Tipperary) - Posts: 8 - 16/10/2009 16:29:14    456588

Our city,
our rebellion,
our rubble,
our HILL,
our county,
hence our property!
Drink when and where we like!!
Wouldnt do it myself but the day and outsider tells a Dublin man what to do in our own county is the day this country goes down the tubes (eh, just like it is now!)

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/10/2009 17:59:57    456667

Ah I'll never forget my first drink watching my beloved Dubs on Hill 16, there I was in my blue paper cap when my older brother passed me a can of Harp, 'get that into ya, you'll need it watching this shower', he said, somethings just never change, It was the start of a beautifull love affair that has seen many highs and many many lows.

Cheers to Hill 16, there is no place on earth I'd rather be on championship Sundays win lose or draw.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 16/10/2009 18:52:25    456721

The obvious reason that drink is not allowed in the open areas is because there wouldn't be enough bogs for the women! Do you see the queues at half time, it's bigger than the queue outside Coppers on an All Ireland night or Supermacs after the pubs close ! Can you imagine the mayhem if they had beer inside them, they would be getting up all through the games obscuring the view for us men folk & the mens bogs would be also be full of women frightening the life out of us country men. Let's keep our bogs women free - no to beer at games!!

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 16/10/2009 19:08:10    456735

RAM85
County: Westmeath

456368 No doubt. I'd be in the mad-house long ago if I let it get me down for too long.

P.s. A friend of mine from Raharney won 25 grand this year.
He had 1000 (pounds at the time) with paddy power in '99 the no Leinster team would win Sam
for the next 10 years.
He put 1500 on Meath in the semi-final this year (nearly killed him) just to cover himself.

True story. At least some of us had a good year.
------------------------------------------------------------------
What price did your mate get?

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 16/10/2009 19:58:07    456782

RAM85 County: Westmeath Posts: 665 456158 Dell - What the hell is what happened years ago re gaa clubs, night clubs and sponsorship got to do with drinking in Croke park? I have a great life thanks and why do i repeat my self the whole time so i will try again THIS IS A MESSAGE BOARD AND I CAN POST 10 THOUSAND IF I WISH NOW IS THAT CLEAR ENOUGH FOR YOU. Now the gaa banned all drinks in clubs years ago and are setting out campaigns against under age drinking but there promoting it at the same time .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/10/2009 23:24:03    456979

i live in san francisco and attend american sports events all the time! You can go into the Giants or 49ers games and buy as much beer as they can feed ya! Plus they charge about $8 a pint (which is a rip off but what a ya gona do)! The idea that drink will turn fans into a rowdy shower is unfounded, trust me theres plenty of 'undesirables' at games but you rarely see trouble! its true it might leave a mess after a game but so what? Bit of a sweep up job done! the main difference i see is that baseball and American Football is very stop/start! Therefore you can go queue up for a drink for 15mins and not miss a thing! to be honest it relieves the boredom! I cant imagine a decent Gaa man missing 15mins of a 2ndhalf on all ireland final day just to get a beer!- in that sense i dont think it would work as well at croker but nonetheless there should be no problem seling booze before a game and at half time!

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 17/10/2009 02:24:31    457031

nuriballshangin
County: Tipperary

456588 i was in the hill for the tipp killkenny all ireland final this year and there was a man sellin cans!! i declined of course. how can stewarts allow this?? did anyone else meet him?

Don't know how he got them in. I was on the Hill with a few friends for the final and I was barely inside the turnstiles when the Guards were over to check our bags. We just had rucksacks with raingear and stuff. One of them got very excited when he thought he'd found a can at the bottom of one of the bags, turned out to be Lynx...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 17/10/2009 12:33:25    457134

Boom Chicka Wah Wah

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 17/10/2009 16:02:50    457227

Drink should not be allowed in thge stands, what happens when a goal goes in and the place goes mad and all of a sudden your young one is drenched in beer! It should be kept to underneth the stands the way it is now.

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 17/10/2009 20:43:43    457354

Ehhhh there's a Bar at the back of the hill...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/10/2009 21:24:37    457380