New York and London - Unfair in Connacht

Tipp? Tipp are playing Divison 2 Football this year, they deserve more credit for this achievement.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 15/10/2009 19:09:43    455737

Niamh
County: Derry

455737 Tipp? Tipp are playing Divison 2 Football this year, they deserve more credit for this achievement.

Thank you Niamh.

Derry is a wonderful county and you are all fantastic people.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 15/10/2009 21:47:05    455893

fredrickwood County: Roscommon Posts: 1184 455600 We are due to play London in 2010,not this year.We may not be Kerry or Tyrone but I would'nt be worried about London.You must be thinking of Leitrim Tongo.And Cranky no that is not the reason.In fact that is daft.What do they do,round them up and count them then decide"yes lads it's Connacht again this year,someone ring the Uachtaran and tell him"? I personally have known 3 players from my area who played for London recently and 2 from New York..............what are you trying to say?

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 15/10/2009 22:24:30    455935

If anyone thinks that they shouldn't be included, they don't know what the GAA is about, if anything we should be supporting them more.

That's the difference between the GAA and other sports........communities!

Why else is it getting stronger year after year because everyone wants to be part of it

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 15/10/2009 22:27:08    455943

Finally we are in agrement Cranky well said.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 15/10/2009 22:42:25    455977

Yeah ok Fredrickwood, Roscommon are due to come to London in 2010, i think that was obvious in my original point as the Championship for 2009 has apparently finished. And we played Galway this year, not Leitrim. Anyhow, there was an article on Hoganstand a while back that said over 400 players had transferred across to London clubs. Now, the majority of these are unlikely to be of inter-county standard, but it would only take three or four players to turn London into a decent contest for the lesser counties of connacht. It may not happen this year, but the gap is closing and i don't think it'll be the cakewalk for the Rossies that some expect.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 16/10/2009 07:35:07    456160

On the subject of London, could you imagine Kerry, Tyrone or the Dubs at Ruislip?! My life, they wouldn't know what to do with themselves! No seats or terraces, just a small mound to stand on down the one side, it'd be hilarious. When Sligo came over a couple of years ago, one of their fans had a ticket whit seat number 543 (or something similar) on it and he was wandering down the mound asking people, with his tongue firmly in his cheek and a grin on his face, if anybody knew where seat 543 was. One of the funniest things i've heard in a long time, wonderfully ironic and whitty!

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 16/10/2009 07:42:05    456163

Tongo Im sure Kerry,Tyrone and Dublin have come across these kind of grounds when playing for their clubs.It ain't all as glitzy as Croke Park at grassroots level.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/10/2009 17:38:15    456647

Can everyone bear in mind that these days, New York always play championship games in New York. Ok, fair enough that the New York GAA board have made a mess of promoting the games: Attendances are down, immigration is down and 20 years of hard graft have been wasted. At the same time, matches against Leitrim, Roscommon and Sligo aren't really going to get the ex-pats salivating anymore, even Galway and Mayo are losing their appeal due to familiarity breeding contempt. Perhaps the solution is to enter New York in the province of the All-Ireland champs. Have the match as a preliminary round and send the All-Ireland champions over for a game at the start of the Championship (perhaps as a reward from the GAA). Then, should NY lose, enter New York into the back door where they are involved in the first round of an open draw. Whoever they draw gets an extra week to organise themselves for a trip stateside. New York gets 2 matches, one they may even be competitive in. London isn't in the same position

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 16/10/2009 17:46:36    456654

Why not let London and New York in through the back door, -twice,- and give them a sporting chance.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3193 - 16/10/2009 20:59:04    456861

London will beat Roscommon in the championship next year, mark my words... You heard it hear first lads!

crooks (Wicklow) - Posts: 29 - 18/10/2009 11:27:14    457580

Good lad crooks, like yer support of the exiles!

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 18/10/2009 16:47:51    457810

what are ya on crooks ?

rossie_lad (Roscommon) - Posts: 41 - 18/10/2009 18:17:21    457869

fredrickwood
County: Roscommon

455977 Finally we are in agrement Cranky well said.

I knew it was only a matter of time............lol

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 18/10/2009 22:04:27    458183

supersub15 maybe they should do the same for us haha, no only messin.

In 5 years we will be playing division 1 football and contending for the All-Ireland. I guarantee it.

Thomas Walsh and Brendan Murphy will be our saviours.

Kerry, Tyrone, Dublin, Cork BEWARE!!!!!

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1847 - 18/10/2009 22:32:45    458222

rossie_lad its not that unbelievable, seeing the state of the roscommon team a half decent club team would take ye.!

Horsebox10 (Mayo) - Posts: 88 - 18/10/2009 23:18:20    458287

Tadhg Kennelly - Intentional Tadhg Kennelly has laid down a marker, described himself as a raging bull when in action and decided that Gaelic Football is now a different animal. His rhetoric is consistent and his timing and execution are as perfect as is his arrogance. Is this the new image of GAA manhood... Mr. Kennelly is uniquely positioned to carry out his mission - All-Ireland winner, Vodafone All-Star, and coach. He challenges not only the GAA, but the 80,000 who were in Croke Park, the thousands who watched worldwide on TV, and the internet community, full of pride in an aspect of Irish natioinal heritage that Mr. Kennelly proposes to change utterly. Mr. Kennelly calls for a new definition of sport, indeed of manhood. Is Mr. Kennelly merely the puss on a boil that has been festering within the GAA where tried and true concepts of sportsmanship, integrity, whole-hearted commitment, fair-play, winning-with-grace, and losing-with-honor are to be binned in favour of a new culture of winner-take-all (if you can't get the ball; get the man) mentality so reminiscent of the school bully - even the teachers are intimidated. One may say that Mr. Kennelly's only contribution to the cynical tackling and professional fouling debate is his daring declaration of intent; does this brazen assertion validate his action or indeed condemn him as someone whose behaviour off the pitch would be deemed actionable in any well-regulated society. Clearly, the Gaelic Athletic Association must respond, must get off the fence and declare in favour of its tradition of fair competition, community, and civility; or redefine itself along the crude animalistic lines laid down for it by Tadhg Kennelly. If Mr. Kennelly is the battering ram of a new force within the GAA, then a corner has been turned; and not only has Gaelic Football been redefined, but something strong, clean, and true has been lost to the nation not just on field of play but also in the halls of leadership in GAA headquarters

corncrake (Dublin) - Posts: 8 - 19/10/2009 02:22:50    458364