All Ireland Club Senior Hurling Championship

mau_mau, how can a team score 3-22 in a final (thats with Ben having an off day from placed balls), obliterating the reigning champions and their peformance be labelled 'poor fair'(sic)? Ye must have pretty high hurling standards where you come from. Ben, Jerry, Naughton, Pat Mul, Coughlan? I don't think any team in Munster will be wanting to draw them.

dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 16/10/2009 12:48:53    456375

Uh-oh-Did I upset someone?Very stern stuff Patrique-your reading too much Ulsterman.It's understandable for people to stick up for their own.Now Im not a Clann na ngael man but that Clann team were fantastic-granted,8 Provincial titles in-a-row-still a record that to the best of my Knowledge,but the guy who started this Thread asks who will win on Paddies Day,my answer is only 3 teams can win, Portumna,Newtownshandrum or KK champs.That is My OPINION.Im only answering the title of the thread.If anyone outside these 3 wins I will sing blue moon at the HS Xmas party!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/10/2009 18:19:01    456687

fredrickwood County: Roscommon Posts: 1200 456687 Uh-oh-Did I upset someone? Upset, as you know Fred, is the wrong word. Opportunity knocked, and I seized the day. Mind you, I did make a relevant point. Ulster (Antrim) teams have been in 7 finals, winning one, and Cushendall and Ballygalget have gone very close to making a final.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/10/2009 22:58:20    456955

supersub, not to burst ur bubble, but the rangers will play in the intermediate club championship.. think the a good bet at 7/1 to win the leinster and 16/1 to win the all ireland..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 17/10/2009 12:38:05    457137

I also think Newtown and Portumna would make some final, however if Newtown lose either Ben or Jerry they may find the going very difficult. Portumna for me again this year with Newtown being closest to them. Newtown have played some of their best hurling in years in this years county so i don't see how you can call the Cork championship poor!

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 17/10/2009 18:04:41    457277

Portumna vs James Stephens/Ballyhale Shamrocks

Galway11 (Galway) - Posts: 570 - 17/10/2009 19:07:46    457301

fredrickwood
County: Roscommon

Definitely not Four Roads.Definitely not Dunloy.Remind me again how many of those finals they won Patrique?

Portumna have won 4 county titles, all in the last 7 years. On 3 occasions they have gone on to win the all-Ireland, notching up convincing wins over the likes of Ballyhale, James Stephens and Newtonshandrum along the way. The only team from outside Galway to beat them was Dunloy in the 2004 semi-final. In 1995, Dunloy beat Athenry in the semi-final and took Birr to a replay in the final. Athenry went on to win the all-Irelands of '97, 2000 and 2001 while Birr added titles in '98, '2002 and 2003. Dunloy's achievements on the national stage are more impressive than many of the top clubs from the traditional hurling powers and only a fool would write them off.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1033 - 18/10/2009 09:16:19    457547

18/10/2009 09:16:19
Gaillimh_Abu

. Dunloy's achievements on the national stage are more impressive than many of the top clubs from the traditional hurling powers and only a fool would write them off.

Thank you Gaillimh, that is what I was trying to say.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 18/10/2009 13:23:57    457673

patrique

457673 18/10/2009 09:16:19
Gaillimh_Abu

. Dunloy's achievements on the national stage are more impressive than many of the top clubs from the traditional hurling powers and only a fool would write them off.

Thank you Gaillimh, that is what I was trying to say.

Perhaps you need to employ gaillimh as your P.R. guru

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/10/2009 21:45:58    458144

Im surprised everyone seems to be ignoring Thurles Sarsfields, I think most pundits are correct in that the likely 2 are Portumna and Ballyhale but if there is to be a surprise it could come from Tipp. As far as I know almost entire team have represented the County at some grade,

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 18/10/2009 23:38:47    458308

I already do.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/10/2009 00:52:42    458346

ballyhale will stroll through leinster
munster should be tight enough as usual,havent heard how clonlara from clare are doing-alot lot of county u-21s in that team!newtownshandrum will be favourites to win munster but thurles can only get better after a poor county final altough they seem to have a few very young players
portumna obviously from connaught
dont think it really matters who comes from ulster as no one up there is capable of beating portumna in semis

overall its very hard to look past portumna if they play to their potential

catch_it_wil_ya (Galway) - Posts: 541 - 19/10/2009 12:14:06    458642

A fool would write them off?but if they don't win it then it would mean I was right and youse were wrong-HARDY-HAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 19/10/2009 19:02:43    459310

catch_it_wil_ya

portumna obviously from connaught
dont think it really matters who comes from ulster as no one up there is capable of beating portumna in semis

So you think Portumna will get revenge for 2004?

I keep telling the Dunloy lads that Portumna will not be a walk over simply because they beat them before.

Mind you, Dunloy are more worried at the moment about Ballycran as they have not won Ulster yet.

And apart from Dunloy, Loughrea are one of the few sides to have beaten Portumna.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/10/2009 19:51:42    459398

Its a bit premature to be looking that far ahead at this stage. Newtownmountshandrum will have to beat Thurles first....

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/10/2009 20:25:57    459443

portumna will certainly not be bullyed by loughrea or anyone this year!it might be a bit hairy in the first half but id say they'l win by qround 7 or 8

as regards dunloy(and if ye are struggling in ulster ye rally dont have a fools hope!)ye just dont have the hurling in ye to beat portumna..they are different class as club hurling goes

catch_it_wil_ya (Galway) - Posts: 541 - 19/10/2009 20:59:55    459497

I love hurling even though i come from a footballing background, but i thought yesterdays Tipp final was very poor fayre indeed. If this Thurles side is so good why didn't they beat the that team they were playing yesterday by 30 points, who looked to be honest like they only turned up to try and hurt people and seemingly were not very good at hurling. Very neanderthal and possibly ill informed, know nothing about hurling post, but please someone answer me. I need eduacted.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 19/10/2009 23:49:25    459718

Tipp club hurling can get a bit rough. Toomevara wouldn't be angels.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 20/10/2009 00:07:32    459739

Gaillimh_Abu
The only team from outside Galway to beat them was Dunloy in the 2004 semi-final.

CATCH-IT-WILL-YA. You can read I suspect. Dunloy BEAT Portumna in the 2004 semi?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/10/2009 01:02:41    459770

and what year is it now????
living off past glorys?u?..never!!!
fair play to ye for beating them in 2004 ye deserved it,but thats 5 years ago lad!!
ye dont have a hope this year face facts!never mind beating portumna this year,ye wud struggle to beat any county final winner in munster and definetly not ballyhale!

catch_it_wil_ya (Galway) - Posts: 541 - 20/10/2009 13:12:14    460171