Meath Fuming over Carr remarks.

The Meath county board is to send a letter of complaint to RTE regarding a remark made by former Down footballer and manager Ross Carr about Martin O'Connell on the Sunday Game's All-Ireland final show.
As part of the GAA's 125 celebrations, the studio audience on the night of the All-Ireland football final was made up of prominent managers, administrators, players and ex-players who reminisced about their personal experiences and involvement in the GAA.
Carr and O'Connell, who marked each other in the 1991 All-Ireland final which Down won by two points, were both members of the audience. Carr joked that: "Martin is a butcher by trade and he was good at it at half back too", and while the comment drew a smile from the Team of the Millennium member, Meath delegates didn't see the funny side of it at their recent county board meeting in Trim.
"It bothered me what was said about Martin O'Connell who is a role model for every footballer in Meath, Leinster and Ireland," said an outraged Dunderry delegate Tommy Nally.
Meath chairman Barney Allen said: "I was also taken aback at what was said."
Dunsany's Richard Harrihill proposed that the county board write to the Head of Sport in RTE to make their feelings known.
"Hopefully, in time, they will then address it," he added.

I have to say I was stunned by that comment at the time it aired too, thought Ross Carr was completely out of order.
Im far from a Royal supporter but O Connell was excellent for Meath even though a lot of people seem to just tag him with the Brian Dooher incident back in 1996.
Hes the only one who knows if it was intentional but I never classed him a dirty player over his whole career. Tough as hell but not cynical.
Alan Shearer kicked Neil Lennon in the head years ago yet the media in England never mention that when discussing his career.

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 13/10/2009 13:38:31    452954

ah come on - sure ain't this type of joke part & parcel of every junior hurler and footballers daily life?

I thought Martin O'Connell was one of the most complete footballers I've ever seen, strong reasonably fast, accurate passer etc. Nothing short of a legend really. But that Meath team of 86-91 were well able to handle themseves if teams roughed them up & I used to love that about them - nobody would bully Meath then. But all because he was called a butcher in a bit of a laugh, hardly a big deal?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/10/2009 14:33:20    453016

In fairness it was made in a light manner and Carr was just trying to be witty on tv.. totally blown out of proportion.

fred_the_fan (Fermanagh) - Posts: 33 - 13/10/2009 14:42:36    453031

to be honest i took it as just a bit of banter.

kerryman1 (Kerry) - Posts: 6 - 13/10/2009 14:42:36    453032

I remember bein shocked at the time as well and I also recall Ross Carr did'nt smile when he said it although Martin O' Connell did!In all fairness how has it taken 3/4 weeks for an issue to be made about it?

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 13/10/2009 14:51:30    453050

yes I heard the remark too and thought it a bit nedless and against the spirit of the show. i know it was said half in jest but all the same there was something about it that left a bad taste in the mouth. Having said that I don't know what good it will be complaining to RTE. They are not going to ask Ross Carr to retract his comment or make an apology. The player himself may make a statement along the lines of "It was a light-hearted remark and no offence was meant and I believe none was taken on the night. I have the upmost respect for Martin O' connell as a player and a person. He always played the game hard but fair...blah, blah, blah"

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 13/10/2009 14:54:09    453054

In a team of hard (sometimes dirty) men, O Connell was always fair. A class player, I think Carrs comments were tongue in cheek, but should not have been said

soreilly (Wicklow) - Posts: 202 - 13/10/2009 15:04:06    453072

Ha Ha! Meath county board are geting their hand bags in a twist! IT WAS A PLAY ON THE WORD BUTCHER. Humour ark ark. People have little to complain about. If I recall the fact that he was a butcher was made by somebody previously and Ross Carr just followed it up harmless remark.

bugsie (Leitrim) - Posts: 199 - 13/10/2009 15:48:07    453128

I have a lot of time for Meath and the great teams of the 80's and 90's but come on. MEATH of all teams getting sensitive, annoyed and worked up over a few tongue in cheek comments? If that is not the irony of ironies I don't know what is especially from a county that left more than a few hurt feelings the length and breadth of the country. Ross Carr's remarks are very very tame when compared to some of the hatred, vitriol and bitterness that is usually directed North from some of our Southern GAA brethren. Catch yourselves on Meath you are just making yourselves a laughing stock. WAAA WAAA MAAAMMMMYY THE BAD BOYS ARE CALLING ME NAMES WAAAAAAAAAA!!! LAUGHABLE!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 13/10/2009 15:55:18    453136

Meath county board were quick out of the blocks with the statement i see.....

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 13/10/2009 16:19:24    453157

the comment was made in jest in reference to the mans job, big deal over nothing

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 13/10/2009 16:38:44    453186

As I said most of us are going to have great fun with this...............MEATH??????????? The poor darlings!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 13/10/2009 16:42:33    453194

Can't belive the Meath County Board are going to write to RTE about this. It was only a bit of craic from Carr, O'Connell and everyone else on the panel laughed and took it in the spirit in which it was meant. It's actually a compliment when you think about it. The county board would be better advised concentrating on getting Meath football out of the doldrums they've been in for the last decade.

shinokamparos (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 13/10/2009 16:49:57    453209

get over it, ye are easily offended in meath obviously, it was a bit of craic, a joke, light-hearted, nothing cynical at all. ye must have little to be discussing at ur meetings if this dominated the meeting. if this was brought forward to the football council ye would be laughed at.

Gonzo (Cavan) - Posts: 55 - 13/10/2009 16:57:48    453220

The Meath county board should be worrying about more important things...

Namely trying to figure out how to beat Dublin in the Championship anytime soon...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/10/2009 17:15:05    453243

I thought it was quite a funny remark from Carr. The Meath county board are substandard and certainly not reflective of the rest of us. Maybe it's an indicater of why we've not won anything in a while if they focus more on things like this rather than dealing with more pressing/important issues. Embarassing.

Bermuda_Bomber (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 13/10/2009 18:20:23    453343

in fairness jimbob with whelan gone, jayo finished, and now shane ryan deciding he's a better chance of getting to an all ireland final with your hurlers, maybe ye should be worrying about how ye will beat us

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 13/10/2009 18:31:55    453355

and now maybe keaney to, can it get any better

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 13/10/2009 18:33:47    453357

i think every tyrone supporter of a certain age remembers '96.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 13/10/2009 18:38:13    453364

would ye come on get a sense of humour it was a joke if even.its also good to hear your county board meetings our useful and worth while.

duncanknows125 (Down) - Posts: 123 - 13/10/2009 18:50:17    453382