Camogue Rovers to join with Fedamore

Anyone with information on this? Whats going on with Camogue? only a few years ago in county semis and south finals in football and hurling now no where. Think the senior members of club will need to look at them selves how can a club go down so fast??

thisisouryear (Limerick) - Posts: 84 - 13/10/2009 12:02:50    452842

Wouldn't reccommend camogue to join with fedamore. they are completley finished as a club. they'd only bring down the great team spirit shown by camogue in the past

Jerryhattrick (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 13/10/2009 14:59:35    453064

you have to wonder are camogue finished also??

Seems that they have no younger players at all and those that they have seem to playing with bruff.

Time for a change at the top in meanus i feel

thisisouryear (Limerick) - Posts: 84 - 13/10/2009 15:36:03    453116

Lads I think that Meanus being part of Bruff parish and Camogue having no underage structure makes it very hard for a small club to continue. Fedamore have fallen on poor times lately and thats a pity as they are a club steeped in tradition. It will mean a new club most likey as they are in seperate parishes and divisions. I hope it works out for them as we need more progressive clubs.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 13/10/2009 16:38:37    453184

Would very much doubt this is true, but at some levels it does make sense. One of the main problems with Camogue is sheer lack of numbers. I think the total population of the area is around 250, which means that almost every male of the age needs to play to be able to field an adult team. (not to mention trying to support an underage structure.) Second, is the fact that a lot of the better Camouge players playing with BruffThis years Limerick u-21 football team had 2 Meanus men on the starting 15, but both of them line out with Bruff along with 5 or 6 more players playing for Bruff who should be playing for the Rovers. Meanus being in Bruff parish, allows the players to transfer to Bruff within the laws and without problem. Also the fact that most Camogue players play with Bruff until under 21 makes a very good link, and allows Bruff ample time and opportunity to poach the players they want for their adult teams. 3rd while the hurling has genuinely struggled for the last 2 years, the football has gone ok. They now play County League and are more than competitive, and then in the championship they have been knocked out by the eventual county champions for the last 4 years in a rowie Knockainey, Bruff, Ballylanders & Banogue. And this year were beaten by the County League winners Blackrock. While I accept that this is nothing to brag about, but at least it shows they not far off the mark and are part of a South division that has dominated football over the last half decade. 4th, the Rovers played Fedamore in a football match at the beginning of the championship and beat them by 15 points so a lot of work to do in Fedamore to make a contribution. I'm not saying it might not work, but the Rovers are a proud if small club and in many ways epitomize what the GAA is all about. Fedamore themselves have a proud history, and it is sad to see their continued decline in both codes.

insidepol (Limerick) - Posts: 51 - 13/10/2009 21:28:16    453574

must say the plain fact that camogue are going downhill is because there is no underage strycture.. if they had kept their players that fled to bruff, there would be a flaking team and probably not a junior side anymore. they would have at least 2 or 3 county underage players in football and hurling the way things are going, the present players are pushing on and theres only the odd 3 or 4 players coming through. they would be better off joining with fedamore as they have underage there and a young enough team in general which might bring more players back from bruff or elsewhere to the club. im sure the tension between camogue and fedamore isnt as bad between them and bruff!!

lovelystuff7 (Limerick) - Posts: 82 - 13/10/2009 23:03:22    453722

Why don't comogue just join up with Bruff and have a junior A team and A junior B team? they could even keep the camogue name for the B team and it would give Bruff an extra field for training, matches, etc.

eagerfan (Limerick) - Posts: 6 - 13/10/2009 23:16:17    453745

The obvious answer is that Bruff are doing fine on their own.Meanus while in a different division would be better off amalgamating with Fedamore.They have been trying hard over the last 2 years to get things going again at under age in fedamore.A long hard road ahead which ever route they choose.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 14/10/2009 09:43:15    453889

ya agree that join up with bruff is out of question

Ya bruff senior team and intermnediate football team littered with camogue players.

Why cant camogue entice these back for one year and give it a go!! to my knowledge the club is without a county title the players
would be legends!

think meanus is bigger than 250 population alot of new houses shooting up there, go out and recruit i think!! players wont
come knocking on camogues door

to be honest i think bruff should utilise camogues field more for underage training and camogue should ask the to do this, so that
youngsters from meanus can be proud of a fine pitch and not become socialised to bruff only.

thisisouryear (Limerick) - Posts: 84 - 14/10/2009 10:55:48    453950

First of all I don't believe this will ever happen, it would involve one team in changing divisions to begin with, more than likely Camogue which is unlikely seeing as Meanus is part of the parish of Bruff, Grange, Meanus, a more likely solution would be the Bruff Parish and Fedamore Parish amalgamating and maybe Camogue being the representative at Junior B level. Fact is none of this will ever happen, too much bitterness between elder statesmen in Bruff and Camogue and Fedamore has too proud of a tradition. Also I could never see Bruff letting part of its Parish amalgamate with another parish at a county board convention.

Also the reason Camogue did so well upto a few years ago and reaching county finals is because Bruff was doing so poorly at Junior B football and intermediate hurling, at one stage it was nearly possible that both clubs could have been junior a hurling. Bruff have since turned things around and now are senior hurling and intermediate football.

I don't think there is too many from Meanus on the Bruff senior hurling team so losing players here would not affect them, I will agree that there is a strong contingent on the intermediate Football team and if they played for Camogue, you would possibly have 2 junior A teams as opposed to an intermediate and junior B. I think it is better for these young players development to be playing intermediate and contending as opposed to playing junior A against each other.

limerick man (None) - Posts: 32 - 14/10/2009 16:28:07    454418

im sorry lads but when we won the intermediate there was only one member of the team from meanus, and granted he is a very good player, to say we would not be intermediate without him is crazy.i hope some day the two clubs can join as there is great friendship between both sets of players

bruffman (Limerick) - Posts: 8 - 15/10/2009 09:42:56    455069

Totally agree about the friendship bit,its the old heads that hold the grudges!!

think though that your numbers of players from camogue isnt correct!!

hf
jh
aon
mc
sc
dm
dm

just some that i can think of,

5 hurlers and 2 foot ballers!

if camouge still had them 5 hurlers!!!!

Anyways somehow i dont see them joining! it'll be more likely they join athlacca than bruff!!

thisisouryear (Limerick) - Posts: 84 - 15/10/2009 11:50:27    455208

Lads I don't think The Rovers will join Athlacca ( Banogue for Football ) , having played against them numerous times they are very proud of their club , I don't think they will join up with any one , all clubs go through these barren spells and then someone comes along and shakes them out of it . I think you will see The Rovers growing in stature again very soon , I heard rumours that former Banogue Manager Pat Hayes is taking over the football there , and in his last position he succeded in winning a County for Banogue in the Football .

leftoutside (Limerick) - Posts: 2 - 15/10/2009 13:28:24    455320

what kind of team would bruff have without those 5 hurlers and 2 footballers?
or what impact would they have if they were still with camogue?

as in hf- henry foster (played county underage)
jh- jason hayes (on 21s hurling squad 09)
dm- dean madden (was training with limerick senior football and hurling)
dm- darragh madden
sc- sean corbett (super full back)
aon- andrew o neill (has being playing on the first 15 with limerick underage football every year)
mc- michael collins (played corner back on this years 21s football team 09)

camogue must be doing something wrong for these players to have left

lovelystuff7 (Limerick) - Posts: 82 - 15/10/2009 22:51:20    455988

who would want to join fedamore

ilovemattrae (Limerick) - Posts: 35 - 15/10/2009 23:09:45    456019

lads take your point that most of them players played for rovers(except sc) but my point is only two of them names started on the team that won the junior A champ, dm and aon. and as for the hurling hf did not play. the two dm's played wit bruff before playing wit the rovers. i really admire the rovers but i feel that every player should be allowed play at the highest level his parish can offer.

bruffman (Limerick) - Posts: 8 - 16/10/2009 18:42:47    456710

would ilovemattrae keep his opinions to himself,ur fast turning in to hurling equilvalant of pat dolan

martydmike (Limerick) - Posts: 191 - 16/10/2009 19:37:08    456756

Lads I think If Fedamore and Camog joined and were committed they would have a great Junior A team in the football. And if they had success it might bring the meanus lads who went to bruff back to the fedamore and camog team. Fedamore were robbed for the east junior B championship 2 years ago by a team that should have been in Junior A. Things were unorganised in Fedamore last year along with losing a few players which resulted in a bad year. So with good organisation and training the fedamore and camog team could be great.

Whosits (Limerick) - Posts: 1 - 20/10/2009 10:16:26    459900

thisisouryear...,ridiculous to say u want to entice players back to camouge when its bruff who train them underage because ye have no underage structures....!!!!

lordlantern (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 20/10/2009 13:10:50    460169

fedamore lost dat final 2 years ago on the sideline asusual wit bad management,i agree thou dat fedamore/camoge wud make a gr8t team can't c fedamore joining up and loosing their identity

martydmike (Limerick) - Posts: 191 - 20/10/2009 16:57:49    460542