Bring back Italia 90'

Ah lads... You're making me jealous! I always hear all these great storied about what happened around the time of Italia '90 and the craic! Not fair like.... % years before I was born! In 2002 when Ireland seemed to be doing well, for some reason my whole class ended up knowing Keep them under pressure or put the pressure on or whatever it was! Didn't have a clue what it was about but sure it was great craic anyway!

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 12/10/2009 23:26:15    452555

England were the best team in that tournament and should have won it. Gascoigne, Beardsley, Waddle, Linekar, Walker etc they had some really good players. They hit the post in extra time against Germany and would have beaten a poor Argentina in the final.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 12/10/2009 23:44:30    452583

Ulsterman

452583 England were the best team in that tournament and should have won it. Gascoigne, Beardsley, Waddle, Linekar, Walker etc they had some really good players. They hit the post in extra time against Germany and would have beaten a poor Argentina in the final.
---------------------------
Just backs up my point about the general standard of football at that tournament, hell Cameroon were by far the most talented team there and if they hadn't have been so naive against England in the quarter final who knows what would have happened.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/10/2009 13:41:30    452958

brendtheredhand

452958 Ulsterman

452583 England were the best team in that tournament and should have won it. Gascoigne, Beardsley, Waddle, Linekar, Walker etc they had some really good players. They hit the post in extra time against Germany and would have beaten a poor Argentina in the final.
---------------------------
Just backs up my point about the general standard of football at that tournament, hell Cameroon were by far the most talented team there and if they hadn't have been so naive against England in the quarter final who knows what would have happened.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Anyone remember the opening game of the tournament when they beat Argentina and had 2 men red carded. Now that was how to tackle!!

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 13/10/2009 17:08:56    453237

Have watched the Ireland/Italy game a few times since and Italy should have won by 3 or 4. The German penalty in the final wasn't a penalty, was it Andy Bremhe who was tackled? He went down very easy. The atmosphere in the country after the Romania game was something else, if you could have captured and bottled it you would be worth a fortune AND the music, Nessun Dorma still brings a lump to the throat.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 13/10/2009 17:24:31    453255

Yeah Maradona had lumps kicked out of him in that tournament.Packie Bonnar was badly at fault for the Schillachi goal but if you had said this afterwards you would have been sent to Castlerea for 3 months.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 13/10/2009 23:51:18    453788

Rigobert Song of Liverpool fame was the man who finally caught Caniggia with that belter, only man to be sent off at 2 different world cups and I think he was also the youngest. He was unlucky to go as if the other 2 tackles had of connected....... My great moments: Costa Rica who were offered a Car each to qualify, after they had, one of the players said he'd be happy with a bike, and duly got one. Or Goalkeeper Rene Higuita getting caught near the halfway line in possession by Rodger Milla to score the goal that knocked out Columbia. The first half of extra time of England and Germany that went on for 25 mins. Brehme goal against Holland, absolute screamer. The spitting between Voller and Rykjarrd, both been sent off. Caniggia attempts to get himself suspended for the final, think he handle it needlessly 3 times before getting a yellow. Argentina robbing Brazil in the 1/4 finals. Never seen a team do so much and fail to score. The sickning feeling of David Platts last minute goal against Belgium, Or Naill Quinns goal against Holland after Hans Van broykilin spilled it, I think in the 81st minute to level it. Kevin Sheedy's goal against the Brits, and the kick up the behind McCarty gave lineker after he scoring. Great world cup, but not as good as 86,

JFK (Wexford) - Posts: 590 - 14/10/2009 11:07:28    453964

Sent to Castlerea......you would have been shot for saying that up here.

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 14/10/2009 11:16:01    453974

Ulsterman

Brehme took the penalty. Voller was fouled. That was a brutal game though.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12370 - 14/10/2009 11:55:02    454002

Just wondering does anyone here remember The Northern Ireland playing in the 82 and 86 World Cups? Was there any support for them from the nationalist side and the south. I was too young to remember, but the ould lad has a pile of commemorative world cup Beer glasses at home with the northern logo, so I suppose he supported them anyway

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 14/10/2009 13:57:05    454154

14/10/2009 13:57:05
Lebowski

454154 Just wondering does anyone here remember The Northern Ireland playing in the 82 and 86 World Cups? Was there any support for them from the nationalist side and the south. I was too young to remember, but the ould lad has a pile of commemorative world cup Beer glasses at home with the northern logo, so I suppose he supported them anyway

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 14/10/2009 14:09:54    454174

As far as I can remember nothing like how 1990 gripped the nation or 88 for that matter. But the south were supporting the north.

JFK (Wexford) - Posts: 590 - 14/10/2009 14:25:57    454204

JFK
County: Wexford

454204 As far as I can remember nothing like how 1990 gripped the nation or 88 for that matter. But the south were supporting the north.

What were the north in??

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 14/10/2009 14:51:05    454253

JFK
County: Wexford

454204 As far as I can remember nothing like how 1990 gripped the nation or 88 for that matter. But the south were supporting the north.

Was at that game in Valencia, brilliant night.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 14/10/2009 14:54:08    454258