Tyrone Centre of Excellence

http://www.tyronegaa.ie/clubTyrone/news/story.jsp?newsid=885[url=]link - this is why club Tyrone has been so successful. Listen to the patrons explain why they are so devoted to Tyrone even though they live in Belfast, Donegal, Dublin, etc. One fella has been in Dublin 50 years but still is committed to club tyrone. other counties have tried to copy club tyrone but it's not worked as well. They say the centre will be the best in the whole GAA, and it's hard to argue with that on this evidence.

Crossman (Down) - Posts: 153 - 10/10/2009 10:59:37    450426

As pointed out from Shane Curran the former Roscommon Keeper paid for by the british Exchequer! how un fair

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/10/2009 11:17:18    450439

I retract that comment based on actually looking at the website

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/10/2009 11:28:06    450451

Retract, recall, recant, repeal, repudiate, reverse revoke and most of all repent for that last statement ogall

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 10/10/2009 12:55:56    450518

this was paid for by the people of club tyrone and them alone, that is the whole point of the project. Why dont you research your information before you comment.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 928 - 10/10/2009 13:05:21    450530

Wait a minute now, a part of this funding was from the British exchequer that cant be denied

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/10/2009 13:18:05    450541

paddyogall

No this actually can be denied. This project has been over ten years in the making and has been contributed to by some of the most wealthiest people in ireland, along with the very hard working people of club tyrone and also some very sizeable lones.

I really dont mean to be nasty, but im going to say it again. Please just do a little research before you make a comment.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 928 - 10/10/2009 13:38:59    450564

UK lotto, British Sports Council. Ulster Council, GAA headquarters just some of the funders for the Tyrone center of Excellence. Now the €15 million Redevelopment of McHale Park was done by ourselves with loans etc which is a very unfair advantage

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/10/2009 13:47:54    450573

paddyogall

450451 I retract that comment based on actually looking at the website ....................Paddy retract nothing on this site........your never far off the mark

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 10/10/2009 14:31:25    450620

The reason for Tyrone's success is the committment and dedication of generations of men and women who were binded together during the dark days of the troubles by their local GAA club. The GAA feild was the one place in which they could express there nationality and pride. Drive through rural Tyrone and standing in the centre of most parishes is a GAA club, most of which are modern state of the art pitches. This foresight to build top class facilities to cater for countless underage/ ladies/ mens teams is the reason why Tyrone have had so much recent success!!!

Ed (UK) - Posts: 156 - 10/10/2009 21:12:58    450825

Surely now I have been vindicated. I have always said that there is a nasty, bitter, vindictive, jealous, partitionist anti-Northern streak that runs right through a large part of Southern society especially the GAA and media. This rabid vehemence manifests itself in many ways from castigating Northern Nationalists, Northern tourists, Northern GAA etc. It was never so clear as when Armagh and Tyrone started to stand up to Kerry and Dublin and no longer roll over, now this tirade about so called British Exchequer money really takes the biscuit. So now we know, it wasn't the talents of Joe Kernan, Stevie McDonnell, Oisin McConville, Ronan Clarke, Diarmuid Marsden, Mickey Harte, Peter Canavan, Stephen O'Neill, Brian Dooher, Sean Cavanagh, Cormac McAnallen (RIP) etc. It was ALL down to the residents of 11 Downing Street. The fair citizens of Roscommon, thank you for enlightening us.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 10/10/2009 22:54:23    450873

ulsterman i wouldn't necciserily agree with you about the southern outlook, but there is an awful lot of uneducated people on here including countymen of my own.! I'd love to knoe what their argument is, what becase the 6 counties are under uk rule they shudn't be allowed play in the all-ireland.? cop on.....

Horsebox10 (Mayo) - Posts: 88 - 10/10/2009 23:11:42    450885

I say fair play to them. The more they get from the British Government the better. Some compensation for the way the GAA was treated by them over the years.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 10/10/2009 23:25:28    450900

Well said RKF

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 11/10/2009 00:44:11    450938

Well it looks like i have been right all along. I think an apology is in order. So much for Club Tyrone and "Them alone" paying for it.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=122465

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 12/01/2010 20:11:40    531461

Waste of petrol money going down to Stormount today Nelson McCausland will make his usual excuses to evade meeting the GAA.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 13/01/2010 09:22:43    531625

....McHale Park was done by ourselves with loans etc which is a very unfair advantage -this is not true ogal. What not a cent of government money? If it makes you feel better if you think that other people's success is down to money then fair enough. To the rest of us it's just another Mayo excuse to add to the long list.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 13/01/2010 10:42:43    531664

Nelson will only blame the pearses for the whole thing. Lol.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 13/01/2010 11:17:40    531697

All GAA people should be proud of all our facilities. This facility may be in Tyrone but it still belongs to all of us as were are all GAA members. I made a donation towards it and I'll be encouraging others to do the same, well done Tyrone and shame on Armagh for having no vision.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 13/01/2010 12:09:13    531740

Sure if Nelson isn't playing ball try giving Iris Robinson a shout, I hear shes very forthcoming with a grand or two!

Seriously though, fair play to Tyrone. As previous posters hae touched on, they should take every single penny they can get. For decades successive Brittish governments have given the people of Tir Eoghain (and throughout the 6 counties) nothing more than loyalist collusion, murders and intimidation. This in turn has hardened the resolve and determination of the Geals of Tir Eoghain to make their games, heritage and community prosper. Take every cent.

As for Paddyogall and the likes, oh what beautiful green eyes you have. Lads catch yourself on hi. You are great examples of a very bitter small-minded people. Its refreshing to see your fellow countymen dissagree with your stance. It seems Tir Eoghains rise is due to continue, this seems to be difficult for some to stomagh.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 13/01/2010 12:10:44    531743