yes it is a free state hipster. we're not part of britain. we're as free as we can be as a country. well we were until the eu came about 32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4134 - 13/10/2009 00:18:07 452608 Link 0 |
Who cares how much money the regieme give to Gaels in the wee six, it could never make up up for all the discrimination and racism of past decades. They should switch to Euros while they are at it and end the last real symbol of imperial oppression and division on our island, the Pound Sterling maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1226 - 13/10/2009 02:41:49 452648 Link 0 |
Any grants that the GAA gets is for the GAA therefore all GAA members can use the facilities etc as we are all members of the one organisation. What surprises me most is people like hipster who clearly joined an organisation whose principles etc he does not agree with!!! Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 13/10/2009 08:22:35 452658 Link 0 |
hipster Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 13/10/2009 09:07:32 452677 Link 0 |
Hipster - you live on the Island of Ireland, but you live in a 26 county Free State; therefore you can be called a 'free stater' as a term of endearment. People living in the 'Free State are not a race so therefore calling them Freestaters is not racist. Call people from the occupied 6 counties 'Nordies' isnt racists either - however it is a fundamentally flawed term as in fact many people in the free state are actually further 'north' than those living in the occupied 6. RuaHughONeill (Tyrone) - Posts: 110 - 13/10/2009 09:11:38 452679 Link 0 |
To the person who brought the Free State into it. Oh Dear oh Dear..... Well I still get goose bumps walking by the GPO every morning and seeing the Tri-Colour flying proud and gloriously above it. Where you get goose bumps because you think you might be getting followed by big fat bald guys with British Bull dog tattoo's on their fore arms. Hmmmmm which one would I choose...? I'll choose the Republic of Ireland - You know the place right. It's the place that people think may people like yourself just have a chip on your shoulder, rather than that Northern Ireland place. Thanks. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/10/2009 09:18:25 452681 Link 0 |
RuaHughONeill County: Tyrone Posts: 59 We live in the Republic of Ireland. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/10/2009 09:35:12 452692 Link 0 |
Some drivel posted on this thread. Didnt know there were so many partitionists out there. Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 13/10/2009 10:24:00 452723 Link 0 |
This thread is distasteful and indeed full of hate. Time to grow up lads, infact I suspect some of the posters are infantile in the extreme. caughtredhanded (Tyrone) - Posts: 602 - 13/10/2009 10:40:27 452745 Link 0 |
Now correct me if im wrong but the only major sporting organisation in ireland that recognises the partitionist settlement is the FAI. Even RTE call the soccer team ireland, so tell me again what country you live in!!! bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 13/10/2009 11:19:40 452783 Link 0 |
Maybe, that for 20 years, GAA in ulster was almost forced underground, disrupted and seen as a hinderance to Britain, they did everything they could to quell the GAA in ulster and for years we were forced to be in a poorer position than eveeryone else. Now we have exploded to popularity never seen before and we are reaping the rewards. If Ulster had the level playing field the rest of the country had in the 70s and 80s then there is no doubt the emergence of Ulster in the 90s and Tyrone over the last 10 years would have happened along time ago. That is why ulster teams are hated, we have caught you up, and in most cases overtaken you, we are now the strongest province and are seen as upstarts, new kids on the block. its just now we are taking advantage of new areas opened up to us that were not available before. And funding had nothing to do with Canavan. or the current generation coming through, it was talent, good coaching and desire (and luck, as with any generation coming together). these players woulod have honed ttheir skills 10 years ago on awful pitches and facilities, the current crop of new facilities and pristine surfaces, are a by product of this success and great organisation of the people running it. gottabetrue (Tyrone) - Posts: 300 - 13/10/2009 12:53:04 452897 Link 0 |
Goodfella Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 13/10/2009 16:17:17 453155 Link 0 |
To be honest Ulsterman I think most of them on this board just say these things to provoke a reaction. They can be hard to listen to all the same!! Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 13/10/2009 16:33:43 453178 Link 0 |
perhaps some of the money should be put into hurling in tyrone. they had great success this year and hopefully with some funding they can continue the good work. bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 13/10/2009 16:54:01 453213 Link 0 |
Ulsterman tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 13/10/2009 17:31:41 453271 Link 0 |
Did ye hear the one about ..........sorry wrong thread ,...and wrong day. gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 13/10/2009 17:32:51 453274 Link 0 |
............and don't you forget it TOMATO. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 13/10/2009 17:41:11 453289 Link 0 |
Ulsterman tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 13/10/2009 17:49:30 453299 Link 0 |
the people in the north use the term the free state as a way to insult people in the 26 counties when you s use it yous know how yous are using it, and ulster man do you want some salt and vinegar for that hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 13/10/2009 18:26:30 453351 Link 0 |
Ah Hipster I didn't realise you were such a sensitive critter. omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 13/10/2009 18:41:50 453371 Link 0 |