British Money paid for Tyrone's titles

I agree with Tom that Jimbodub has had the most sensible thing to say on the subject thus far. It boils down very simply. We pay our taxes to Her Majesty's government therefore we can expect our share of funds that are provided by the sports councils etc. This is called equality. We also pay our membership subscriptions and admission fees that are taken by Croke Park the same as any other county therefore we are entitled to the same funding as every other county. This is also called equality. The political make up of our island is not one that the GAA

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 10/10/2009 16:33:08    450707

I agree with Tom that Jimbodub has had the most sensible thing to say on the subject thus far. It boils down very simply. We pay our taxes to Her Majesty's government therefore we can expect our share of funds that are provided by the sports councils etc. This is called equality. We also pay our membership subscriptions and admission fees that are taken by Croke Park the same as any other county therefore we are entitled to the same funding as every other county. This is also called equality. The political make up of our island is not one that the GAA community in the North chose thus we have to live with the reality that we have. If what this inept excuse of a goalkeeper believes then so be it. The point made by other posters in relation to the success of other counties in Ulster (or perceived lack of) makes this statement completely redundant. Truth be told, I would suggest that the Ulster counties in question put quite a substantial bit more into the GAA coffers than most. From 2002 onwards the Armagh and Tyrone support base in Croke Park on any given day is normally far superior than any other county, Dublin excepted. Even National league games have attendances that are far and away greater than any other county. I travel to virtually every Tyrone away game and the general jist in most towns is thank god Tyrone are playing. Why? simple, the money brought into the southern economy by Tyrone is a welcome welcome boost to the traders in whatever town we go to. Last year in Castlebar is a prime example. Last league game, virtually nothing to play for, every hotel/B&B in the town was booked solid for thw weekend by Tyrone supporters. Killarney a couple of years back, the bar owner joked(seriously) that his holidays were being paid for by Tyrone. Finally, and I think that this is one of the most important points. The advent of Club Tyrone has had a massive impact on the fortunes of Tyrone. This is money paid by ordinary people (not just businessmen) for precious little in return has ensured that the county team(s) are catered for in whatever they require. This frees up vast amounts of money to the County Board which in turn, and fair play to it ploughs it into development squads, coaching courses,upgrade of facilities. This is why Tyrone have come to the fore in recent years and no smallsprinkling of decent footballers. I will not presume to talk about Armagh as I do not know eneough about their set up. It is also remarkable that quite a number of other counties are following in Tyrones footsteps.

Ciarrai Abú, what an obstreperous arrogant individual you are. A bit if competition to your annual annexing of SAM and it is then team of the decade nonsense. A great county you are no doubt, although it still rankles methinks that you could not beat the whippersnappers from Tyrone this decade

Patrique

Makes you wonder about what exactly? Please spread your knowledge to us undeserving neandrethals

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 10/10/2009 16:51:40    450711

So they "bought" the title against Antrim this year. I knew there had to be some reason as there is little chance of Tyrone having 15 better players than us.

It should suit all those United fans they have.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/10/2009 17:03:05    450720

450521 I say..... good.

The amount of horrible **** you people had to deal with up North for the past 40 years is shocking.

It's bad enough to be surrounded by people that hate your guts... I say it's about time you got something back in return.

Honestly hand on heart I'm happy that you boys and girls have had something to celebrate over the last few years, because holy moly you need it having to live in that place.

I'd sooner live in Iraq... Than have be surrounded by loyalists. I mean that 100%

Good on ye... reap the benefits and have your happy days in our capital....because when it's all said and done it's back up the road to that crap hate filled place.

and to Shane Curran.... this country was built with British money and continues to be built with British economics.

Jimbodub your missing the point curran is asking for a level playing field for all.this has nothing to do with 40 years of struggles or bigtory its about if an ulster team gets more funding than a southern team.theirs plenty county boards down here that could to with xtra funding In 99 the british goverment gave the ulster council 10 million from lottery funds not from their tax paying money but from money from the british public.

david09 (Kildare) - Posts: 115 - 10/10/2009 17:04:49    450721

Good man Cake always one for a bit of controversy!! No wonder you were so popular in your playing days!

Rossies4life (Roscommon) - Posts: 178 - 10/10/2009 17:10:01    450726

Omaghredhand you have once again proved the point in my original post ;) You dont just dont like being told how it is fella!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 10/10/2009 17:52:06    450747

There is quite a spineless and vindictive trend building here on HS. O' Gall- David and Tomaoo are relentless in jumping onto every 'Northern' bandwagon, no matter the subject, dressing their hatred up by making vague attempts at serious debate. Couple of points.

Pay tax= get benefits from a very noble and generous sports and culture minister.

Put a claim in for Lottery funding = take your chances on getting some cash.

Be a member of an All Ireland oragnisation (GAA) = Reap the benefits

Why don't the 3 of you start campaigns in your counties to have people withhold ground rent that is paid to titled people in London for the pleasure of living on 'their' land. You could then reinvest this money into more deserving causes.

It appears there are more than the good people of the North who have London to be thankful for.

TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 10/10/2009 18:06:28    450753

what a load of nonsence sure kerry has no british funding and we have 36 all ireland titles.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 10/10/2009 18:13:14    450757

TheGlensman

450753 There is quite a spineless and vindictive trend building here on HS. O' Gall- David and Tomaoo are relentless in jumping onto every 'Northern' bandwagon, no matter the subject, dressing their hatred up by making vague attempts at serious debate. Couple of points.

Pay tax= get benefits from a very noble and generous sports and culture minister.

Put a claim in for Lottery funding = take your chances on getting some cash.

Be a member of an All Ireland oragnisation (GAA) = Reap the benefits

Why don't the 3 of you start campaigns in your counties to have people withhold ground rent that is paid to titled people in London for the pleasure of living on 'their' land. You could then reinvest this money into more deserving causes.

It appears there are more than the good people of the North who have London to be thankful for. ...................Great post glensman

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 10/10/2009 18:26:56    450762

Just wondering can anybody find out how much funding the ulster 6 get every year from british funding .i searched and could only find 99 10 million for that year.its very easy to come on here moaning about the brits and 40 years of struggles and then you go around with the cap out asking for funding hypocrites of the highest order.please remember that the republic is a democracy where you can speak your mind and this is a forum and all views should be welcomed from both sides of the room.

david09 (Kildare) - Posts: 115 - 10/10/2009 18:41:58    450764

TheGlensman

Another post by you about me. I'd love to go back through all of your 69 posts and see how many are about me. An indicative guess would be 60%. With regards to Ground rents to "Titled" people in london i can only presume your on about Lord Lucan in castlebar. These rates have not being paid for the guts of 35 years which makes your point redundant

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/10/2009 18:46:41    450769

the six ulster counties are 100% entitled to their funding from the british government and from gaa head Q , i find it hard to believe that the irish government would also give them money but if they do its wrong but if you say anything taboo about the six counties you get the abuse paddyo has to take

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 10/10/2009 19:21:16    450787

more important what about the Italians playing Ireland tonight on British soil

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 10/10/2009 19:24:23    450788

hipster

450787 the six ulster counties are 100% entitled to their funding from the british government and from gaa head Q , i find it hard to believe that the irish government would also give them money but if they do its wrong but if you say anything taboo about the six counties you get the abuse paddyo has to take .......Hipster what about me

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 10/10/2009 19:27:30    450789

Ahh I see Hipster has joined the throng.

Paddy- The emminent Lord Lucan was/is (?) one of the many who own a lot.

Is it a history or a geography lesson you need?

TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 10/10/2009 19:30:37    450792

TheGlensman

We're not not a bitter secterian society. Who ever owns what lands doesnt mean a great deal. You seem to have a problem with it. I dont care what nationality owns land. If you ever want to be a part of this great republic then the Nordies will have to come to this view point also

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/10/2009 19:48:27    450798

yes tomaoo7 you get your fair share , but i cant imagine the irish government handing out money like that they might give the gaa money and its up to them what they do with it , buts its a hard one to argue does the irish government give grants to teams in the uk , germany usa china france , if someone offers you money you wont say no and now that the tax man is looking at county boards and supporter clubs down here can they look up there

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 10/10/2009 19:53:04    450802

Maybe you boys should be asking why your own corrupt, bankrupt and immoral government arent providing funding at a similar level? Just think lads, when you all make your pre Christmas pilgrimage to Newry, Enniskillen, Strabane, Derry, etc, just think, your "unpatriotic" actions are indirectly aiding the success of the Ulster counties, so you get cheap beer and food for Christmas and we get a crack at Sam, everybodies a winner!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/10/2009 20:32:14    450813

please remember that the republic is a democracy where you can speak your mind and this is a forum and all views should be welcomed from both sides of the room.

A democracy you say. Could you tell me why the 26 county government made you vote twice on Nice and Lisbon after the majority of the 26 county people rejected it?

As an aside I never heard the people of Clones complaining on Ulster final day when two county teams with 35,000 people from the 6 counties come down to spend their british money. I also note that irish rugby and hockey etc get funded by the british and irish governments surely this gives them an advantage on the world stage and is the reason why Ireland are world champions at rugby and hockey. I wonder how many of the "true irish" as they would like to be called have travelled across the border for some cheap shopping!! No problem with the brits then boys!

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 10/10/2009 20:33:07    450814

The UK is also the South's biggest export market, not to mention the millions/billions sent back from the sites in England which propped up the economy in the South since the 50s (at least).

The point is that the economy in the South is as dependent on Britain as the economy in the North is, just in less obvious ways.

Benandonner (Antrim) - Posts: 459 - 10/10/2009 20:34:35    450816