Finals this sun in newbridge so what are your views on who'll win it? Johnboy_hurler (Kildare) - Posts: 32 - 08/10/2009 10:31:35 448413 Link 0 |
hard one 2 call, have seen both teams playing this year and thought both would end up in the final. pound for pound celbridge have better players, i'll go for celbridge by 4. stickywicket (Kildare) - Posts: 61 - 08/10/2009 12:50:48 448536 Link 0 |
I have watched both teams alot over the years. I've only ever seen Celbridge beaten in a final once, in U/21 against confey in ardclough. I'm lookin forward to this final. People wrote off Coill Dubh a few years back myself included but with these few young lads coming through there gonna be around for awhile. Celbridge to win with a puck in it! spooney1 (Kildare) - Posts: 7 - 08/10/2009 14:10:46 448627 Link 0 |
Any good players to look out for in the maynooth-moorefield match? spooney1 (Kildare) - Posts: 7 - 08/10/2009 14:12:17 448629 Link 0 |
As good as Celbridge can be at times I'd expect Coill Dubh's expperience and strentgh to win out. Physically they'll destroy Celbridge. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 08/10/2009 14:34:32 448650 Link 0 |
Coill dubh look class this year. Confey were poor against them but they have just seemed to have got the blend between experience and youth right this year. Celbridge have loads of talent but have failed to live up to the big occasions in the last few years. I'll go for coill dubh but it should be close! hurlinglily (Kildare) - Posts: 6 - 08/10/2009 14:40:05 448654 Link 0 |
Personally I'd like to see celbridge win this. they've always played an honest style of skillfull hurling unlike coill dubh who seem to have the ability to drag games down to their level and pull through. Its definately going to be two contrasting styles! Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2376 - 08/10/2009 19:23:43 448989 Link 0 |
If you manage to mark Oisin Lynch out of the game or he's not in the Confey team their average enough. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 09/10/2009 08:50:15 449333 Link 0 |
My money is on Coill Dubh here. Celbridge don't like it up close and personal and that's just what Coill Dubh will do. Reckon they'll do it by 2 points. AllWhite (Kildare) - Posts: 172 - 11/10/2009 01:15:43 450952 Link 0 |
Anybody tell me how the final finished? mcgrath90 (Kildare) - Posts: 60 - 11/10/2009 20:22:18 451303 Link 0 |
Fair play to Celbridge I had my doubts, I really thought coill dubh we're gonna beat them well today, but Celbridge showed that they are a serious force in Kildare hurling. Well done lads! hurlinglily (Kildare) - Posts: 6 - 11/10/2009 21:53:31 451365 Link 0 |
SmallBallFan (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 11/10/2009 21:55:32 451370 Link 0 |
Anyone who wasn't at this match missed a great game. Best final i've seen in years. Hurling was great from both sides. What happened to D.maloney concussed or what? Thought coverage by KFM was very good too. spooney1 (Kildare) - Posts: 7 - 12/10/2009 10:14:57 451606 Link 0 |
Wasnt at the game myself but from reports i've heard it seemed to be a poor enough game with Coill Dubh never really showing up. Any truth in this? raskolnikov (Kildare) - Posts: 2 - 12/10/2009 13:04:58 451765 Link 0 |
Celbridge won't have it all thier own way in leinster. Kildalkey the meath champs await and can be devastating on their day!!!!!!!!!! rocky2rambo (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 12/10/2009 14:29:25 451830 Link 0 |
Fair play to celbridge,very exciting finish. Maloney seemed to go over on his ankle. who got man of the match? Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2376 - 12/10/2009 18:26:51 452131 Link 0 |
very good game draw probably right result but champions are champions for a reason have to give it to them, 2 bad frees to give away in injury time tho hurlerntheditch (Kildare) - Posts: 6 - 12/10/2009 19:46:37 452251 Link 0 |
just reading programme for hurling county final, i see celbridge's conor kenny only 16 yrs, i think he is 17 next month, surely this must be a record in kildare!! fine game he had 2. stickywicket (Kildare) - Posts: 61 - 13/10/2009 13:20:25 452931 Link 0 |
Dunny of Eire Og (was last wk the last time they'll be honoured at Co. Final w'end?) won an all - ireland junior medal with Kildare whn he was 16. He was in goals. Eoghan Corry's centenary yr book (from 1984) mentions that Dunny was a co. snr in both football and hurling at 17 yrs of age, having been a co. snr hurler at 16 - amazing really. Himself, Tommy Carew, Johnny Walsh and Pat White won Railway Cup medals in hurling (dunny on the team for 4 wins, the others subs once). We've had some great hurlers in Kildare - Conor Kenny has a serious future, as has young John Byrne, Martin Fitzgerald and Paul Kennedy ... assuming they all keep it up. yewtree (Kildare) - Posts: 3 - 13/10/2009 18:22:58 453346 Link 0 |
Yea them lads are lookin real good. Shane Casey (Rip) had only turned 17 when he played corner back for Eire Og in 99 final against Coill dubh. Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2376 - 13/10/2009 20:53:53 453543 Link 0 |