Hurling Team of South Galway

Barnowl94'are you better then N.HEALY? WHERE DO U COME FROM???????? ARE YOU ON A COUNTY GALWAY SENIOR PANEL????????????????

tommym888 (Galway) - Posts: 95 - 12/10/2009 21:25:13    452363

Does someone want to post a Northern team and an Eastern team also?

Northern teams consisting of:
Castlegar
Athenry
Sarsfields
Killimordaly
Carnmore
Turloughmore
Oranmore-Maree
Liam Mellowes
Kilconieron
Rahoon Newcastle
Abbeyknockmoy
Moycullen

Eastern teams consisting of:
Portumna
Loughrea
Meelick Eyrecourt
Tommy Larkins
Cappataggle
Tynagh Abbey Duniry
Kilnadeema Leitrim
Mullagh
Kiltormer
Killimor
Pearses
Ahascragh Fohenagh

That's 12 teams each senior and intermediate. Anyone want to have a go?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 13/10/2009 08:54:26    452666

1.c callalan
2..p callalan
3.k divenney
4.a leech
5.a coen
6.s kavanagh
7.p holland
8.f healy
9.d burke
10.a keirns
11.a harte
12.r murray
13.k burke
14.i tannian
15.n healy

msproject (Waterford) - Posts: 6 - 13/10/2009 11:38:08    452813

Eastern Team, put down as my opinion and there to be shot at.

J Skehill
B Mahoney
D Mc Clearn
O Canning
D Joyce
G Kennedy
K Kilkenny
E Lynch
A Smyth
D Tierney
J Maher
K Hayes
D Hayes
J Canning
J O Loughlin

eye8tipp (USA) - Posts: 207 - 13/10/2009 12:41:39    452884

msproject Thats a great team consisting of players from clubs omitted from Tommy K's list of clubs....time to update that list of yours tommy k

City Lad (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 13/10/2009 17:09:03    453238

it would be a bit of craic to have a 3/4 team one-day tournament on in Pearse Stadium or Athenry - would pull a v large crowd you'd imagine cos everyone would go to see their club mates play. if not for charity then surely a fundraiser for charity! (and pubs would be packed too!)

the.pundit (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 13/10/2009 17:13:19    453242

I think that's a great idea from the pundit. A weekend tournament with 4 teams, 2 semi finals on Saturday, a final and 3rd place game on Sunday. Include a social event on the Saturday night as a fundraiser, and have all proceeds go to underage development at club level. The old boundaries could be modified somewhat to even it up a bit. West: Castlegar, Mellows, Moycullen, Rahoon, Oranmore, Carnmore, Clarinbridge (?). North: Athenry, Abbeyknockmoy, Turloughmore, Sarsfields, Killimordaly (?), Kilconieron, Pearses. East: Portumna, Kiltormer, Mullagh, Tynagh, Loughrea, Cappataggle, Meelick-Eyrecourt. South: Gort, Ardrahan, Beagh, St. Thomas's, Kinvara, Craughwell. It would be great for example to give Intermediate lads an oppportunity to play with the best players in the county, and a good trial format overall for intercounty. Timing would be a problem, maybe an off week during the national league in March or April.

labane1917 (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 13/10/2009 19:08:42    453397

if not for charity then surely a fundraiser for charity
whoops, meant to say fundraiser for the hurling board!

the.pundit (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 13/10/2009 21:06:41    453557

I think those trials should be held in November before a panel of players is decided as the current format means many of the same old tired underperforming players are being picked year in year out. So if we were to have 4 regions this would be my club breakdown taking liberty with some traditional boundaries.

West; Castlegar, Mellowes, Rahoon, Moycullen, Oranmore, Carnmore, Clarinbridge
North; Athenry, Sarsfields, Killimordaly, Abbeyknockmoy, Turloughmore, Pearses, Kilconieron
East; Portumna, Tommy Larkins, Meelick, Kilnadeema, TAD, Loughrea, Mullagh, Cappataggle, Kiltormer, Killimor
South; Gort, Beagh, Kinvara, St. Thomas's, Kilbecanty, Craughwell, Ballindereen, Ardrahan

I think there would be big interest around the county in such trials especially if a rule was made to include at least one players from each club.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 14/10/2009 10:02:25    453906

Super idea.
It would either be a great day or a bloodbath!!

1988 (Galway) - Posts: 354 - 29/06/2010 21:34:21    691538

barnow,whats wrong with niall healy?he is a very good player,leave him alone,he doesnt deserve critcisim he gets.

pullhard13 (Galway) - Posts: 356 - 30/06/2010 10:40:05    691673

hes a good club hurler but his days with galway are numbered

east17 (Galway) - Posts: 35 - 01/07/2010 16:22:15    693421

Say what you want..regardless of how he plays he bangs in a few gooals againsts the cats and will be a loss sunday. 3 in 2005, 2 in 2009.

1988 (Galway) - Posts: 354 - 01/07/2010 20:53:03    693772

that eastern team looks unbeatable!

gaabeo111 (Galway) - Posts: 97 - 02/07/2010 13:16:31    694195

Pullhard, Healy has been dining out on the 3 goals he scored in the 2005 semi for too long. Did you watch any of our championship games last year?Apart from the cake walk against laois he made very little impact.In my opinion he is a player who hasto be fed the ball as he won't win it himself.Give me Kerril Wade anyday!
I hope he proves me wrong someday soon.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/07/2010 17:09:25    694486

barnow,i watch every game,everyone has bad game

pullhard13 (Galway) - Posts: 356 - 02/07/2010 19:05:08    694633