i agree with all the comments on the forum about the support the erins own team got this year, and indeed the rangers support for the final. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 17/10/2009 22:36:43 457441 Link 0 |
Well lads now that its all said and done and the cup is Borris side for another year at least, what is the definitive team of the year??? Im still not fully decided on mine but from reading the posts i cant help but pick up on a few things. 1. There is a big variation at midfield. Personally i think Brian Doyle, Damien Roberts and Derek Byrne are the 3 main candidates. They have given brilliant performances all year, especially doyle and roberts. Doyle gets through a power of work and picks up a huge amount of breaks and also contributes on the score board. Robets almost won the semi for myshal on his own when he went to centre field in the second half and had a great year with the county. Many of ye have J Hickey in your teams, no offence but WHY? Yes, he is a battler and is extremly fit but he was completly out played in the final by minchin and ryan i thought. Iv been to every carlow match this year and time and time again i have seen him make rediculous passes that go horribly wrong. He looks involved but all he does is waits on the wing for a pass and delivers it to forwards. He rarely marks his opponent or helps out his defence. he gets a lot of passes from his defence and drives it in which makes him look good but no one realises that he should be back there helping them instead. In fairness leister did that all year and got very little credit. . Personally i dont see how anyone could pick him ahead of Doyle, Byrne or Roberts for midfield. And as regards hurler of the year, forget it!! 2. There seems to be confusion as to where to play Jacko and Shane Kav. Both fine hurlers but where is their best place. Jacko had a great year at centre back for the county but seemed to play better at full back for EO where he really tightened up the full back line in front of young Townsend. Kavangh is also a tremendous full and centre back but has he the pace for centre anymore? 3. Hurler of the year. A lot of names in the hat here. And i think it should be on performance for the whole championship not just the last few matches. And why do ye say it should go to hickey if rangers win of rogers if EO win for example. thats rediculous. It should go to the best player regardless if he comes from the champions or not. Here are some of my thoughts. Peter Doyle EO, terrific all year, Jacko EO, again terrific all year, when they moved him to full back he made a huge difference to EO and was the man of the match in many of the league stage matches. Great year with county also. Johnny Nevin, wasnt at many of his games but i heard he was their star player all through. Should he deserce a mention? Derek Byrne, again a great year with club and county. So lads, have i stirred it enough. Any thoughts on the above?? Ashbreaker (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 19/10/2009 00:11:46 458330 Link 0 |
Ashbreaker. interesting comments. i will start with just saying well done to rangers on winning the championship. now i am not a rangers man but do admire them & i will take you up on your J Hickey comments. i have been to all the carlow matches this year both in the league & Christy Ring. in the league he was outstanding against Laois when the game was gone he clawed us right back into it & gave us a chance of winning which we did not. he was also exceptional against antrim that day when we recorded our famous vitory. in the christy ring & i have just checked my notes to confirm he scored 4 points against wicklow in the 1st round Kildare second round 1pt in the semi final against Kerry he gave the peformance of the year when we looked like going out scoring 4pts getting fouled for 4 more set up a goal & laying off a couple of scores if i recall right he came off in the semi final replay injured just after setting carlow on the way with a pass to Robbie who goaled & in the final his workrate was phoenomal i can also confirm that he was shortlisted with Jacko Rogers & Shane Kavanagh for GPA christy Ring hurler of the year & will probably get a Christy Ring all star. as for rangers he has being brilliant all year yes he had a quiet final but still Town put 4 different players on him. i think its about time we all gave this guy a break but look at how he has changed from a few years back. i for one admire the way he has turned the corner. he has driven rangers for a number of years now & i think last year was i big injustice to him i for one definatly would have given him hurler of the year. Rangers are a credit to carlow hurling im just looking through Christy Ring final panel on programme & they had 10 on the panel. i think if we all got our clubs to follow suit instead of knocking them we would be better off & to James Hickey i say well done & keep up the good work your a credit to your club & county. CarlowGael (Carlow) - Posts: 41 - 19/10/2009 13:09:40 458759 Link 0 |
As someone said rangers had 10 players on the Carlow team and Erins Own had only 3. This shows the strength of this rangers team. Hugh Paddy O'Byrne was on the Carlow panel and he couldn't get his place on the rangers team. That shows the quantity of quality players they have. Erins Own just got in their face and gave them a right good game. Is there any players from Erins Own who could make the county team for next year. Alan Corcoran, Peter Doyle, Brian Doyle, Eoin Somers??? hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1848 - 19/10/2009 14:12:34 458855 Link 0 |
Ashbreaker what in the hell are you on about.You are slating players there and in all fareness no need for it.I agree with your comments about candidates for players of the year but i have to say Hichey has to be in with a shout. He gives everything form carlow and MLR hurling. When carlow were in alot of holes this year he dug them outa it.Against kerry in christy ring in carlow we were dead a buried only for him and for MLR this year he has been fantastic. Mini did not destry him in final.he stopped hickey from playin and in my opinion that ws one of reason MLR didnt play to their potential because Hickey was being so tightly marked. Accrington (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 19/10/2009 14:31:59 458884 Link 0 |
Accrington what you are saying is that if people stop hickey from playing then they have a good chance of beating them. hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1848 - 19/10/2009 14:39:34 458898 Link 0 |
Accrington (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 19/10/2009 15:00:05 458933 Link 0 |
yes agree 10 on the panel for rangers is great going & still be able to compete in leinster league & kk League. oki (Carlow) - Posts: 38 - 19/10/2009 15:00:43 458938 Link 0 |
Accrington Sligo, oki (Carlow) - Posts: 38 - 19/10/2009 16:17:14 459051 Link 0 |
Thanks for the coments lads. I thought it might create a stir. Maybe i just havent been converted yet and im looking at this situation from the past or the wrong angle, but from where i was looking at a lot of the matches and from speaking to some supporters and players i might add, thats just the opinion i formed. Appreciate your opinions though. Gives me something to think about. Ashbreaker (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 20/10/2009 00:10:30 459741 Link 0 |
I see alot of ye have styler in yer team. i cant remember one game where i seen him play for club or county this year where he played well. Promises alot but rarely delivers. Accrington (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 20/10/2009 09:34:53 459837 Link 0 |
I think craig doyle is a great asset to the county team and a carlow team without him would not be as dangerous i think..............he is a big game player and the christy ring final proved that? carlowfootball (Carlow) - Posts: 4 - 20/10/2009 11:13:10 459979 Link 0 |
Styler is a huge asset to have in my opinion. Yes in fairness he has had a bad year this year for club and county except a very good half against Kildare and the ring final as mentioned. Not a great point scorer but his runs and eye for goal at the right time are a serious threat. He might not have done enough to deserve his start everytime this year but wouldnt he be some impact sub to bring in when you need a goal. Ashbreaker (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 20/10/2009 18:33:27 460648 Link 0 |
Accrington are you serious. You mean tel me you would not have him in ur 15??? itsallyou (Carlow) - Posts: 11 - 20/10/2009 19:04:19 460679 Link 0 |
Players should be picked on form and at present Styler is not doing it. if he keeps up the way he is going he will find it hard to make the county team next year because there is a good few young lads coming through that will make competition for places a bit tougher.You cant have passengers on your team against the likes of Clare, we cant have players on the first 15 just because of their reputation, if a players is not performing he should not be playing on the team Accrington (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 21/10/2009 08:28:16 461158 Link 0 |
i agree with accrington,well said arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 21/10/2009 11:08:30 461302 Link 0 |
no one knows more than himself that he did not perform to his best for club this year! has had a hard time from others about it n will tell u himself of his disappointment at SOME of his performances! feel he had a rite good semi n final, playin in de centre he had to change his style of play and become more in your face type rather than hurling lik he can! hurlinkid (Carlow) - Posts: 56 - 23/10/2009 20:58:11 464637 Link 0 |
I agree with the above. Ive hurled wit him many a time and when chips are down and we need a score he does it. He has also this year changed his game for both club and county from doing most the scorin to workin like a dog. Not an easy thing to do.. An ashbreaker an arrow85 im sure yee are just hurlers on the hill. Try seen it from pitch level. Yes he did have a bad league with his club but he came good at the right time for the semi and the final and worked his socks off..An was superb for the county all year. itsallyou (Carlow) - Posts: 11 - 24/10/2009 12:45:33 464983 Link 0 |
you wouldn't be a sibling of his by any chance would you its all you?? i agree he did have a good final no question about that. arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 24/10/2009 18:14:55 465212 Link 0 |
Great to see 8 Erins Own lads on the Carlow county team. hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1848 - 24/10/2009 18:30:13 465226 Link 0 |