Kilcoo in Ulster Club Championship

Mr Controversial, get over it for fecks sake!

Kilcoo beat us in the final. If our forwards had taken their scores we would have won, but they didnt!

Their players did their jobs better than ours (& their management for that matter!)

Good luck to them, I'd take Kilcoo over a lot of our other neighbour teams.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 14/11/2009 21:21:10    483899

Cwellan7 u say it wont be long again til use have a good underage system wat are use going to do take players from other clubs use are used to that, thats what use are known to do, kilcoo has a bleak HISTORY wat about all the championships they won in the past is that not HISTORY. Cwellan7 its time u went back to some soccer forum and write about how good of a future castlewellan soccer team has because everyone on this forum seems to be getting sick of you, if u have nothing to do go and help your club scout some players that use can take from other clubs since use have a habit of that.

stonedog (Down) - Posts: 352 - 14/11/2009 22:19:12    483912

All the best to Kilcoo tomorrow. They have a great chance of getting to an Ulster Final at the very least. It would be great to see them doing well.

Jofus (Down) - Posts: 248 - 14/11/2009 22:32:43    483929

cwellan7 satop being jealous and take it that kilcoo are better than castlewellan just take it because obviously you can't take kilcoo is successful and castlewellan is not

downrules (Down) - Posts: 60 - 14/11/2009 22:40:55    483939

cwellan7:dry your eyes sure, wonder is the youthful 'mr ballymccartan' gonna hang up his boots? u cant win anything but drinking competitions with oap's!!sure we all wish we were a townie!! NOT.....

cillchuagal (Down) - Posts: 32 - 15/11/2009 01:38:01    484017

Best wishes to Kilcoo today in the Ulster club championship. Hope you do your club proud.

neverafree (Down) - Posts: 456 - 15/11/2009 10:38:13    484068

How did the match go to day

YEAH (Down) - Posts: 35 - 15/11/2009 16:20:55    484219

Hard luck to Kilcoo sad for them and their players. Totally dedicated to football.

tullyframerover (Down) - Posts: 276 - 15/11/2009 18:03:20    484295

wasnt there, unfortunately had to watch another excuse for a game

Sorry Kilcoo but keep your heads up you will be there again

Showed big teams like town & bridge whate real team spirit is about!

Best of luck next year

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 15/11/2009 20:05:52    484386

Kilcoo should be very proud of themselves. They maintained a lead for over 50 mins, despite having a man sent off for something trivial. Even a Loup fan beside me agreed. Kilcoo showed great team spirit. If they had some taller men up front, especially when using the lobbing tactic that Down seniors have overused in the past, then they could've got another goal.

The Loup played well to win by a point but they won't be a match for St. Gall's, who walked all over the excellent Clontibret. A guy in front, whose wife had been doing the 'shout at the players like she was the manager' routine throughout the match, turned round to us to say, "Bring on St Paddy's Day". We laughed, saying "you've another 2 matches to play to get that far".

ajdoyle78 (Down) - Posts: 520 - 15/11/2009 20:24:53    484403

Kilcoo should be very proud of themselves. They maintained a lead for over 50 mins, despite having a man sent off for something trivial. Even a Loup fan beside me agreed. Kilcoo showed great team spirit. If they had some taller men up front, especially when using the lobbing tactic that Down seniors have overused in the past, then they could've got another goal.

The Loup played well to win by a point but they won't be a match for St. Gall's, who walked all over the excellent Clontibret. A guy in front, whose wife had been doing the 'shout at the players like she was the manager' routine throughout the match, turned round to us to say, "Bring on St Paddy's Day". We laughed, saying "you've another 2 matches to play to get that far".

ajdoyle78 (Down) - Posts: 520 - 15/11/2009 20:25:35    484404

the ref was a joke! he was poor towards kilcoo in the second half. there was one time choc got cleaned over the side line badly and loup went down and got a point from it. but fair play 2 ya's, if you's hada got the draw u's wouldve won. i think its galls ulster now and possibly AI.

glenn_abu (Down) - Posts: 515 - 15/11/2009 22:18:34    484530

yes glennabu i know the incident your on about, the ref was poor in the second half but our lads gave a great account for themselves and if some dubious decisions had of went our way we could have won. the loups experience shown through but it was very tight game. well done to the seniors, we wanted the down SFC this year and they delivered it in terrific fashion, beating the top 3 teams on the way to it, ulster was a bonus and then to beat st eunans was a stepping stone that showed that we are not a small club anymore.
well done kilcoo we are all very proud of yous and lets build on this years success.

cillchuaabu (Down) - Posts: 115 - 15/11/2009 22:31:46    484549

Keep your feet on the ground lads. Keeing your crown next year wont be easy. Everyone will want to beat you now.

What odds castlewellan v kilcoo 1st round of next years championship?

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 15/11/2009 22:58:54    484577

I was there to watch the game on Sunday in Casement and I thought the ref put in a great performance and was fair to both sides. The abuse he recieved after the final whistle were disgraceful scenes in my opinion. Just an excuse for Kilcoo!!!. Laverty wasn't up to it!
I'm not hearing too much from cillchuaabu after the abuse he gave the last time I posted a message. I tod him that Kilcoo weren't good enough but he just wouldn't listen to me. I feel that if Kilcoo had have gotten to the final they would have got hammered anyway. Still quite a good year for them but I can't see them winning Down champonship for another couple of years.

MrControversial (Down) - Posts: 77 - 16/11/2009 20:29:03    485489

Hard luck to Kilcoo a fantastic year for such a small club your a credit to the county all you needed was a little bit of luck and you'd be sitting in an ulster final tonight.

Still that shouldnt take away from what has been a fantastic year for the club.

THEBAR (Down) - Posts: 30 - 16/11/2009 22:08:50    485621

THEBAR thanks for that, most people on here are genuine footballing people but you get the odd wind up merchant or numpty that I tend to ignore. I for one thought Kilcoo would not beat St Eunans and was concerned that we would freeze on the big day. We didn't freeze then nor did we yesterday and as you say everyone in the club can be proud of the year. We still have the U-17 and Minors in Ulster and I wish them every success. We could debate the ref's performance but the game has gone and good luck to the Loup in the final.

CrossDarr (Down) - Posts: 101 - 16/11/2009 22:48:44    485702

its great to see kilcoo geting to where they have got to. being disapointed on not reaching the ulster final is a great step in the right direction. i now hope they want to prove that they are not a one hit wonder as all teams esp the bridge win be after their crown. Kilcoo brought excitment and a freshness back to Down football. Had luck yeaterday, but congrats on a very successful season

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 16/11/2009 23:27:27    485744

MrControversial if you are trying to say that it was a kilcoo supporter that threw a bottle towards the referee you are mistaken, it was in fact another down gael from another club that was venting his anger towards the referee. to be honest i agree with you that the referee was fair to both sides but he seemed to give one or two dubious decisions towards kilcoo(eg, Choc getting done over the line whilst kicking the ball)
our lads WERE good enough, they played the better football but they ran out of legs due to big martys dismissal. we led for a very long period in the game and loups extra man shone through in the last 10 minutes. if you feel we would have got hammered then thats your opinion but i dont think we would have. yes it was a great year for the club. i feel we can win the SFC in the upcoming years all we needed was the breakthrough and what a way to do it.

cillchuaabu (Down) - Posts: 115 - 17/11/2009 00:25:40    485774

Cwellan7 in that return fixture i went up to watch it and i seen only 18 players kitted ouut to play, you played a natural forward in nets? when you got a man injured put a 17year old defender in corner forward played totally out of postion, a mighty club lyk castlewellan should be able to get players that can play in that position? he still played better than half the team! off topic i know but hard luck kilcoo played your hearts out and were the better team i thought with a bit of luck here and there would of won the game. great reprosentitives of down. although st galls seem a class act this year

dpktech100 (Down) - Posts: 15 - 17/11/2009 10:17:52    485874