U21 A hurling championship

The club didnt pull out because we were gonna get hammered it was due to club suspensions and the fact that there wouldnt be 15 players available

angrybeaver (Limerick) - Posts: 139 - 13/11/2009 16:56:24    483152

ballybrown 2-11 Ahane 4-1... good win for ballybrown after a shaky start where ahane scored 4 goals inside the 1st 20 minutes but only scored 1 point in the next 40 mins!! ballybrown made full advantage of the wind in the second half with a very strong performance... good on the day were kyle loftus, james hall james garvey and keel moloney!! cjp was very quiet for ahane and never got going, was switched a number of times but made no impact which left it down to the maddens, did alot of hurling but couldnt score throughout... good physical battle played in garryspillane which was in great condition and ballybrown march on!!!

Will_Ferrell_09 (Limerick) - Posts: 123 - 15/11/2009 21:12:22    484446

I predict The Well to beat Doon, and Bruff to overcome Allaughan Gaels, but that one could be a battle.

Still hard to look past Kilmallock for the county though

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 18/11/2009 18:00:06    487632

semi finals:
ballybrown vs bruff
p/well or doon vs kilmallock

Will_Ferrell_09 (Limerick) - Posts: 123 - 24/11/2009 01:04:30    492458

Told you the Bruff v Allaughan Gaels game would be a battle. Only for three excellent saves from the Bruff Keeper, including one from a penalty, the Gaels would have won this game. Indeed it was a real tough game served up in bad conditions, fair play to both teams for that. Gaels could have won it, could have gone either way, especially if a late late penalty decision, (which looked like it was a pen), was given to Gaels when they had Bruff goals under siege. The Well and Doon drawing was a surprise because of Doon's poor showing in the East Final and The Well's excellent City Final win over a strong Ballybrown side who were hammering all before them. Predictions: County Semi Final Bruff v Ballybrown - I fancy Ballybrown to win this one, Bruff struggled against Allaughan Gaels and could have lost the game. Ballybrown are a physically strong side and have a few lads who are on the age.i expect them to win another close battle. The Well v Doon - I fancy Patrickswell to come through this one. In the semi, Kilmallock will come through by 5 or 6. That leaves a Kilmallock and Ballybrown final, with the cup returning to the Balbec town once again. Ballybrown will give it everything but it might not be enough. It would be nice to see someone else win it though, be good for Hurling, and thats nothing against Kilmallock.

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 24/11/2009 17:23:48    492960

twould be great to see some one else win it think killmallock mite be bit rusty and could be caught as they've only played one match all year as there was only two teams in south which lead to straight final and they recieved walk over in county 1/4 from n.c.w

DBOY (Limerick) - Posts: 30 - 24/11/2009 19:41:58    493118

Great to see Allaughan Gaels beaten . These teams made up of 5-6 clubs are a joke, does not give other 1 club teams a chance.

Go back to playing division 6 with ye'r own club and leave the Premier division to the big boys!!!!!!

WestOutcast (Limerick) - Posts: 262 - 26/11/2009 12:23:01    494692

WestOutCast, your comments would have been very appropriate in the 1930's and 40's had either you or HS been in existence then...

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 26/11/2009 12:49:50    494730

Regarding studid comments by west outcast: Have you got a clue whatsoever about hurling in general. If they have 5 or 6 clubs joined could you please name them for me. They have tour and glantine and thats it,, and before you start more stupid **** mountcollins and tour ARE THE ONE CLUB. and they only have 2 or 3 at most from abbetfeale. The fact of the matter is that either of these clubs would not be able to field a team on their own. My guess is that you are another wonderful sporting person from newcastlewest that just cant take your beating. So get over yourself you sad individual. I would also like to wish bruff the best of luck. I was at the match and it was a good match played very fair by both teams. (maybe other teams could learn from this and there would be no need for internal suspensions within their own club)

waitingsince73 (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 26/11/2009 14:55:19    494881

some clubs were removed from under 21 b championship and suspensions followed IE BRUREE / DROMIN ATT. will the county board follow suit as there was at least 1 under 16 playing in the bruff v allaughan gaels match .

123fedup (Limerick) - Posts: 225 - 26/11/2009 15:15:47    494900

Replay between Patrickswell and Doon fixed for this Sunday 29th Nov at 12.30 in Martinstown.

Decie (Limerick) - Posts: 67 - 26/11/2009 15:23:27    494911

RE: waitingsince73 I did not realise that Tour and Mountcollins was one club. Does that mean that they have one chairman, committee ect., why have they 2 pitches (1 for hurling and 1 for football is it), some clubs have fantastic facilities. Not too sure of that! I know Tour is the longest village in Ireland but I did not realise it stretched to Mountcollins! I know they speak the same language but they are not the same club............ abbetfeale????? Abbeyfeale, Glantine, Tour, Mountcollins, Athea - I think that is 5 clubs is it? As far as my post it seems to have really annoyed you, but the truth is that I am stating the facts. I sense a hint of begrudgery in you'r post. You can say what you want but everyone is entitled to their opinion. As far as being "another wonderful sporting person from newcastlewest" you'r way off I'm afraid.

WestOutcast (Limerick) - Posts: 262 - 26/11/2009 16:11:05    494992

First of all name any player from athea playing with the gaels i think youl struggle to name one seen as there is none...

Tour and Mountcollins are the one parish...they have seperate chairmans as they go as tour in hurling and mountcollins in football..it is the very same as doon and oola over in east limerick!!

As for Abbeyfeale they have no hurling team and as tournafulla and templeglantine are the closest hurling team to them they are entitled to play with them..do u expect abbeyfeale to start u a hurling team for 2 or 3 players...if these players dindt get the chance to play with the gaels they would never get the chance to experience the great game of hurling!!it can only be doing limerick hurling good to get as many players from football clubs playing hurling!!

waitingsince73 (Limerick) - Posts: 188 - 26/11/2009 19:54:44    495309

once again, Allaughan Gaels represented themselves, their families and the two parishes and clubs of Templeglantine and Tournafulla with pride and respect on Monday night and gave an excellent display against one of the best u21 teams around in Bruff, and could have, maybe should have won the game. You should keep your begrudgery and jealousy to yourself. I for one are happy for them, as are all the hurling people from other clubs who go to club games and who were present at West Final and again on Wednesday night. Young lads like them who live for hurling, and two hurling clubs like that, is what we need in Limerick. They had a great year, well done to all.

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 26/11/2009 21:03:11    495401

regarding waitingsince73's comments "Tour and Mountcollins are the one parish...they have seperate chairmans as they go as tour in hurling and mountcollins in football..it is the very same as doon and oola over in east limerick!"

I think you're bending the truth a bit there in an effort to strengthen your argument and in doing so are diminishing the achievements of both clubs!
Not only are there two separate chairmen, these clubs operate completely independent of each other, each having their own facilities and club structures each centered around its own community. This is demonstrated by the fact that Tournafolla contribute only one member to the current Mountcollins football squad.

Because of the rural nature of the area, both clubs depend on each other for survival at underage grade, and have very close links in this regard. However as players grow older and have less time to dedicate to sport, they tend to filter back to their home club. A Mountcollins player choosing hurling over football or vice-versa would in fact be very rare.

An_Capall_Dubh (Limerick) - Posts: 24 - 26/11/2009 23:46:53    495692

The points made above exactly, but they have their social together, they considered as the one parish in many areas! Tour is the hurling club and mountcollins is the football club, like many other clubs that operate the same way in the county!
Westoutcast has sour grapes and a lot of jealousy!

Two_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 55 - 27/11/2009 00:48:59    495749

as i believe iv stated be4 Gaels can pick from 5parishes, just because young fellas dont from abbeyfeale dont play doesnt stop anyone from there playin. Iv nothin against these clubs joining, its obvious they have to, but these 5 parishes all have there own facilities fields etc. So people from back 'yer side' dont get it. Ye won a west fair play to ye.....all be it with 5parishes

NCW (Limerick) - Posts: 19 - 27/11/2009 18:43:19    496353

Look, Allchan Gaels do have 5 clubs playing for them all be it 3 are football only clubs. So I agree with NCW any player from Abbeyfeale, Athea or Mountcollins CAN play hurling for A.Gaels if they wish, and if they want to they will be joining Tour and Glantine.

So as I count it thats 5 clubs waitingsince73?

Also 123fedup under16s are aloud to play u21 as you are aloud to play two age groups over your own.

Ciotog (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 27/11/2009 21:31:40    496538

NCW there ye pop up again, still not over the beating! Ye are a massive town, its 2 hurling clubs joined simple as that, iv rarely seen hurling matches on at mountcollins, abbey or athea??? They are football clubs and don't have the interest in hurling so for the lads living in them areas that want to hurl (there is only 3 on the 21s from abbey, none from athea, the boys from mountcollins always played for Tour, and the tour boys who want to play football play with mountcollins!

Oola and doon is the same, its askeaton in hurling and ballysteen in football, but people from them areas play for both!
Ye have a massive town and for a team of '5' parishes thrown together as ye like to think the discipline of the players of Allaughan gaels was a lot better than a team playing together since Under 12's..........yer own club pulled ye out of a Co. A quarter final ye made such a show of yerselves!!!
Perhaps u should spend less time on here and more time showing those lads how to conduct themselves!!! (if ur not one of the players)

Two_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 55 - 28/11/2009 01:01:00    496678

ah no Ciotog, 16s can only play minor... the rule says you CANT play 2 grades above your own

S Man (Limerick) - Posts: 229 - 28/11/2009 18:43:28    497014