U21 A hurling championship

Superior Gaels team beat NCW by four on Sunday. NCW got late goal. I hope Kilmallock hammer NCW after the disgraceful behaviour, complete lack of repect and dignity some (most actually) NCW players showed for their club on Sunday last. Discipline of Gaels side was admirable. When you have NCW people coming out of the game afterwards saying they were glad their lads were beaten then you can imagine how bad they were. I feel really sorry for the three or four genuine lads who just want to play hurling on that team. Anyone that witnessed their feeble attempts at getting at the Gaels players at the end of a game where they were well beaten would agree with me on this. Felt really sorry for the NCW management too. Fair play to Gaels for showing immense restraint and more importantly, respect for Templeglantine/Tournafulla clubs, their families in the stand, their management and above all, themselves. Only one team concentrated on hurling in that game and that team got their reward in the end.

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 04/11/2009 00:15:05    474570

kilmallock and bruff will be too strong for newcastle west and allughaun gaels, both to come through handy enough!! in the east, a big surprise in the final as doon have dominated that age for years... but fairplay to ahane!! in the city, ballybrown in the city final already... patrickswell and na piarsaigh playin 2nyt in staker wallace, i in of that should join ballyb in the final... i see patrickswell coming through!! city final should be a cracker!!

Will_Ferrell_09 (Limerick) - Posts: 123 - 05/11/2009 13:49:12    476032

kilmallock and bruff will be too strong for newcastle west and allughaun gaels, both to come through handy enough!! in the east, a big surprise in the final as doon have dominated that age for years... but fairplay to ahane!! in the city, ballybrown in the city final already... patrickswell and na piarsaigh playin 2nyt in staker wallace, winner of that should join ballyb in the final... i see patrickswell coming through!! city final should be a cracker!!

Will_Ferrell_09 (Limerick) - Posts: 123 - 05/11/2009 13:49:45    476033

Kilmallock wont even have to play NCW to go through, NCW Gaa Club are pulling their U21 team out of the championship after last Sunday's debacle. Seems they have had enough of some of their players carry on and are finally taking a stand on it. Anyone that saw their carry on Sunday wont argue!! The fear now is that one or two of the better lads who are genuinely interested in hurling might look to go elsewhere as this is not the first incident like this to dog the NCW club. Kilmallock would have hammered them anyway, and Bruff prob will be too strong for Allaughan Gaels, though after last week id love to see them do well, they certainly won my admiration and respect last week.

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 05/11/2009 21:32:35    476576

They wont need to be too strong for us as we have pulled out ofter the west final debacle, fast_hands County: Limerick Posts: 53 I must say your comments about the NCW players are very harsh, you cant say that Newcastle didnt play hurling, they did for maybe for maybe 50min, but I do agree that what happened should have never happened. I think that a stronger ref should have been appointed and as both 'disturbences' were happening at either end of the field the ref was just standing on the half way line! And I would also like to add that Newcastle players did recieve a lot of un-called for abuse from opposition players, selectors and supporters which was un-necessary for a team largely full of minors. I am not defending any of the actions of the Newcastle players but the Gaels player in question was one of those people in question. Although the incident is more then likely going to inhance Newcastles reputation.......

NCW (Limerick) - Posts: 19 - 05/11/2009 21:58:03    476599

RE : fast_hands From reading you'r comments you seem like a typical hurler in the ditch. The West Final last week was a game played in very wet & cold conditions. A Gales (a parish the size of Carlow) were superior in size and fitness to a very young NCW team that have not had proper hurling training since the Intermediates finished up. The minors won the Premier Football so the players were concentrating on this. Skill wise was about equal even do NCW were very light and young compared to their counterparts. A Gales got off to a good start and raced to a good lead at half time. NCW tried to get back into the game in the second half but the men from the Kerry border held out. Both teams were responsible for "rough play" and it would be unfair to single out NCW in this as their players were been taunted with the usual stuff when country teams play NCW. Totally uncalled for especially when these lads giving the abuse rely on NCW as a town for almost everything (School, shops, nightlife). These lads would not dare to pass comments like this when out and about in NCW. I was in the stand and witnessed this first hand. I have been subject to these stupid comments myself when playing for NCW!!! Some of the "fans" are to blame also but I found it hard to understand what some of the A Gales "fans" were saying due to the blustery conditions!!!!!!! As far as I am concerned what happens on the field should stay on the field and if you are good enough to give it you have to take it. But it seems that some lads (re:fast_hands) never played hurling or do not know that players can get caught up in a moment and just loose it for 5-6 seconds. Lads move on and less of the NCW bashing, there is a lot of work being done in the club to curb the attitude of some of the players, so make sure ye'r own house is in order first before comments can be passed on others!

WestOutcast (Limerick) - Posts: 262 - 06/11/2009 14:25:11    477161

Westoutcast: A hurler on the ditch??!! Ha Ha, that brought a smile to my face. I'll say no more about it cos it would be childish and silly of me start arguing with you on that, but trust me, im no hurler on the ditch, and iv the marks and scars to prove it (and one or two medals too!). Back to the adult stuff; As a neutral, i think it very unfair that you try and take away from the Gaels win by saying they have a pick the size of Carlow!!! Slight exaggeration there! How many thousand people live in NCW? Id say there is less than one thousand people between Tour and Templeglantine. I think ye should stop making excuses and take ye're beating, seeing as ye're players could'nt. All teams dish out verbals and there is argy bargey in most championship games. In most Gaa matches, there is banter and verbals in the stand too, it goes hand in hand with intense games. Most teams deal with it. NCW deal with it in a way nobody else does. Dont believe me?? Enquire to find out if the West Board want to bring NCW up over last weekends debacle. I heard nothing about calling A Gaels in! Maybe the board officers saw what they saw with their own eyes! Like everyone else too, including me! Everyone cant be wrong. Maybe it is just ye...luckily for ye the issue is being dropped, mainly due to the fact the Tour and Templeglantine clubs dont want to pursue it further. Im hardly exaggerating, seeing as the NCW club saw it fit to pull their own team out of the rest of the Championship because of the disgraceful carry on last week. When your own club knows the score, well then that says it all. If NCW really did feel agrieved and harshly treated, they would not have pulled their team out. From what i hear from my two friends in NCW, they were pulled out because the club are sick and tired of the attitude and carry on of an element of the NCW underage/minor/u21 players. Again, this is what was said to me from NCW sources. I have nothing against NCW. I know a lot of people there and there are really good hurling and football people in the club, and bags of talent. But ye must face ye're own demons, stop making excuses and blaming others. Not everyone can be wrong, ask most clubs. And jealousy is hardly the reason that ye are disliked, ye are not exactly the most successful club around, in fact ye underachieve for ye're size and some of the good players ye have. I do hope NCW deal with their problems and concentrate solely on their hurling and football. They have bags of talent and if they eliminate the horrible attitude and carry on of some, then they could be a real force. Gaa in Limerick needs its big towns like NCW. Best of luck to Rathkeale and Killeedy in the County Junior B Final this weekend also.

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 07/11/2009 03:09:00    477908

07/11/2009 03:09:00
fast_hands
County: Limerick

First of all there A.Gaels have as much as a pick as Newcastle. They have literally a quater of west Limerick, Glantine, Tour, Mountcollins, Athea and A bbeyfeale which isnt exactle a small village, and i would also like to add that you have multiple other sports like rugby and soccer.

And what was being said was a lot more then 'banter' but i suppose you wouldnt being a 'country man' you wouldnt understand, and if you recieved the abuse that the NCW players got you would have probably responded in the same way

There is no defending the the NCW players what happened should not have happened and could have been prevented by as NCW put is a stronger ref.

Just look at the minor footballers. Won a county premier football, a very well disciplined side many of whom were playing in the match in question. I didnt hear about Newcastle players having a bad attitude then but when something happens its always Newcastle fault, and no doubt this time it was but I can think of several other times where it wasnt a still recieved the

There are also several other clubs more disliked then us, a few of them being part of yer own set up!

Ciotog (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 07/11/2009 11:40:47    477986

Ciotog;

See what i mean?? Still defending the undefendable! Firstly, "my own set-up"?? I was at the match as a love of hurling and a neutral. I had no involvement with either club. I go to the West U21 A Hurlin final every year. Secondly, as a life-long fan of hurling, i have never heard of Hurling clubs in Mountcollins, Athea or Abbeyfeale! Now unless they have sprung up over night and suddenly joined forces with Allaughan Gaels then you cannot include them. Yes, there are players from Abbey involved, as there has always been. It is hardly the pick of a whole town though. Very very few play hurling from Abbeyfeale abd because there is n hurling there they can play with Tour or Templeglantine. If these lads want to hurl then they are entitled to with their nearest club, but dont be ridicolous in saying that the whole of Abbeyfeale is there to pick from too, thats incorrect. 2 or 3 players is hardly the whole town!!

As for Athea, that is a ridicolous comment. I have cousins in Athea and know a lot of people and i can garauntee you that there were no Athea men involved last week. And again, as far as i know, Athea are a Football club, there is no hurling WHATSOEVER played there, unless they formed last week!

The biggest joke of all was including Mountcollins. It shows you to be a typical townie who has'nt a clue about anything outside ye're smokey housing estates. Even i know that Mountcollins and Tournafulla ARE THE SAME PARISH! Just like Askeaton and Ballysteen, Knockaderry and Clouncagh, Feohanagh and Castlemahon, etc. Every second team in Ireland is made up like this. Mountcollins and Tour are the one and have always played together, never any different, Tour in Hurling and Mountcollins in Football. If you knew anything about GAA in your locality, then you would know that. And once again, as far as i know, there is NO HURLING CLUB in Mountcollins, seeing as their parish's hurling club is in Tour.

Therefore, A Gaels is made up of two small Hurling clubs from two smal villages; Templeglantine and Tournafulla. Any players playing with them from Abbeyfeale have done so all their life, like it always was, as there is no hurling in Abbeyfeale. I counted 2 Abbeyfeale players involvement last week, and i distinctly remenber one of them playing as far back as u12 with Tournafulla. As a neutal, i have no problem with this, and either should you. If they had ten lads from Athea, ten from Abbeyfeale you would have some argument, but they dont, so you dont. A pick one quarter the size of West Limerick!! You should get out of that town and see the size of those two small villages that beat ye last Sunday...And from what i heard at work from a Tour man, the cup was first brought to Templeglantine and later to Tournafulla that night. No trip to "the seperate parish" of Mountcollins, or Abbeyfeale town or Athea?????!!!!! WHAT? Surely they would have gone there if those great hurling strongholds were involved!!! It was celebrated where Allaughan Gaels are from, Tour and Glantine.

Fair play to ye're Minor team. I saw them in action and they were a brilliant side, well disciplined. What does that tell you though?? Maybe the lads with the horrible attitudes are a year or two overage for Minor! Can you think of any??! Maybe they drag the rest of them down with them then, when they join up at u21 level. Maybe those few guys are the problem, ye're problem.

Stop defending those that drag ye're name through the mud. Stop blaming others. And stop trying to smear the win of a team who were a joy to watch last week and come from two tiny villages.

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 07/11/2009 15:47:40    478148

fast_hands i find it very hard to believe that you're a neutral. Just from looking at the county predictions thread and the best pitches thread you seem to have a thing for glantine and tour! I could be a million miles off in saying that and you could be completely genuine.. just something i noticed...
Having said that you spoke a lot of sense in some earlier posts on this thread. Also for those who think tour and mountcollins are 2 parishes you should get the facts before ranting on the subject i'v seen similar comments on askeaton/ballysteen, murroe/boher etc

offwithya (Limerick) - Posts: 120 - 07/11/2009 16:28:13    478187

I have no particular love for either Tour or Glantine. As regards my knowledge of that area, pitches, how they are going at the start of the year,predictions, etc; I come from a parish in the same division, and we have a healthy rivalry with NCW, Tour and Templeglantine. My defence of Allaughaun Gaels and criticisms of NCW were based on what i saw last Sunday with my own two eyes. Iv always been very involved with Hurling in the area and know all 3 clubs well, know a lot of West Board officers well from dealing with them down the years and know a lot of people in the three clubs being discussed. Thats where i got my info from and also, everyone that knows anything about Hurling in West Limerick knows the Tour/Mountcollins story, knows Abbeyfeale's story and Athea's also. That was just common sense. I dont really comment on my own club as a rule because i would be too biased. We only had a mediocre year anyway, so nothing to shout about!

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 07/11/2009 17:07:56    478214

fast_hands Obviously Mountcollins, Athea and Abbeyfeale have no hurling team but does that stop any young fella from there that wants to play hurling playing? They still have a bigger pick then us. There was no under16 hurling team in NCW this year......so what does that tell you about the amount of players we have to pick from! Your comment that it is two small hurling clubs from two small villages is idiotic. I wouldnt call Tour a small club, would you? They have been senior for how long before being relegated? With a couple of ex Limerick seniors. Im not defending our players at tall,they acted disgracefully and deserve what ever sanctions they get. Fair play to A.Gaels they deserved the win. They were stronger physically and took there scores when they got the chance. But i get the sense that your painting all the NCW players with the one brush, I dont know if you ever played hurling or not but if you did you will have, you should realised when something like that happens it is a select few not the entire 15!

Ciotog (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 07/11/2009 18:08:08    478246

fast_hands Obviously Mountcollins, Athea and Abbeyfeale have no hurling team but does that stop any young fella from there that wants to play hurling playing? They still have a bigger pick then us. There was no under16 hurling team in NCW this year......so what does that tell you about the amount of players we have to pick from! Your comment that it is two small hurling clubs from two small villages is idiotic. I wouldnt call Tour a small club, would you? They have been senior for how long before being relegated? With a couple of ex Limerick seniors. Im not defending our players at tall,they acted disgracefully and deserve what ever sanctions they get. Fair play to A.Gaels they deserved the win. They were stronger physically and took there scores when they got the chance. But i get the sense that your painting all the NCW players with the one brush, I dont know if you ever played hurling or not but if you did you will have, you should realised when something like that happens it is a select few not the entire 15!

Ciotog (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 07/11/2009 18:31:16    478261

There are a few players in NCW that the club could do without to be honest.

I suppose every club has one or two. But NCW seem to have around 3-4 players who would be better off playing conkers up the Demain.

Only thing is some of these lads are the most talented players in Limerick nevermind NCW, so have to live with them i'm afraid...

WestOutcast (Limerick) - Posts: 262 - 09/11/2009 10:49:07    479190

i'd say i'll be putting my dollars on ahane or bally.

bally good setup should walk to the semis at least before things start getting tough.

cjp seems to be pulling all sorts of rope for ahane, never realised he was such a sharp shooter at the ball and stick.

perhaps justin would have a go at getting him over to the hurlers this year. himself and the magnificent maddens would be a great addition to the delapidated squad.

claghaun1982 (Limerick) - Posts: 90 - 09/11/2009 18:42:59    479615

Patrickswell beat Ballybrown last night in the City Final (3.14 to 1.12?). Anyone know fixtures for the quarter-finals that are to take place this weekend?

Decie (Limerick) - Posts: 67 - 12/11/2009 12:06:20    482006

Ahane v Ballybrown in Croom
Patrickswell vDoon in Knocklong
Not sure of the times

oem (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 12/11/2009 12:56:23    482054

Super performance by The well the other night, was at the game myself and they really stuck it to a well drilled, military trained ballybrown side. very surprised they bate them but fair play.
clash of the supergiants this wknd, bally v ahane, its almost a bigger battle than mayweather pacquaio. will the ultra defensive and superb counter attacking skills of mayweathers kyle loftus led ballybrown side be able to deal with the snappy skills of pacquiao's ahane warriors, who's charge is driven forward by mesmerizing stickwork from the madden brothers and brutal powerful heavy shots delivered by limerick superstar cjp!!!a titanic clash eagerly awaits this wknd.i implore all 30 men to make their peace with god because when the whistle blows there's no what can happen.

claghaun1982 (Limerick) - Posts: 90 - 12/11/2009 14:32:24    482145

Doon V Patrickswell fixed for Tues evening at 7.30 in Martinstown pitch under lights

Decie (Limerick) - Posts: 67 - 13/11/2009 12:36:03    482867

NCW pulling out of an A county quarter final is a disgrace, a big town! Fair enough kilmallock would have beaten them but just because there was fighting (there always is anyway) in the 21s west that involved ncw they pull out! Got to be unfair on the ones that want to hurl and the players that just want to fight must be delighted, they should consider havng no hurling teams, they ony use hurleys as a weapon most of them!! To hear then that there players got the abuse, more like the other way around! Also what about the supporter from ncw that jumped the wire???? they use the same tactics everytime i watch ncw play, it doesn't work on everybody!

Two_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 55 - 13/11/2009 14:25:59    482991