Best Hurler Since The 90s

"no. icon of mour"

You are dribbling and drooling. Grab one of those Kleenex and wipe yourself off and come back and talk some sense.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 24/09/2009 14:28:41    435305

pudders, we don't need any more WUMs on here, stick to yer pitch invading please.

kleenex (Wexford) - Posts: 392 - 24/09/2009 14:29:59    435307

brian whelahen is the greatest hurler of his genaration ,as for martin storey i take it you wer out celabrating arthur guinness day today klennex .

liffo (Offaly) - Posts: 649 - 24/09/2009 14:35:10    435318

excuse me liffo, many a day storey outclassed whelahan. Many's a day.

And yes I am celebratin Arthur Guiness Day, and I hope you Offaly men aint.
Yee don't deserve a good time for givin us that Brian Cowan and the lieks!

kleenex (Wexford) - Posts: 392 - 24/09/2009 14:38:01    435323

Either Brian Whealan or Brian Lohan

I'd give Lohan the nod.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/09/2009 16:01:47    435431

donie ryan. 100% fact

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 24/09/2009 16:14:06    435445

He was'nt a patch on Tony Doran even n the 90,s Tonys performances for the Alley junior B would have outshone Storey at his prime

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 24/09/2009 16:16:35    435446

sez yer man from Donegal.

You'd know a lot about hurlin alright!!

kleenex (Wexford) - Posts: 392 - 24/09/2009 16:40:52    435481

I'd agree. Tony Doran, what a legend. Him and the Buggy's. What a team Wexford had in the late 1970s. It is sad tos ee Wexford hurling where it is now compared to where it used to be. Kilkenny always feared Wexford. Wexford and Cork were the two teams to beat in the 1970s.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 24/09/2009 16:46:52    435497

Actually Limerick in the early 70s were some team and Tipp but I'm more thinking of the late 1970s.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 24/09/2009 17:03:40    435525

I'd time for Martin Storey but seen as bogroll has nominated him it lessens my opinion of Storey.... stop clouding my memories of great hurlers and stick to your pointless WUM'ing

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/09/2009 17:35:22    435564

10/10 for Kleenex sparking off a top class debate, with humour & wisecracks.

Kleenex did you ever see Tony Doran play? I only did once, 1983 NHL semi Limerick V Wexford, he had a great game & scored a trademark hand pass over the head.

Would you not rate Damien Fitzhenry, Larry O'Gorman or Billy Byrne as high as Storey?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/09/2009 18:12:33    435591

Pudderthecat wrote: Actually Limerick in the early 70s were some team and Tipp but I'm more thinking of the late 1970s. I've only ever seen videos of the 70's team pudders but always thought we had a brilliant side from 1980-84 but we just could not beat Cork in Munster. We beat them in the 1980 Munster final, but we were beaten by a fine Galway side in the final, we avoided them in 81, but Galway beat us in the semi final again. We had arguably the best Limerick side ever in 1983 & 1984 but Cork had too much for us both years. Then Joe McKenna suffered a collapsed lung in 1984 and we waned a bit from there onwards. Put it this way 1980-85 record was 1980 NHL final Cork 4-15 Limerick 4-6 1980 Munster final Limerick 2-14 Cork 2-10 1980 All-Ireland final Galway 2-15 Limerick 3-9 1981 Munster Final Limerick 3-12 Clare 2-9 1983 NHL Final Kilkenny 2-14 Limerick 2-12 1984 NHL Final Limerick 3-16 Wexford 1-9 1985 NHL final Limerick 3-12 Clare 1-7 7 finals won 4 lost 3. The fact this side never won the All-Ireland was a travesty, but it was a golden era for hurling with Galways breakthrough in 80, Offaly's in 81 and winning again in 85 and the old reliables of Kilkenny & Cork chipping in with wins in 82, 83 & 84.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/09/2009 18:22:05    435597

Certainly the best Leinster hockey player in that era.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/09/2009 18:24:01    435599

Well Slayer, I seen Martin Storey play, I was a dirty thought when Tony Doran was playing (but kleenex was not saying anything about Tony Doran, Storey is his idol) but Liam Dunne was better than storey. Kleenex, what's wrong with your other clubmate, Liam Dunne????

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/09/2009 23:31:31    435937

I agree with Liam Griffin, as I like to follow the crowd.

DJ Carey, best player in the last 50 years, without question.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/09/2009 00:07:05    435970

now lads give kleenex his dues story was a good one,but if it greats you want martin would only be no 4 or5 in wexford,in offaly we rate hanamy, troy, all the dooleys jaysus where will i stop,in all fairness dj and our own brian whelehan were streets ahead of the rest

luker (Offaly) - Posts: 107 - 25/09/2009 00:09:42    435971

slayer County: Limerick Posts: 1107 435597 Pudderthecat wrote: Actually Limerick in the early 70s were some team and Tipp but I'm more thinking of the late 1970s. I've only ever seen videos of the 70's team pudders but always thought we had a brilliant side from 1980-84 but we just could not beat Cork in Munster. The Limerick team in the early 80s was a very good side. In Eamon Cregan they had an all time great. Great is an over used word and applied to many, but Cregan is a candidate for the greatest team ever. If Foley hadn't got the line in 81 they may well have made the breakthrough. The fact that they could not get past Cork in Munster, a bit like the best Clare team I ever saw, the 1977/78 outfit, was one of the reasons the back door should work better in hurling. However, it hasn't quite worked out that way, and actually cost Waterford an all Ireland in 04. That Limerick side also had Enright and McKenna, and were a good outfit, certainly worthy of a title.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/09/2009 00:12:56    435972

Ciaran Carey

best ever

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 25/09/2009 01:39:33    435985

Liam Watson, Antrim

Sadly left the squad a yr ago due to irreconcilable differences with management. Still plays for his club loughgiel and soccer for Donegal celtic.

Great player, lovely to watch in full flow regularly got into double figures

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 25/09/2009 07:30:40    436000