Cork fans attacked

In fairness these people are just a bunch of louts. MOST Dublin people are good natured and friendly people. However as in all counties you get those who are just out to cause trouble. Hopefully these people recover and will wear their jersey with pride again

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 23/09/2009 21:20:01    434753

Just a comment or two from myself as a native of Europes most friendly city as voted for by European tourism survey! While I naturally condem an incident of this nature one or two of the alleged remarks just sound a bit fishy to me, I mean I could imagine some s*u*bag saying "Get that jersey off ye!" type thing but not "What are you doing wearing that jersey after ye lost!" Such qoutes sound a little bit added onto if you ask me in an attempt to make them sound worse! Im gonna get some abuse for saying that just because its my county involved but all sounds a bit sensational to me! Would the Cork newspaper publish such a story had the alleged attack been from persons from another county? Who says they were Dubs?....Their accent? A dubious cork story from a cork newspaper!....Hmmmm! Some of you that are on here years will remember the stories every week on here of Dublin fans dropping 500lb bombs on 82 year old ladies, sarin attacks on trains from the west, planes flown into Tyrone supporters on O'Connell St and nuclear attacks on Longford supporters buses etc! Amazingly when people had to actually sign into the site with a real username these 'phantom' posters with their 'fantastic' stories of abuse disappeared! Since then there aint been a single story of abuse at the hands of Dublin fans! Thats because the stories were 'makey uppey' in the first place! Methinks this paper has swallowed a HS makey uppey poster story! Paddyogall, its is absolutely clear that you are adding to this thread to simply add your typical mayo fuel to the fire! Shame on you man! Some day a Dublin person will do you a good turn and you can tell him to his face what you think of him! Regards, Snufalufagus...Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/09/2009 00:53:56    434923

Unfortunately due to a mix up re dates on my part I've spent the past 2 weeks in Portugal and had to settle for watching it in an Irish Pub there. Must say the defeat really shattered me , I know there are the usual platitudes like " there is an All- Ireland in that team" etc but last Sunday was our opportunity and we blew it big time. I have never been so down in my life after a match. Anyhow congrats to Kerry and we can only but try again next year. The reason for me posting on this thread is that the pub in which I was watching was 90% Cork with a few Kerry lads and one fairly large Kerry family. Needless to say there were no hostilities just usual friendly banter. In fairness to Kerry lads they could see how down we were and did not overdo any celebrations. However a bunch of about 8 or 9 very drunk and somewhat threatening Northern lads were messing about and one or two of them in particular were acting in a very provocative manner, in the end they left and there was no trouble but for a while it did look as if a fight would break out.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 24/09/2009 12:06:38    435141

Tomaoo7- "Why Glensman would you be worried about anything Dublin.............As for Paddy and his Anti Dub Agenda i have'nt seen it....is comments would be in line with general posters.." You see 'I treat as I meet' and like to see fair play. O' galls comments were clearly anti Dublin. He was being spiteful when there was absolutely no need for it. Apologies for insinuating that O' Gall is anti Dublin, clearly he is not. He is however, calculating, spiteful and I will check him at approriate times.

TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 24/09/2009 14:58:27    435345

Well said Snuf!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/09/2009 15:21:39    435375

corkcelt what county or town were the "northern lads" from and what exactly did they do?

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 24/09/2009 15:44:36    435409

Not sure what County they were from. Not Armagh anyway because they didn't seem particularly interested in whether Armagh won or not. They were standing in front of television blocking peoples view and getting aggressive and nasty when asked to sit down. Near the end one pretty big lad who didn't seem to have been taking much interest throughout the game came over to a table where there were a few Cork lads sitting and began shouting come on Kerry hammer the ***** out of the ******. In general it looked like they wanted to provoke a row when they didn't get a response they moved on. I saw them later on down the road jostling with each other. These lads were not kids they were in their 30's and they were big hardy lads.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 24/09/2009 16:29:58    435458

they were probably gangsters!!

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 24/09/2009 16:44:44    435494

TheGlensman

Lots of you guys appearing with low posts counts to have a go at little old me. i dont remember seeing you before, maybe you should join a club. Meathy Bhoy and the brolly are the other ones

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 24/09/2009 17:08:13    435534

paddyogall your so into yourself arent you - i bet you love the attention

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 24/09/2009 17:11:27    435541

O'gall- I cannot let your narrow minded, spiteful view of the northern GAA world go unchecked. You shouldn't be posting on this site until you understand and appreciate that the GAA is an inclusive All Ireland, and probablyglobal organisation.

Anything you have to say about GAA matters should be treated with the contempt it deserves.

TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 24/09/2009 18:20:27    435596

paddyogall

435534 TheGlensman

Lots of you guys appearing with low posts counts to have a go at little old me. i dont remember seeing you before, maybe you should join a club. Meathy Bhoy and the brolly are the other ones .............You should report them for stalking .....that little group are like parrots....

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 24/09/2009 19:13:51    435635

TheGlensman

how about your buddy Ulsterman, do you "check" his comments. he is a bigger Partionist then me!

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 25/09/2009 14:54:38    436430

tomaoo7

433490 Some people just love to put the boot in on Dublin Gaa anyway they can.......This carry on goes on in every small town on this island just because they travel abroad does'nt mean they behave any differently......This attack was wrong

It does happen in most towns in ireland Toma007 but it also happens on Hill 16 .............

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hES9I31QGM

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 25/09/2009 15:03:30    436450

Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 1775 434923 Just a comment or two from myself as a native of Europes most friendly city as voted for by European tourism survey! While I naturally condem an incident of this nature one or two of the alleged remarks just sound a bit fishy to me, I mean I could imagine some s*u*bag saying "Get that jersey off ye!" type thing but not "What are you doing wearing that jersey after ye lost!" Such qoutes sound a little bit added onto if you ask me in an attempt to make them sound worse! Im gonna get some abuse for saying that just because its my county involved but all sounds a bit sensational to me! Would the Cork newspaper publish such a story had the alleged attack been from persons from another county? Who says they were Dubs?....Their accent? A dubious cork story from a cork newspaper!....Hmmmm! Some of you that are on here years will remember the stories every week on here of Dublin fans dropping 500lb bombs on 82 year old ladies, sarin attacks on trains from the west, planes flown into Tyrone supporters on O'Connell St and nuclear attacks on Longford supporters buses etc! Amazingly when people had to actually sign into the site with a real username these 'phantom' posters with their 'fantastic' stories of abuse disappeared! Since then there aint been a single story of abuse at the hands of Dublin fans! Thats because the stories were 'makey uppey' in the first place! Methinks this paper has swallowed a HS makey uppey poster story! Paddyogall, its is absolutely clear that you are adding to this thread to simply add your typical mayo fuel to the fire! Shame on you man! Some day a Dublin person will do you a good turn and you can tell him to his face what you think of him! Regards, Snufalufagus...Laochra Gael WELL SAID!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 25/09/2009 15:05:56    436453

JJ1

436450 tomaoo7

433490 Some people just love to put the boot in on Dublin Gaa anyway they can.......This carry on goes on in every small town on this island just because they travel abroad does'nt mean they behave any differently......This attack was wrong

It does happen in most towns in ireland Toma007 but it also happens on Hill 16 .............

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hES9I31QGM .........I condemn any attack on any guards in the Dublin colours

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 25/09/2009 18:40:41    436758

I would not go tarring all dubs with the same brush over this incident, but people from every county cause violence.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11589 - 26/09/2009 12:20:49    437074