Tadhg Kennelly

What a ridiculous thread. This nonsense of 'glad to see him get his medal'. What right did he have to a medal over anyone else that played inter county football this year. The fella headed off to the sunshine in Australia and was handsomely rewarded in the pocket for it. Would have thought that the likes of Anthony Lynch, Graham Canty et al were more deserving of medals after what they have contributed to the GAA over the years. Kennelly's a nice fella but enough of the nonsense!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 21/09/2009 13:33:34    431899

Great Player, prooved it on all stages! Defnitley deserved a yellow...no more..no less. Anyway, Spent a great weekend in Tralee, and the Atmosphere was great, great music, great pubs, great people. Kerry are in a different class when it comes to Gaelic Football. They keep on prooving it, year after year, Decade after Decade. The best team won. The referee was great. Cork can have no complaints. I think Cork will be back, and have nothing to be ashamed of, they had a great year, and were the next best thing to Kerry, this year.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 21/09/2009 13:52:22    431919

Legend, should be a cert for an All Star as well.

JPM1981 (Kildare) - Posts: 825 - 21/09/2009 13:58:41    431930

21/09/2009 12:45:34
stranmillis29

431840 Was noone else concerned at the health and safety risk of Tagdh up dancing on football boots with a big drop below him???????

I think Croke park need to ban this sort of thing in future

down with this sort of thing

------------

he should be stripped of his medal. nip this carryon in the bud,.

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 21/09/2009 14:01:58    431935

Well done to Tagdh, it was clear it meant the world to him to get an All-Ireland medal..!! but if he sticks around, i'm sure he'll have to get an 8 week ban from the CCCC for next year, for that challange in the first minute. The GAA must be consistent in implementing the rules!!, also Tomas O Se will have to get a ban for his stamp in the second half.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 168 - 21/09/2009 14:08:21    431948

pat spillane said your not going to get sent off in the frist minuet. so get all your high and dirty tackles out of the way early and you'll be grand

mickobronx17 (Mayo) - Posts: 227 - 21/09/2009 14:27:44    431980

Lifford Gael

431899 What a ridiculous thread. This nonsense of 'glad to see him get his medal'. What right did he have to a medal over anyone else that played inter county football this year. The fella headed off to the sunshine in Australia and was handsomely rewarded in the pocket for it. Would have thought that the likes of Anthony Lynch, Graham Canty et al were more deserving of medals after what they have contributed to the GAA over the years. Kennelly's a nice fella but enough of the nonsense!

Hit the nail on the head there.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 21/09/2009 14:37:05    431993

Delighted for Kenneally, made a huge financial sacrifice by returning to Ireland this year. It has paid off bigtime, he has the All Ireland medal he craved and I would not be suprised if he returns to Australia for a couple more seasons.

einstein (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 21/09/2009 14:38:36    431996

Anybody who thinks that Kennelly should have seen red, was either not at the match or never played the game.
Otherwise, they are just operating with an agenda.
Not a single person around me (of whom, at least 75% were Cork supporters) shouted for any kind of card.

Would I be right in thinking that the people who are now insisting this was a red, were not at the match.
Were they sitting watching the box - being influenced by the commentators???
(I did'nt hear the commentary).
But enough of this rubbish that it was a red.
The referee was right there on the spot.

And I am no great fan of Kennelly's. As a Gaelic Player, he is very ordinary.
He was put through yesterday a number of times in the optimum channel and was allowed to kick unopposed.

For a player back from Aussie Rules - have we seen one piece of high fielding from Kennelly.???
Maybe he did in some of the qualifiers - but certainly he has'nt fielded one ball in his three Croke Park games.
Funny that.

tifram (Dublin) - Posts: 36 - 21/09/2009 15:32:24    432081

Well done

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 21/09/2009 19:10:26    432359

so glad for kennelly to get his medal. superb display from him yesterday. dont care that he should have been lined, he's a great player and role model to young kids that want to play the game.
still, ye haven't beat tyrone yet! ;)

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 21/09/2009 20:20:56    432427

would have rather seen cork win for a change from the usual domination of kerry in all ireland finals but happy non the less as kennely really deserved it and loved his dance he did and he did it when swans one the prem

mourne_man (Down) - Posts: 35 - 21/09/2009 20:57:24    432472

jaysis whats the story here with this kennelly love in.they all deserved a medal not just kennelly.he came home from oz to win one,so what.and this business of standing on the podium smacks of "look at me,everybody has to see me because i deserve me medal more than the rest of them".will yiz ever get off the stage lads.never have i heard so much bull about one man winning a medal.i will send him the air fair to oz meself.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 21/09/2009 22:05:19    432570

mayotyrone do you mean the likes of ciaran whelan would have been slated in the national (dublin) media if they done what kennelly did.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 21/09/2009 22:10:37    432582

I am sick listening to how great it was for this man to come back and win and all-ireland medal. What about the 1000s of great gaelic footballers who have given their all for the game and always played for their club and county and never won an all-ireland??? Its people like that who deserves all ireland medals, not this man.

poster22 (Tyrone) - Posts: 5 - 22/09/2009 00:51:33    432744

I think he helped Kerry get to the AI. He was a big factor in their wins over Dublin and Meath. Before that Kerry struggled against Sligo and Longford.

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 22/09/2009 02:39:51    432777

Can see both sides of the argument here but its still a great story lads.He doesnt deserve a medal any more than any other footballer,but now that he has it you have to admit its a great story! Well done.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 22/09/2009 08:49:45    432816

Just announced that Tadgh has committed himself to Kerry for at least another year! Great news!

Two in a row here we come again!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 22/09/2009 09:40:00    432836

Lifford Gael

"What right did he have to a medal over anyone else that played inter county football this year"

eh, him and his Kerry teammates earned the right over every other inter county player on Sunday... it's called winning the final.. If you have some other formula on who should receive celtic crosses in september I'd be really interested to hear it :D

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 22/09/2009 09:43:43    432838

Floops, maybe we should give teh crosses out for best togged out team. Or maybe a lotto.

I was not 10% about Kennelly at the start of he year but win or lose the last day, I had changed my mind fully. I am delighted Tadgh Kennelly got his medal as I am that everyone of the other Kerry players got theirs. However, it is great to see a man so driven to complete his dream and emulate his great father 'The Horse' and his brother Noel by winning an All Ireland. The same as it would be for any other player from any other county. It is also nice to see such a fantastic prodigy returning like the prodigal son, being given a chance, accepted unconditionally by a team, and then taking that opportunity by the scruff of the neck.

This guy scored 2-09 in a senior county championship semi final when he was a minor. He was numero uno in Kerry as regards rising stars. Potentially the greatest we had ever produced. We then lost him for 10 years and he has just come back and proved himself to be both a fantastic person and a fantastic athlete. His footballing skills have come back and will only grow as he next year at least passes. He has left a life behind that some of us can only dream of. And he has done that for his county and for his county team. That puts a value on an All Ireland medal that has never been quantified before like this. It helps demonstate that our Amateur sport is one of the greatest if not the greatest sport on the face of this earth and that it has a depth wthin its own community that no other sport aound the world can hold a candle to.

Maith an Fear Tadgh. Agus ta failte romhat san Riocht ar feadh an bhliain seo chugain. Ta athas an domhain orainn mar beidh tu ag imirt linn aris i rith 2010. Ciarrai Abu.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 22/09/2009 11:31:25    432927