Tadhg Kennelly

He was nearly in tears in the post match interview, Tagdh dancing on the hoganstand made my day!

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 20/09/2009 21:28:55    431316

In fairness why are you singling him out as great to see getting a medal? Why does he deserve it anymore than anyone else.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/09/2009 21:36:08    431324

And cue...........the massive Arsene Wenger myopia that will sweep over the (Southern) media in the next week. Great player but should have walked without question for an awful challenge. Then again it's not an Ulster player so that's OK.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 20/09/2009 22:03:18    431345

Ulsterman

"Then again it's not an Ulster player so that's OK. "

He's also not a Leinster player...nor a Connaught player or a Brazilian for that matter

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 20/09/2009 22:30:07    431378

hear hear ulsterman!!...i can't wait to pick up the papers tomorrow morning and see the screaming headlines about how he should have walked....!!..but of course a few other players and they'd have their pencils sharpened by now

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 20/09/2009 22:31:17    431381

i would have enjoyed much more to see Canty or Lynch getting their all ireland today.

everyone is saying well done to tadhg but i think he is quite arrogant coming home winning an all ireland and will probably leave for oz again while players like canty or lynch have tried tirelessy over the years to win and may not.

dumbledore (Down) - Posts: 63 - 20/09/2009 23:49:30    431453

This guy is a great fella, was delighted to see him get the medal. There's just something likeable about him.

footballman22 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/09/2009 00:01:01    431467

Would he have come home to win an all Ireland if he was from Mayo? BLA BLA Not much of a risk when your from Kerry.

CoTyrone (Tyrone) - Posts: 261 - 21/09/2009 02:23:42    431510

Well done to him.glad to see him get a medal.

Townie4Life (Laois) - Posts: 24 - 21/09/2009 06:39:10    431526

Glad he got his medal - Tadgh is a good honest lad whos been through the mill. Nice to see it. Although thought Canty has been excellant all year and he would have also deserved one.

RuaHughONeill (Tyrone) - Posts: 110 - 21/09/2009 09:17:29    431561

mayotyroneman

431381 hear hear ulsterman!!...i can't wait to pick up the papers tomorrow morning and see the screaming headlines about how he should have walked....!!..but of course a few other players and they'd have their pencils sharpened by now

Who cares?! They won, they deserved to win, they ARE the best team this decade. It's swings and roundabouts in GAA. You get some decisions in your favour and some against, no point crying about it. It happens to every team.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/09/2009 09:26:44    431574

It was a straight RED and there is NO doubt about that. Had that been a Dub , in particular the likes of Ciaran Whelan or Mark V., there would have been NO room for discussion, the player would have just walked....end of story.....I never had great faith in Marty Duffy as a ref, saw the man on occasions when he could not handle a national league tie let alone an AI final. Just felt that bad decision not to issue a Red let Kerry think they could do what they liked yesterday. Felt gutted for Cork. Defo TEAM of the year and it proves again the torrid FLAWs in the backdoor system. The GAA need to seriously have a look at it.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 21/09/2009 09:30:05    431579

Delighted for him, an absolute legend. As someone pointed out earlier something very likable about him, just seems like a very level-headed sound fella. Very suprising to see him substitutedm, one of Kerry's best players and don't think he was tiring either.

Mondo (Longford) - Posts: 148 - 21/09/2009 11:12:07    431693

Don't see why everyone is so delighted to see him get a medal. I can think of footballers the length and breadth of ireland more deserving.

However he was fantastic yesterday and ran canty ragged even in the second half. Canty started to come into it when he went off.
And also no referee would have sent off kennelly from the throw in yesterday. Would pat mceneaney have sent him off.? No

johnnos bulls (None) - Posts: 527 - 21/09/2009 11:44:31    431741

What an incredible story. An incredible athlete and undoubtedly should be mentioned as one of the greatest Irish sportsmen of all time.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 21/09/2009 11:55:46    431754

I think it is a great story and it would have been a real shame if he had been sent off. However, if he does now leave the GAA and go back to aussie rules it will do massive harm to the GAA. What a message to go out to young players. To be honest I would much rather have seen McHale of Mayo (who was wrongly sent off in a final) or Whelan of Dublin get an All-Ireland medal.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 21/09/2009 12:24:29    431799

Great footballer and a likeable fella but he nearly sabotaged his dream in the first minute!!! Would have had nobody to blame but himself!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 21/09/2009 12:25:41    431803

Glad to see him get a medal but only because of the fact he never knew his old man whn he became one. I know what living in exile does to a fella in terms of creating a bridge between you and the closest to you and i fell for him because of his circumstances. On the other hand he gave-up the GAA in favour of the foreign pound and sunshine. Would it not be better to see the likes of paddy Cunningham for Antrim or Leighton Glynn of Wicklow get a medal. Afterall these are the boys that the GAA is built on. Train hard year after year month after month for the love of the game but will sadly never have a chance to lift Sam. Perhaps it is a bit lucky and a bit arrogant that Kennelly is a) Kerryman and b) decides to have a bit of a gap year from the paying job to try and win an all ireland.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 21/09/2009 12:29:19    431817

Was noone else concerned at the health and safety risk of Tagdh up dancing on football boots with a big drop below him???????

I think Croke park need to ban this sort of thing in future

down with this sort of thing

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 21/09/2009 12:45:34    431840

God sick of the begrudgers and believe me there are so many on this site. Sure the tackle may have been red on another day but it wasn't today.
The man came back to fulfill a dream he had. He gave up the money and the glory of playing with a professional side to play with a bunch of amateur and get nothing but a medal at the end. Jez come on guys it's a wonderful story. Not saying he deserves it anymore than anybody else but he's highlighted how wonderful our game is and the huge bond that our games have over these guys.
I've met him once and I'll tell you he is a good genuine guy. He obviously loves Ireland, loves being Irish, is proud of his GAA background, proud of being a Kerryman. So please stop all this ould stuff and enjoy the moment that was there.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 21/09/2009 13:10:53    431875