John O'Donoghue.

Is this man for real. He spent taxpayers money like it was going out of fashion. Imagine getting a limo to go from one Heathrow terminal to another at over 500 euro. using the Govt jet to criss cross from Dublin to Cannes to London and back to Cannes attending bashes with his wife. Hiring a personal advisor at 90,000 euro a year, for what ?? He is the Ceann Comhairle who would not need an advisor as he is supposed to be neutral and above politics !! These are the people who tell us we will have to tighten our belts and to expect wage cuts. Some shower of wasters !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/09/2009 22:14:20    427163

Coup d'etat required in the south

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 15/09/2009 22:24:23    427198

Knew it would take a Cavan man to bring up this thread!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 15/09/2009 22:36:45    427228

Whats the betting that the advisor is a relation ??

Friedrick, are you a F.F. man ?, i'd say so !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/09/2009 22:40:13    427238

In all honesty I have to say you get what you deserve. When the tiger was in full flow ye didn't care what the politicians were doing but now that the 9 lives have been used up there's a crying match. I think a previous poster on here somewhere summed it up to a tee. You reap what you "sew" (sow) LOL

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 15/09/2009 22:46:14    427258

No not FF man.Completely agree with your post CS.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 15/09/2009 22:47:30    427263

omaghredhand

427258 In all honesty I have to say you get what you deserve. When the tiger was in full flow ye didn't care what the politicians were doing but now that the 9 lives have been used up there's a crying match. I think a previous poster on here somewhere summed it up to a tee. You reap what you "sew" (sow) LOL

omaghredhand i don't think it's a laughing matter a lot of peoples lifes have been affected if you think thats funny

Dublin09 (Dublin) - Posts: 433 - 15/09/2009 23:01:26    427285

Jaysus I love it when he orders lads out of the Dail. Come ere de ya not think that every last frigging one of them are dipping their hands into the till.

BartleDoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 389 - 15/09/2009 23:30:52    427332

Dublin 09, I was taking the **** out of the poster who used the word "sew" in the context they did. Bearing in mind your biggest fear is becoming a "culchie" I think that you are the one that needs to sort yourself out. The jist of the post however is true. Greed got the better of ye down there and the fact is that you can't run with the fox and hunt with the hounds, something has to give and much to your cost youse are finding this out now, that the fox nearly always loses

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 16/09/2009 12:27:27    427614

Polititions are merely representative of ourselves....this is a democracy, we voted them in and we vote them out. This john o donoghue thing is the representation of what we had become as a country. Did anyone complain about any of this stuff in the boom? No....because we were too busy living an existence far beyond our means.
We are all to be implicated in the mess we are in. I mean buying a car the equivilant to your yearly salary is stupidity, yet how many so called 'honest, hard working' members of society did this.....loads. These people are now calling for the heads of politicians and seem reluctant to take a cut in their lifestyle that was out of control. Did anyone force you to buy a 4 bed semi D for 600k in mullingar? No.
People, including teachers, builders, lawyers, butchers, nurses, greengrocers...etc need to take responsibility for their wastefulness and stop trying to blame someone else. We lived the dream (like o donoghue) and now unfortunately, its time to wake up.

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 16/09/2009 15:16:26    427815

Mayonews the ff dream is still alive and well with you i see or maybe Bev Cooper. Lets get to the point made by CAVAN SLASHER. This O'Donoghue is going around saying sorry sorry sorry I didnt know. Well he knows now so have these people who were stealing our money been fired ?. What their names? Where are they now?

maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 16/09/2009 16:17:00    427900

only in ireland....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11730 - 16/09/2009 16:51:04    427952

We need to erect a guillotine on O'Connell Street. Let the heads role!

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 16/09/2009 16:53:51    427960

Some merit in what Mayonews says. You get the government you deserve. The writing was on the wall in 2007 and yet the people voted them back in. Until Ireland gets away from parish pump politics things will never change. I'm sure there's plenty in O'Donaghue's constituency who would vote him back in tomorrow if they had to.

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 16/09/2009 17:29:37    428027

maroon2gold...these people are the people you put in there. The TD's that are representative of you are in the dail and can remove the current government if that is the want of the people of this country. This hasnt happened yet. People are too quick to play the poor mouth and blame everyone else for their woes instead of looking closer to home.

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 16/09/2009 17:30:01    428028

When you elect a government,you do so for the purpose of running the country not for claiming outrageous expenses funded by the taxpayers.Some of you havent a clue.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/09/2009 19:30:01    428126

mayonews you might have lived the dream but i certaintly havent.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 16/09/2009 22:16:17    428326

finglas im not saying i did at all but am saying we did as a collective. Everyone was in on it and no one shouted stop. And fredrick you are part of the culture that elected those who claimed those expenses, so why didnt you vote someone else in? as i said before they are representatives of ourselves.

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 17/09/2009 08:43:06    428494

I think his statement (the second one, when he realised that the first one wasn't getting him off the hook) is a disgrace. It basically hints that other people set these things up and he was unaware of the cost. We should have realised when the storm broke in the UK over expenses that our boys would be far worse! Still O'Donoghue will have a uncomfortable few weeks, tough it out and then we will forget all about it because we are idiots.

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 17/09/2009 12:32:48    428700

How do you know who I did or did not elect???

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 17/09/2009 13:31:48    428783