Best free takers

No current player compares to Brian Stafford, he was a master of the art. Cant understand why counties dont just carry a specialist free taker, nobody seems to anymore they worth their weight in gold? Whatever happened to Derek Duggan who only was around for a short time? He was up there with Stafford, remember 1 he took in particular against Mayo in Castlebar in 91 I think, increadible score.

Jgc81 (Meath) - Posts: 195 - 16/09/2009 16:35:06    427926

Wouldnt it be gas if the player that was fouled was made take it rather than the designated free taker like in AFL..

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 16/09/2009 16:56:05    427965

trevor giles
colin corkery
derek duggan
pauric joyce
matty forde
declan darcy
kevin o brien

john1980 (Meath) - Posts: 262 - 16/09/2009 17:08:59    427988

Mark Harte, free kick specialist

Hllbilly_boi (Tyrone) - Posts: 202 - 16/09/2009 17:22:36    428014

James Kielt - Anyone??

Would have seen more of him this year excep for the nasty facial injury. And from wha we saw in the league this guy is something special.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 16/09/2009 17:27:32    428022

Duggan exploded on to the scene in 91 as a 19 year old after starring for St.Jarlaths,He continued playin throughout the 90's but a succession of poor managers and lack of quality players comin through to replace the all Conquering Connacht 90/91 winning side meant he never hit those dizzying heights again.He also played club football for the Garda club in Dublin,but is back with Castlerea St.Kevins and has a county final to look forward to in two weeks.
Donal Shine is coming along well enough at the moment for us.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/09/2009 19:50:26    428150

Matt Connor. Nobody else has ever come near.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6192 - 16/09/2009 20:44:01    428198

John 1980 where is the greatest of all Maurice Fitz. 97 exhibition kicking left and right.
Question asked why dont they carry a free taker?
The game has changed, its al harry and running. Brian heehan is your example and still not accepted fully amongst the Kerry crowd after last year.
Cian Ward only kicked well against Kerry when they had lot well at that stage no pressure.

castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 16/09/2009 20:59:19    428231

fred are u a casterea head?!?

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 16/09/2009 22:18:43    428332

Bryan Sheehan................is the best in the country

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 16/09/2009 22:41:21    428360

No,Thank god Mac!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/09/2009 23:11:47    428396

Yea its amazing there's so few natural and accurate free takers any more.

I think the free froms the hands has really removed the specialist and deadly accurate free takers of yesteryear.

God in the 80's and 90's you had some savage free takers, and most if not all of them took them from the floor, which gives you a greater control over the striking of the ball.

And here's something else about all of these lads, and its mentioned in another post, but they could all stick the ball over from 45's with yards to spare

Like there's no one today that would compare with any off these lads, who are in no particular order

Brian Stafford (can't ever remeber the man missing one for meath in games i was at or saw)
Larry Tompkins (deadly, but could be flaky when the pressure was applied)
Colin Corkery (seldom if ever missed)
Barney Rock (oul stab himself, how he managed the scores he did i'll never know)
Maurice Fitzgerlald (left or right you knew he would rarely miss the target)
Charlie Redmond (jaysus he could break your heart at times, but don't ask him to take a penalty!!!!)
Wayne McCarthy (charlies understudy, lethally accurate from free's but that was about it for him unfortunately)
Matt Connor (never saw the man play, but you just have to listen to the reverential tones he spoken in and you know he must have been good)
Mick O'Connell (maurice fitz' teacher, sure he can't have been that bad if the pupils anything to go by!!!!)
Maurice Sheridan (good but not in the same league as those mentioned above)
Derek Duggan (class personified, 19 years old, free from 65 yards last minute, your team behind by one and nails it, what a player)
Ronan Carolan (you've got to give it to him, he single handedly kept Cavan in games in the late 80's early 90's with his free taking)
Manus Boyle (oh he was some boy....)

To mention a few others, Gary Mason and Ross Carr from Down, Dessie Barry from Longford, Declan Darcy for Leitrim and latterly Dublin, Enda Gormley from Derry, Niall Finnegan from Galway

The list could go on and on, but the similar thing with all of these is they were all raised on football before frees from the hand were common place, kicked of off the floor, rarely if ever missed, could kick from 40/50 yards and we're match winners with their ability

If i've missed or misrepresented anyone in that list its not intended, its the best i can recall right now

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1994 - 17/09/2009 00:50:59    428458

Michael John Tierney is up with the best at the minute

Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 17/09/2009 11:43:59    428649

Exactly puddersthecat it would have to be King Henry and Prince Joe for me in hurling. In football Mikey Meehan and probably Brian Sheehan when he is selected for Kerry.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 17/09/2009 16:06:54    428941

CHARLIE REDMOND and to a lesser extent Jimmy Keaveny!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 17/09/2009 16:50:44    429005

I am amazed that only one person has mentioned Matty Forde

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 17/09/2009 20:02:29    429227

mikey sheehy havent seen his name yet

kerryhurling (Kerry) - Posts: 274 - 18/09/2009 00:24:46    429494

ConnollyDub Charlie Redmond? He was in the halfpenny place compared to Jimmy Keaveney.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 18/09/2009 09:23:16    429557

Thykingdom come - i mentioned james kielt in my post.
Time will tell, next year we will see more of him but then you have the problem that he's left footed as is paddy bradley....can you imagine trying to get a ball off PB on the right side if its scoreable, not a hope.

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 18/09/2009 10:46:23    429633

Barnowl94

429557 ConnollyDub Charlie Redmond? He was in the halfpenny place compared to Jimmy Keaveney

100% agree with you there brother.

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 18/09/2009 13:31:57    429780