Little interest North of the Border?

Ulsterman thats a fierce bit of backtracking your doing there!

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 15/09/2009 20:31:53    427018

As that Kerryman said - I always enjoy the All-Ireland finals mor when I'm a neutral. Come to think of it I've always been a neutral !

I'm glad it's Kerry v Cork and not Kerry v Mayo !

It's two of the best 3 teams in the country at present with Cork better by a mile this year. I hope for their sakes they can go on to win it.

And FFS, it's the All-Ireland Final, it's the event on the sporting calendar - just enjoy !

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 15/09/2009 21:05:22    427053

Give it a rest Patrique. I am proud of my county, province and country but that doesn't mean I cannot criticise or hold others acoountable for their comments. Your reasoning is that it's OK for others to knock our province and Ulster sides but we cannot return the serve. That smacks of Uncle Tom-ism to me. You do alright yourself sticking the boot into your fellow Ulster Gaels but are happy to let those outside Ulster continually knock us. As someone with relatives all over the island I know that most people are decent whatever part of the country they live in. I also know, and it is clear on HS, that there is also a fairly widespread partitionist mentality south of the border which revealed itself when Armagh and Tyrone won SAM. If you can't or won't admit that then you are far less intelligent than you pretend to be. I also recognise that it is NOT one way and that we also in the North have our faults which I admit to. We are loud, brash, in your face etc and tend not to bow down at the Kerry altar but they are not federal offences.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 15/09/2009 21:52:53    427112

Ulsterman

Could I suggest that the partitionists on this site are led by you and others from Ulster, in particular the six counties?

You know, let's stick together against the foreigners from Munster, Leinster and Connacht?

I on the other hand do not have that mentality. Ireland to me is the entire country.............

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/09/2009 23:36:11    427337

Ulsterman, watch the match and get over it.........I watch as much football as I can

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 16/09/2009 20:25:17    428184

Ulsterman. when you say "south of the border" do you literally mean anyone outside the six counties or do you mean anyone outside ulster. please make it clear as I don't understand why you would think that people from cavan,Monaghan or donegal would have no interest in watching 2 "ulster" teams. Please clarify

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 16/09/2009 21:44:18    428288

Looking forward to the game very much.Hope its a cracker.Wish Tyrone had been in it but still want to see a good game between 2 great teams.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/09/2009 22:05:21    428317

s goldrick

I include Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal in my Ulster comments. They are as integral a part of the province as any Northern county. I know quite a few Donegal people who are a bit cheesed off at the ignorance they get when in places like Dublin where they are often taken for Nordies (i.e. from the 6 counties). I do not mean to offend people but I cannot ignore what happened in 2003 when there was quite a bit of nonsense said and published about an all Ulster All Ireland final. Anyone who says otherwise, and I don't like using the word, is quite frankly a liar.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 16/09/2009 22:30:04    428347

You obviously indulge in much selective reading Patrique.Ulstermen has a point and he is not putting everybody in the same box so its a fair and valid point.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/09/2009 22:52:07    428371

In fairness I looked forward to the 2003 final but it was brutally poor,finished 12 pts to 9.One of the worst finals in living memory.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 16/09/2009 23:08:36    428390

I think in the North the 2003 final was called a "British" final in jest, well certainly in West Belfast. The general opinion was "nothing to do with those Free State Whatevers"

It was a joke. Get over it. And stop thinking so much about the border.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/09/2009 23:54:13    428424

Bring it on I cant wait hope kerry win.

BartleDoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 389 - 16/09/2009 23:57:27    428428

For anyone who is not interested in match on Sunday,can I please have any tickets you might be able to get your hands on.

Frances56 (Dublin) - Posts: 378 - 17/09/2009 00:18:06    428440

So just because there is no northern team in the senior final ulsterman decides to do his best to downgrade and diminish the final of 2009 and drag up all sorts of stuff from the past, were there so many negative comments about an all ulster final in 2003? I heard many from outside ulster celebrate the fact at the time and rightly so. Cork and Kerry are the two teams left, they are in the final on merit and deserve applause and recognition for their achievement not this kind of bitter and jealous commentary

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 17/09/2009 00:36:17    428454

God damn blast ye in here, it's All-Ireland final day your talking about, the best day of the year.I know i'll get slated for saying this, but this is where i dislike some northern attitude, some not all, just lack in the true traditions of our wonderful game.AI final, weekend is a massive occasion no matter who is in it, it's our showcase, jesus for me and many others its on with the good shirt sat night spruced up, tasting the atmosphere in the usual hotels and pubs, meeting the same faces as you did last year having the craic talking football.Sunday morning quick cure and up to the mecca, to watch the greatest game on earth that is ai final day.Does not matter one bit who is in it, but like i say a few of you nordies will have to get acustomed to our traditions, or maybe it's just sour grapes.Either way i think if Kerry win it, they should bring sam up to omagh and be presented with a plaque for team of the decade with the rose of Tralee blasting in the background, lol.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 17/09/2009 01:05:37    428463

yes there was the usual rubbish comments in 2003 about the all ireland being all ulster from some people in the south. u get that with everything. u cant please all of the people all of the time.

Tomcork (Cork) - Posts: 112 - 17/09/2009 02:16:23    428471

UI think ulsterman is a bit confused his thread is titled with "north of the border" and then he talks about ulster. What are you on about? Is it 6 county teams or ulster teams? Make your mind up Mr partitionist. PS when the dubs call donegal people nordies they are correct, check a map or drive across "the border" and enlighten yourself.

Up Cork and Armagh.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 17/09/2009 09:09:01    428501

If New York were playing London I'd still watch it. It's the All Ireland Final for gods sake ! What has geography got to do with thois great day

With ref to 2003 it is true that there was some silly stuff going around like this is an ' all british final' and ' what anthem will they play' but like everything else it was just a few. These were pretty stupid things to say-afterall every final pre partition was a British final if we are going to be pedantic!

With ref to 2009, only the author of this thread is concerned that it is an All Southern final. This thread has been started out of something that doesn't exist

Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 17/09/2009 10:10:23    428546

'We are loud, brash, in your face etc and tend not to bow down at the Kerry altar but they are not federal offences.'

I thought you were from Antrim Ulsterman ? I cannot remember yous putting it up to Kerry too many times over the years. That's right I forgot you have been just jumping on the Tyrone bandwagon.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 17/09/2009 10:30:15    428568

Ulsterman it is you who has the partitionist attitude, anytime people criticise tyrone, armagh etc, you immediately assume it is because they are from ulster. Can you not comprehend that maybe people just dont like the way they play football or ryan mcmenimen or whatever criticism they are making and its nothing to do with what province they are from.

Your partitionist attitude and obvious paranoia seem to make you believe that any criticism or banter towards ulster teams must be because they are from ulster. Its ridiculous, every county gets criticised.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 17/09/2009 10:34:32    428570