From Kildare Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 11/09/2009 11:08:06 422893 Link 0 |
patrique that is exactly my point my friend, i was asked to give MY opinion as i did and not that of an expert (nor do i claim to be one) as the post asked. it is only my opinion of course but thats what was asked of me, my point to u and miss derry is that why attack Tyrone posters for giving their honest opinion? i respect all gaels from other counties who's opinions i'm sure will differ from mine but all i ask is a little fair play and a level playing ground so that right minded folk can enjoy this site without personal attack based on where you were born anytime u answer to a post, is it too much to ask in this day and age??? personally i think there are enough WUMS on here compadre without you joining them and yes Kevin Armstrong was a superb player but in MY opinion its still Frank "The King" McGuigan for me. opinions will differ i respect that... sure there'd be no fun if we all thought the same. Rahilly_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 11/09/2009 19:16:36 423582 Link 0 |
Yes Ollie would agree with those 3 but would add in Ciaran Wheelan on to that list now as well. He's up there with em Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 11/09/2009 19:39:07 423603 Link 0 |
Patrique, I pretty much agree with every thing you have just said on here. I think there are plenty of times to back your own county on here. Particularly when they have an upcoming match or when others are wrongly, or even rightly criticising them. But you often also get an opportunity to praise other county teams and players. This is one of those occassions. It is also an opportunity to challenge your own fooball intelligence and think outsde of your own county and about the fantasic sport as a whole. Maybe even demonstrate a bit of knowledge about teams from outside your own province. Also, possibly even show that you have some incling as to what is happening outside your own county and possibly show that you have read a bit of history, listened to a few people and watched a few replays. thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 11/09/2009 21:14:42 423665 Link 0 |
porkchops (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 11/09/2009 21:37:36 423684 Link 0 |
Declane Browne from tipp... Has to be one of them.. Ciaran whelan also... PredNo1 (Mayo) - Posts: 71 - 11/09/2009 22:11:42 423713 Link 0 |
no one has mentioned Jim Reilly who played for Cavan for 17 years in the 70s 80s 90s. he was recognised by all and sundry within the game as one of the finest footballers of his generation. he was always picked on Ulsters Railway cup teams and was named by Brian McEniff on his Railway Cup team of the Millenium. hopefully his nephnew Barry will follow in his footsteps s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 12/09/2009 22:59:49 424254 Link 0 |
Dessie Barry of longford comes to mind Cul Baire (Longford) - Posts: 76 - 12/09/2009 23:21:29 424284 Link 0 |
beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 12/09/2009 23:28:51 424289 Link 0 |
declan browne, great servant to tipp football premierman21 (Tipperary) - Posts: 429 - 13/09/2009 00:35:43 424312 Link 0 |
dermot earley sr...what a player..if it wasnt for the great kerry teams of the 80's he wud have 2 or 3 in his back pocket 98KESAM (Kildare) - Posts: 56 - 13/09/2009 00:49:30 424316 Link 0 |
patrique County: Antrim Posts: 4333 422424 10/09/2009 19:49:33 Rahilly_Man County: Tyrone Posts: 286 422321 maybe patrique or niamh could name me someone better and then maybe i'l change my mind. Going by so called experts Kevin Armstrong has strong claims as best footballer and best hurler. So Frank is not a nailed on cert. I mention Armstrong as he has no challengers as Ulsters best ever GAA exponent, a legend in both codes. On a national level you could try Packy McGarty,(Leitrim)Gerry O'malley,(Roscommon) Willie Joe Padden, Ciaran McDonald, both Mayo, Iggy Jones (Tyrone) Jim McKeever, Sean O'Connell (Derry) Andy McCailin (Antrim) Hudie beag gallagher (Donegal) Al Murray (Armagh) Declan Browne, Mattie Forde, Cyril Hughes (Carlow) Benny Gaughan (Louth) Just a sample. Or could I suggest that between 1884 and 1959 there were a host of players from counties in Ulster, outside Cavan, who were deserving of all Ireland medals? To be honest, you could easily name 200 players today who are better in a given position than someone who has won maybe two or three all Ireland medals. So as I say, I could give maybe 2,000 alternatives to Frank, great player that he was, without scratching the surface. Perhaps I was merely suggesting that there is life outside Tyrone. Cork have won 6 all Ireland titles at football. Can you imagine how many great Cork players DIDN'T win Celtic crosses, especially between 1978 and 86 when they probably were the 2nd best team in Ireland? So I appreciate and welcome your choice of Frank, an all time great, but there have been many others. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Quite Pathetic Patrique really. It was a honest question and just a simple matter of opinion. The original poster sought out the opinion of others too at the start of the post. But of course again its people like you dragging Hs in the mire by starting an argument at the start of the thread. So patrique what is the hang up on Tyrone for? I see alot of Kildare men have named the Early's, Kerrymen named Kennelly, Mayo named McHale and Tipp went for Browne. So why not round on these counties? Why so petty? Why so cheap? Why so low? Why Tyrone? I can only assume its Jealousy. trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 13/09/2009 02:14:38 424327 Link 0 |
Gabriel irwin, E.Lavin ,D.Flannagan, P.forde, j.Browne, M.Collins, TJ.Killgallon, J.Finn,S.Maher, L.Mchale, N.Durkin, WJ.Padden, M. Fitzmaurice, K.Mcstay, J.Burke, G. Maher, A. finnerety,b.kilkelly,.....J. Madden,k. cahill.k. mortimer, p.holmes, n. conneley,d.brady, j. horan,c,macmanom,m. sherridan, r. dempsey,j.casey,pj.loftus, t. reilly,.......p. burke,f. costello,d.nestor, C.MACDONALD,d. heaney,k.o neill,......d. geraghty, g. ruane,p. gardiner, j. nallen,p. kelly, r. magarrity,j.gill. a. dillon, c. mortomer,b. maloney, m. conroy,a. moran,p. navin,.....D. clarke,k. higgins, a. higgins,p. harte, bj.padden, g. brady, t. mort,b.moran, a. kilcoyne,...and 100, 000 mayo men, women and children that have been put through the agony that no other county ever has. 51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 13/09/2009 06:06:55 424349 Link 0 |
Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 13/09/2009 09:01:42 424361 Link 0 |
orange and blue patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/09/2009 20:52:37 424661 Link 0 |
Yis are all picking fairly recent lads...glen ryan dermot early and Ciaran whelan and mcdonald in recent years surely....but going back a bit..dermot early senior and mickey jkearns of sligo must be up there. sandar (Kildare) - Posts: 32 - 05/10/2009 19:23:37 445753 Link 0 |
Concept82 (Wicklow) - Posts: 440 - 05/10/2009 19:37:52 445769 Link 0 |
longfordmaestro (Longford) - Posts: 68 - 05/10/2009 19:45:18 445773 Link 0 |
mcguigan would have alot of the same as whelan- idolised in their own county and not even considered elsewhere, i asked a lad a college before what all the fuss was about- he said he dominated an ulster final and not alot else- can anyone confirm thats not from tyrone!! liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 05/10/2009 19:51:12 445779 Link 0 |
Sean O'Connell.. just type the name into wikipedia and read about this LEGEND!! kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 05/10/2009 20:57:34 445841 Link 0 |