Your Favourite GAA Team of Your Time

Teams I've enjoyed watching... Bearing in mind i'm a mere 23 years old.

Donegal in 1992 (Bias but hey) were some team, get shivers watching they way they outplayed the Dubs that day! I've nattered on about them in another post so won't do it again. A team that would have won the All-Ireland in 1993 as well had THAT Ulster final not been alowed to be played in Clones in monsoon conditions.

Galway 1998-2001 were full of speed and movement and unlike the current lot, they had the grit needed to succeed. Donnellan, Joyce, Declan Meehan, Ja Fallon, great players.

Tyrone 2003 until now... Fantastic the way they have annoyed so many people who'd rather Ulster football was in the doldrums. Mickey Harte has helped give this great batch of footballers the confidence they needed, hence some brilliant performances over the years.

Kerry 2004 Great forwards in Cooper and Donaghy. A joy to watch even though Mayo let them walk all over them in the final that year.

Cork 2009. Dare I say it, but this is the new force in Gaelic Football, speed, physicality and class.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 10/09/2009 15:32:40    421996

Get over 1993

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 10/09/2009 15:40:11    422008

1. Brendan Cummins
2. Mick Holden
3. Brian Lohan
4. Willie O'Connor
5. Brian Whelehan
6. Ken McGrath
7. Tommy Walsh
8. Ciaran Carey (capt)
9. Conal Keaney
10. Jamsie O'Connor
11. Joe Cooney
12. Johnny Dooley
13. The Sparrow
14. Liam Rushe
15. Nicky English

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 10/09/2009 15:49:05    422017

fair play damien i was hoping someone would put in declan browne, a super super player

premierman21 (Tipperary) - Posts: 429 - 10/09/2009 15:58:34    422029

Fergal Byron
Joe Higgins
Francie Bellew
Ryan Mcmenemium
Thomas O Se
Tom Kelly
Graham Canty
Dara O Se
Sean Kavanagh
Ross Munnelly
Kieran mcdonnell
Beano McDonald
Gooch Cooper
Trevor giles
Colm Parkinson

Barney_Legend (Laois) - Posts: 301 - 10/09/2009 16:07:38    422043

Get over 2009 Niamh

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 10/09/2009 16:35:50    422089

Donegal_abroad

show me where I have spoke of it in any way shape or form! I'm over it lad, only Donegal game I mind this year is the one v Cork..oops.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 10/09/2009 16:41:43    422101

patrique

A few things here. As a defender Sean Marty is/was probably better than ANYTHING Tyrone ever produced, although for me Tony Scullion was the prince of Ulster defenders.

Very good joke ha ha your having a laugh.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/09/2009 16:58:28    422124

Dellboy, his father was a great half back, not the modern lad. It was close call between Fitzy and Canavan the Kerry loyalty swung it but starting either or doesnt weaken the side.

castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 10/09/2009 17:20:02    422162

castlemaine

Fair enough i never seen his father playing my mistake.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/09/2009 17:30:45    422176

You're dead right Niamh, you never mentioned the defeat to us anywhere that i've noticed. It's better to pretend it didn't happen and say nothing I suppose eh.. I too remember the Cork game as i was sitting in the Cusack stand that day, you've brought back bad memories there.. Still, it was nice to play in Croke Park in a championship quarter final this year, would be worse to be sitting in the house dreaming of it, what do ye reckon?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 10/09/2009 18:30:48    422238

aheadofthecurve,

No I mean Jason Sherlock ;-)

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 10/09/2009 18:39:58    422247

Dellboypolecat

castlemaine

Fair enough i never seen his father playing my mistake.

very good joke, ha, ha, you are having a laugh.

Mistake? Dell? NEVER.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/09/2009 21:33:15    422442

Royal_Girl2k9,

Damn, I thought we had a breakthrough.

aheadofthecurve (Cavan) - Posts: 95 - 11/09/2009 05:56:03    422753

aheadofthecurve

422753 Royal_Girl2k9,

Damn, I thought we had a breakthrough.

Theres only one reason the royals don't pick Cavan lads - bitterness ;o)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 11/09/2009 10:41:56    422868

patrique

421390 Dellboypolecat

Niamh
County: Derry

Also, Sean Marty in his prime was twice the player Ricey will ever be.

He will never be a ricey not good enough he is overated and always was . Oh how many all ireland medals has he.

A few things here. As a defender Sean Marty is/was probably better than ANYTHING Tyrone ever produced, although for me Tony Scullion was the prince of Ulster defenders.

Secondly, Dell, were Ger Power, Spillane, Ogie Moran, Mike Sheehy, the BEST football forwards ever?

Was Gary Mason as good as Peter Canavan? Was Eoin Brosnan and Paul Galvin better than Canavan?

The answer to all of these questions is yes, if we judge by all Ireland medals.

Would you like to reconsider Dell?

-----------------------

well bloody said Pat.im sick of reading this lads message's belittling everyone else because his county has had a good spell. there will be subs for kerry on sunday week who will have more all-irelands than peter the "great". i see he doesnt have much to say to Patrique here when he lays the facts out. what a waste of time you are.
once again,well said Patrique, fair play ta ya

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 11/09/2009 11:20:08    422914

1. Noel Skehan (Kilkenny)
2. John Doyle (Tipperary)
3. Pat Hartigan (Limerick)
4. Jim Purcell (Kilkenny)
5. Brian Whelahan (Offaly)
6. Tony Keady (Galway)
7. Len Gaynor (Tipperary)
8. Colin Lynch (Clare)
9. John Fenton (Cork)
10. Jimmy Doyle (Tipperary)
11. Brendan Lynskey (Galway)
12. Francis Loughnane (Tipperary)
13. DJ Carey (Kilkenny)
14. Cormac Bonnar (Tipperary)
15. Jimmy Barry Murphy (Cork)

Tradition (Tipperary) - Posts: 34 - 15/09/2009 12:08:23    426296

1-John O'Leary-Dublin
2-Paud O'Se-Kerry
3-Mick Lyons-Meath
4-Robbie Kelleher-Dublin
5-Keith Barr-Dublin
6-Kevin Moran-Dublin
7-Eamon Heery-Dublin
8-Brian Mullins-Dublin
9-Jack O'Shea-Kerry
10-Colm O'Rourke-Meath
11-Matt Connor-Offaly
12-Anton O'Toole-Dublin
13-Barney Rock-Dublin
14-Bomber Liston-Kerry
15-Pat Spillane-Kerry

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 15/09/2009 12:21:27    426317

some great hurlin teams there lads, i'll have to retire to think about mine...

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 15/09/2009 14:02:05    426499

Breffni39 + aheadofthecurve

I have no problem with people from Cavan nor am I bitter towards them. Just wouldn't have any of them on my team...

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 15/09/2009 16:55:14    426788