Your Favourite GAA Team of Your Time

Niamh
County: Derry

421348 Dellboypolecat

At least he'll be remembered for his football.

His football he never played a good game in his life oh you never answered how many medals he has

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 09/09/2009 23:42:10    421364

Aye sure edit my post so it makes no sense

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 09/09/2009 23:42:14    421365

1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Martin O'Connell
3. Darren Fay
4. Seamus Moynihan
5. Mick Deegan
6. Graham Canty
7. Graham Geraghty
8. John McDermott
9. Dara O'Se
10. Peter Canavan
11. Paul Galvin
12. Trevor Giles
13. Jayo
14. Ollie Murphy
15. Gooch

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 09/09/2009 23:44:30    421368

Dell I shall cease this argument with you, there is a brick wall to my left hand side that looks more appealing. Also, before you go you say Sean Marty has never has a good game in his life; remember when youse hammered us in Casement in July, I seem to remember he had Stevie O Neill in his back pocket all after noon, and Sean Marty about 5 years older than him...Slan

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 09/09/2009 23:49:35    421374

Dellboypolecat

Niamh
County: Derry

Also, Sean Marty in his prime was twice the player Ricey will ever be.

He will never be a ricey not good enough he is overated and always was . Oh how many all ireland medals has he.

A few things here. As a defender Sean Marty is/was probably better than ANYTHING Tyrone ever produced, although for me Tony Scullion was the prince of Ulster defenders.

Secondly, Dell, were Ger Power, Spillane, Ogie Moran, Mike Sheehy, the BEST football forwards ever?

Was Gary Mason as good as Peter Canavan? Was Eoin Brosnan and Paul Galvin better than Canavan?

The answer to all of these questions is yes, if we judge by all Ireland medals.

Would you like to reconsider Dell?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/09/2009 00:08:44    421390

Castlemaine

for clarity who is your number 3.
Presume Mick not Tommy ??

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 10/09/2009 00:50:16    421411

1. Benny Tierney

2. Seamus Moynihan
3. Francie Bellew
4. Anthony Lynch
5. Aaron Kernan
6. Kieran McGeeney
7. Tomas O'Se

8. Dara O'Se
9. Paul McGrane

10. Ross Carr
11. Kieran Donaghy
12. Oisin McConville
13. Mickey Linden
14. Ronan Clarke
15. Graham Geraghty

managed by: Sean Boylan

corrinshego (Armagh) - Posts: 305 - 10/09/2009 02:27:33    421429

Dublin team of '83 - the twelve apostles - reminded of the '83 final on 'reelin in the years' the other day - comical.

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 10/09/2009 06:48:43    421452

1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Sean Marty Lockhart
3. Barry Owens
4. Seamus Moynihan
5. Martin McHugh
6. Graham Canty
7. Tomas O Se
8. Marty McGrath
9. Sean Cavanagh
10. Brian Dooher
11. Ciaran McDonald
12. Pat Spillan
13. Peter Canavan
14. Declan Browne
15. Colm Cooper

eejit85 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 106 - 10/09/2009 07:34:51    421457

The galway teams of 98 and 01. I also loved the meath team of 91.

zidane (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 10/09/2009 09:11:52    421502

1 John O'Leary(Dublin)

2 Brian Lacey (Kildare)
3 Robbie O'Malley (Meath)
4 Joe Higgins (Laois)

5 Seamus Moynihan (Kerry)
6 Keith Barr (Dublin)
7 Noel O'Leary (Cork)

8 Tony 'Barney' Maher (Laois)
9 Anthony Tohill (Derry)

10 Larry Tompkins (Cork)
11 Trevor Giles (Meath)
12 Tom Prendergast (Laois)

13 Declan Browne (Tipp)
14 Graham Geraghty (Meath)
15 Peter Canavan (Tyrone)

Damien (None) - Posts: 64 - 10/09/2009 09:30:15    421523

Royal_Girl2k9

'13. Jayo' - as in Jason O'Reilly?

Nice to see a Meath woman picking a true Cavan great!

aheadofthecurve (Cavan) - Posts: 95 - 10/09/2009 09:39:31    421528

1. Ger Cunningham (Cork)

2. Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny)
3. Brian Lohan (Clare)
4. Sylvie Linnane (Galway)

5. Brian Whelehan (Offaly)
6. Bobby Ryan (Tipp)
7. John Taylor (Laois)

8.Pat Critchley (Laois
9. John Fenton (Cork)

10. Eanna Ryan (Galway)
11. Martin Storey (Wexford)
12. Eddie Brennan

13. Charlie Carter (Kilkenny)
14. Cormac Bonnar (Tipp)
15.Nicky English (Tipp)

Damien (None) - Posts: 64 - 10/09/2009 09:42:18    421531

i know lads its hard to believe i've actualy made a worthwhile contibution for once.

i feel a change comin on. Would it be against the script if this kleenex character was to try and win ur hearts back (not that i ever had ur hearts in the first place) by actually talkin sense instead of windin people up....or tryin to and not succeedin alot of the time anyway!

Everyone deserves a second chance and i'd like to be that good samriton

kleenex (Wexford) - Posts: 392 - 10/09/2009 09:56:26    421551

From mid 80s to current day

1 Brendan Cummins
2 Brian Corcoran
3 Brian Lohan
4 Ollie Canning
5 Brian Whelehan
6 Sean McMahon
7 JJ Delaney
8 John Fenton
9 Tommy Walsh
10 Henry Shefflin
11 John Power
12 Joe Cooney
13 Eoin Kelly
14 Nicky English
15 Eddie Brennan

1 John O Leary
2 Robbie O Malley
3 Darren Fay
4 Tomas Mannion
5 Tomas O Se
6 Keith Barr
7 Martin O Connell
8 Dara O Se
9 Anthony Tohill
10 Trevor Giles
11 Padraig Joyce
12 Sean Cavanagh
13 Colm Cooper
14 Peter Canavan
15 Maurice Fitzgerald

Jgc81 (Meath) - Posts: 195 - 10/09/2009 10:18:23    421579

This is a very good topic actually. I had a similar one in mind a while back, "The 15 players who gave you the most excitement and pleasure watching". And it's damn difficult to narrow it down to 15. I'll do my football 15 first and probably post my hurlers tomorrow. I haven't gone for or against any county and have in one or two cases named players, not in their most accustomed position, but in a position that they actually did play in at some stage. John O'Leary (Long career, some spectacular saves, very few mistakes and great kick-out) Seamus Moynihan (pPayed football the wy it should be played; no nonsense and no diving and whinging) Mick Lyons (Technically not the greatest full-back, but what a man! what an inspiration to have on your team!) Niall Cahalane (played a lot of good football on the wing also. One man who never gave Pat Spillane a look in, ever. Raw, tough, uncompromising) Tommy Drumm (tough n stylish at the same time. Some leader) Sean Lowry (Even as an old man in the 1982 final, his heart wouldn't allow his legs to give in. Taught Tom Spillane a lesson that day. Stoic) Martin O'Connell (Deservedly on the Team of the Millenium. Had every skill and attribute of the game) Brian Mullins (Surreal and even came back after that horrible car accident to rouse the Dubs again to another All-Ireland) Gerry McEntee (Probably my favourite player of them all) (I'll agree with anyone that Jacko was better than both him & Mullins but he didn't give me as much enjoyment) Greg Blaney (Sublime, runs McEntee very close for my favourite player) Declan Barron (To see him soar above both Jacko and Seanie Walsh and literally swing off that ball in the sky was a joy yo behold. Career way too short) Eugene McKenna (Carried many a Tyrone team in the bad ol' days. Great captain with an immense footballing brain) Anton O'Toole (Only 1 or 2 Dublin players of the modern era (maybe ever) to have won 4 All-Ieland medals. The other is Mullins. The 'Blue Panther' was an apt nickname for him. As a Dub mate who really knows his footall said to me once, "The present guys, Dessie Farrell et al are just grade B or C Anton O'Toole's) Frank McGuigan (Even though his inter-county career in Ireland was relatively short, there was always a buzz when he got near the ball. I think he had a dimension to his game that at the time) Matt Connor (Nothing the man couldn't do with a ball. His 2-10 in the 1980 semi-final against "the greatest team ever" (self-proclaimed, not my opinion) was sheerly majestic.

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 10/09/2009 11:09:39    421651

Subs: a few other guys whom I could watch all day playing, Jimmy Barry Murphy (he's on my hurling team. I think he was probably the first player to make Gaelic football seem sexy) Declan Browne (Two All-Stars with Tipp was scant reward for a man who could almost make the ball talk) Darren Fay (Hands like shovels and technically probably better than Lyons) Tommy Dowd (An engine and energy like no other) Conor Gormley (Almost picked him before Moynihan. I'll probably grow to like guys like him (Dooher, McGinley, Collie Holmes, the McMahons, etc.) more after they have retired) Donal Fitzgibbon (Limerick)-A truly colossus of a player. Played with Parnells in Dublin for years. Resisted the many approaches made to him by the Dublin management to travel down and soldier on with lowly Limerick during the 70's and 80's. Won club player of the year at least once in Dublin. I remember he played full-forward for Munster one time with all those great Kerry players. He scored 3-4 from play. A Bomber Liston display except the reality is Fitzgibbon had a way more talent, class and football than the Bomber. He nearly always played mid-field for Limerick and seldom at full-forward. Paddy Barrett (Limerick). He made the 1984 International rules squad, which was some achievement for a Limk player at the time. A wing-back or mid-field who go thru' you and 3 other men for the ball. Jimmy Keaveney (How could anyone not like what Jimmy brought to the football game! The Dubs had him to thank on many an occassion) Teddy McCarthy (Just for immense energy and his achievements in both codes) Damien O Hagan (Another in the Eugene McKenna mould. Would fight to the bitter end all day everyday) Colm McAlarney (Never saw enough of him but what I did see was complete)

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 10/09/2009 11:11:15    421658

1 Charlie Nelligan

2 Robbie O Malley
3 Darren Fay
4 Paudie O Shea

5 Ogie Moran
6 Glenn Ryan
7 Kieran McGeeney

8 Jack O Shea
9 Sean Cavanagh

10 Peter Canavan
11 Matt Connor
12 Maurice Fitzgerald

13 Mickey Sheehy
14 Graham Geraghty
15 Micky Linden

Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 10/09/2009 12:01:58    421731

Interesting team Pudders I'd guess you are a similar vintage to myself though I don't remember seeing Fan or Chunky - I'LL bow to your greater judgement as up here we are just voyeurs - few thoughts

1. DickO was a corner back - no place for hickey ?
2. DJ the obvious ommission
3. Christy - 45 seconds
4. No fennellys

Ruanua

1. Dick was, you're right, but Fan Larkin was God to me being from teh same club. Him Joe Hennessy and Chunky. I had to get Dick in. Noel Hickey would be the best full back I've seen and a better player than Diock, but that beard of Dick frightened me as a kid. He was god like with it!!
2. DJ is an obvious ommission but as I lost something like 10 underage county finals to Gorwan and he was to blame, I had to leave him off. I suppose I should chuck Charlie off for the same reason!
3. Again, I suppose it was the aura of big Christy. He was our Tony Doran. A man mountain. Definitely not the quickest hurler ever. Not the most skillful. But god you'd get great fun when you'd see his gigantic hands grab the ball and usually hand pass it in to the net.
4. Fennelly's all fine hurlers but they'd be a far bit down the pecking order.

Now if I was to exclude Kilkenny I'd probably fill the team with lots of lads from the 1970s. Maybe its rose tinted glasses but the child like excitement of waving the flag out the window all the way up to dublin - hoping it didn't go flying. The fun outside the bars near Croker. And taking about 2 hours to drive down the Naas dual carraigeway on the way home and stopping in pubs starting in kilcullen and every village down until you got to Kilkenny and the bonfires were out. The hurlers as well were giants - Tony Doran, the Buggy's in wexford, the Cork team of the late 1970s, the best team I had ever seen until this present Kilkenny team, The Connollys and Father Iggy in Galway.

And with Chunky O'Brien - one of the greatest hurlers I have ever seen but probably not as committed as maybe he could have been. I nearly could have filled teh team with lads from my club - Brian Cody, Philly Larkin, Peter Barry, Toss McEvoy.

A very nice thread.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 10/09/2009 14:36:36    421927

The armagh team of 2002. A great team and brilliant being in the hill watching our neighbours finaly get sam.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 10/09/2009 15:13:25    421970