I saw in a letter in a leading newspaper today where several players did not stand still for the National Anthem before the football semi final last Sunday one player it said was even doing warming up movements during the anthem Myself i did not notice anything did you ? Redhot (Cork) - Posts: 739 - 03/09/2009 13:15:12 414287 Link 0 |
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/09/2009 17:51:27 414638 Link 0 |
A meath player seen that alright only takes a minute or so they should wait till it is over. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 03/09/2009 17:53:51 414641 Link 0 |
kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 03/09/2009 18:19:58 414687 Link 0 |
Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 03/09/2009 19:53:49 414768 Link 0 |
I agree, a wee bit of respect. castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 03/09/2009 20:33:12 414801 Link 0 |
Disrespectful along with about 50% of fans at every game who start roaring before it finishes. Cannot understand the thought behind that one at all JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 03/09/2009 21:03:40 414828 Link 0 |
The national anthem should only be played before finals, and international games, playing the national anthem before every game no matter how big or small is ridiculous, and takes away from it. gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 03/09/2009 22:29:47 414942 Link 0 |
Sing it through to the end, its a beauty EamonCorcoran (Tipperary) - Posts: 167 - 03/09/2009 22:29:56 414943 Link 0 |
I agree with JJ1 100% it annoys me that people shout and roar before the end. The only time I was at an intercounty game where the fans didnt roar until the end was the Tyrone v Armagh AI final in 03. Fair play to them. But other than that I have never been to an intercounty game where the fans have did this until the end. DoireCK (Derry) - Posts: 162 - 03/09/2009 22:43:32 414962 Link 0 |
Read that letter. Mentioned the respect shown by Rugby guys. So much respect that they doeven bother having it for half their matches. Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 03/09/2009 23:39:19 415041 Link 0 |
Respect by the Riugby crowd, the D4 crowd probably think its a fancy Irish tune and the Ulster crowd dont recogise it and do not sing it away from home. Dont make me laugh. castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 04/09/2009 10:42:39 415217 Link 0 |
Had to laugh at a post about a year ago... one of the Kerry lads (traleexile or RKF of 3inarow ) thought the last line of the Anthem goes ... Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 04/09/2009 11:39:59 415299 Link 0 |
castlemaine Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/09/2009 11:53:50 415314 Link 0 |
I think the Anthem is an obnoxious waste of time myself, they should only play it before both finals each year no more no less. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/09/2009 12:41:08 415377 Link 0 |
Don't mince your words there Htaem. Why not burn the flag and emigrate while you're at it Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 04/09/2009 13:45:39 415475 Link 0 |
Yes play it all the time show respect to your Anthem,flag and Country. Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 04/09/2009 14:53:39 415550 Link 0 |
Tyrone player's in 2005 before the National League semi - final vs Wexford,they came out half way during the anthem,the heavens were open that day,but respect for our fallen comrades should be respected,that anthem was made in the memory of 1798 Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 04/09/2009 14:57:36 415553 Link 0 |
Why not burn the flag and emigrate while you're at it Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/09/2009 14:58:23 415557 Link 0 |
Jackeen I never follow rugby or soccer so no need to throw that, and to the Meath Man be proud and tand tall for the National Anthem. castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 04/09/2009 15:22:16 415583 Link 0 |