Meaths first fifteen for 2010

I would not have Queeney ahead of David Bray, but I would have Queeney ahead of Byrne, who while a tough and honest tryer seems to lack both the skill and the speed. I agree about Paddy O'Rourke made two great reaction saves but his kick-outs were terrible.

Meath need to build a modern half-back line consisting of players who can win aerial ball, are quick to the break, will carry the ball forward, can pass accurately with the (McGuinness has impressed here) and are tight man-markers. McGuinness and Burke look as though they have the ability to become fine players but I think Kenny is nearing the end and King is simply not good enough.

We need another big ball winning mid-fielder who can carry the ball from deep. I would try a fully fit Shane O'Rourke out there. He is young, he can run from deep, he is tall and ought to be a good ball winner along with Meade, he is true footballer and has shown in 2007 that he has the distributional vision of a Hayes, McEntee or McDermott.

We also need to re-model our half-forward line, to make it more mobile. I think that Cian Ward has the adaptability and intelligence to make a fine play maker at No.11 and I think that he has the mobility and physique to play the type of role of that a modern half-forward must play in tracking back his man. I don't think Joe Sheridan has that mobility and so I would rather see him on the edge of the square. It is great pity because I think that Sheridan has many fine qualities but he simply doesn't have the legs and so I would be concerned for him in the long run if Meath are to build an All-Ireland winning team.

No.3 has been a major problem since the first retirement of Darren Fay and I am not sure that Kevin Reilly has the mobility for the role. However, full-backs need the assistance of the corner backs and I feel that Harrington and O'Connor have done very well there in recent games, and while conditions made it hard for both Kerry and Meath to stretch each other I still feel that Darren O'Sullivan and Cooper were completely nullified by very fine performances from Cooper and O'Sullivan on Sunday....

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 01/09/2009 10:15:02    411238

On a strategical point, as has been said already about Sunday, Meath need to be more intelligent in their use of the long-ball into the forwards. Hit and hope will work against poor teams (or defensively weak teams like Mayo) but it is not going to work against a well-organised defence. I honestly do not think that Kerry defence is all that great but we made it look so on Sunday. The aim with any pass, especially when delivering ball into the forwards, has got to be to have more than a 50-50 chance of winning the ball. That requires that the inside forwards create targets for the outfield players to aim at by making runs early enough for them spot in time. It is then up to the outfield players to deliver good ball inside into areas where a specific forward, who having made a run, has better chance of winning the ball than not. We need the midfield and the half-back line to execute this strategy rather than just hopefully and aimlessly hitting ball forward. If it is not working then midfield and half-back line need to willing to carry the ball, support each other, look to draw defenders and thereby create more space inside that can then be targeted with accurate shorter range foot-passing. That requires fitness, an element of physical courage, and a willingness from everybody in the middle third to track back if possession is lost or overturned unexpectedly. I think Meath have done well this year and have shown that there is plenty of good football and good footballers in the county but there is still alot to do in order to get back into serious contention for winning another All-Ireland.

Targets for 2010/2011:
(1) Get back into Division 1 of the League and stay there.
(2) Get back into a Leinster Final and hopefully win it. Thereafter it is luck of the draw.

My team for the League would be:

Murphy
C.O'Connor
K.Reilly
E.Harrington
S.Kenny
C.McGuinness
M.Burke
B.Meade
S.O'Rourke
S.Bray
C.Ward
Queeney
D.Bray
J.Sheridan
B.Farrell

Subs: Moyles, Byrne, Crawford, McKeigue et al.

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 01/09/2009 10:15:37    411239

Maradonna, can't agree at all with your post, and before I start I've nothing against Moyles, he definitely gives all he has when picked for Meath, but to win an All Ireland is that good enough? To say "But this man has been our best warrior over the past 10 years" is too strong, you may recall players like John Mc Dermott, Enda McManus, Trevor Giles, Ollie Murphy, and Graham Geraghty to name but a few. In order to be successful sentiment has to be put aside, Moyles will be unfortunate in that his best years occured during some of the worst for Meath, but unfortunately thats the way it goes and I don't think there's a place for him on this team, Kevin Reilly or McGill have to be better options if we're looking to the future. To say there's a job for him around the middle isn't good enough either. doing what, and sacrificing who? As I said, sentiment will only get you so far...

Rattler (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 01/09/2009 11:08:05    411305

dont understand how people are puttin joe in on the edge of the square sure what has he evr done for us while he was there. he is on fast enough to move into the spaces that open up in croke park. it was seen on sunday that on few occassions was he able to win his own possession had to be given to him. in saying this it has been his best year in a meath jearsey and if he can improve on it nxt year would be great b ecause he has all the attributes to make an outstandin. maybe if he had lost all this weight a few years ago could hav been better for him.

paddy o rourke has been gettin a lot of stick here. the chap is only 20 any other counties with keepers as young not that i kno of nyways. has made freat saves during the year and was the same again on sunday sum fantastic saves. in sayin that has tring to force the kickouts in the second half maybe slightly inexperienced yet but has learned from his mistakes so far so lets start getin behind him and not givin out bout him cause he can he the keeper for years to come.

personally team for 2010

Paddy o Rourke
Cormac McGill
Kevin Reilly (if back, shouldnt hav been brought on on sunday could hardly move)
Micky Burke
Eoghan harrington
Cormac McGuinnes (no other options here)
Seamus Kenny
Brian Meade
Nigel Crawford/Mark Ward (has been proven that they cant play together)
Tony Cunningham (most underrated player in meath)
Shane o Rourke (class act when fit)
Peader Byrne (serious workrate if could chip in a few more scores would be a great asset)
Steven Bray (great man to get a score
Jamie Queeney ( can win his own possesion and an score aswell)
David Bray ( pace is wat he were lacin in the forwards and he have in now)

subs
Cian Ward (great man from frees but not mobile enough)
Joe Sheirdan (great wen has possesion but we need pace in the forwards)
Anthony moyles (great leadership but not quite up to the standard now)
Stephen Sheppard ( great option)
Graham Reilly
Alan Nestor (two lads with great talent nd loads of pace)
Chris o connor(great year really given us an extra option)

also think we need to carry a couple of the minors from this year and last year to give them experience and have dem doin the weights like every1 else
the like s of micky newman tommy johnson mark collins damien carrol ciaran lenehan and the likes

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 01/09/2009 12:28:09    411463

Next year is a long way away and injuries and form mean that somebody holding down a jersey may not be in such a privileged position come the Leinster championship in May 2010.
For me the more important issue is addressing how the side can be improved and the problem areas we have.
1. Goalkeeper - Paddy O'Rourke may be the future but he is not the present. 19 year olds goalkeepers are a rarity as experience rules the roost here. He had his good moments but the worries over high balls and shot stopping mean he might be better serving an apprenticeship. The reality is that if David Gallagher had stayed fit or Brendan Murphy committed he would have been on the bench or not on the panel.
2. Tactics - we are too one dimensional and need to be able to vary the game. This comes to kick outs, delivery into the forward lines and how we use impact runners to tie up defenders. The team, because it is under a new manager instead of a third year of development under Colm Coyle is really starting from scratch again. Perhaps this development is the natural course of O'Brien's reign - if we improve as much in 2010 as we did over the course of this summer, then we will all be happy.
3. Injuries - we picked up a lot as the year wore on (some are more prone to injuries that others) but our season could have been much better with Gallagher, Reilly, O'Rourke all in top form - as well as the fact that Stephen Bray and Anthony Moyles had to play in games carrying knocks. Maybe it is down to recovery time or training, but we need to look at it.
4. Attitude - the near cowing to Kerry before the semi-final was too much in my opinion. Yes we respect them, but the line that was spouted about by management and players that 'if they play like they did against Dublin then we won't live with them' made me shudder. Winning Meath teams never said this and at times in the second half it was like the players started to believe what they said. Eamon did the same in the league saying the relegation would not be the worst thing - it sent out the wrong message.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 480 - 01/09/2009 13:03:08    411526

Lads,I`m compelled to put a few facts forward on Anthony Moyles.He stood into the breach for Meath following Kevin Reillys injury.It was plain to a blindman that it wasnt ideal but he done his best.He was vulnerable under high balls all year particularly in the proximity of a tall full forward and what was behind him wouldnt being filling him with confidence either.All in all he done a good job under the circumstances,much more effective in the half forward line so lads take a pull on criticising the lad,its grossly unfair.

The Brickie (None) - Posts: 208 - 01/09/2009 13:41:06    411591

did anyone else hear that song a group of meath fans were singing about anthony moyles after the game?
hilarious stuff!! oh anthony moyles, you are the love of my life..... cant remember the rest!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 01/09/2009 14:40:59    411660

lads whats all the talk of murphy comin back? do you know somethin the rest of us don't...? for a start, i would have no space for farrell on the team. we have many alternatives many of which are much better than him. i sat here for a while trying to justify saying that king should get a place but overall i suppose you're right. kenny deserves the place more and there's no question mcguiness does too. i'd try o connor at 7 cause he scored so much from corner back he'd be even more dangerous operatin on the forty. as for burke, definitely room for him. anywhere. i'd like to try him at mid actually, the transition from a back to a forward is so easy. a trial in the league would be a good idea. otherwise he's a solid back so he'd slip in for o connor if he's out wing back. in saying that it'd be difficult to start him mid ahead of the two lads now. though it seems possible this was nigels swansong an he won't be up for it next year...? peadar is good and i'd like to find a place for him, though i dont know think i could with o rourke and queeney deserving of places. i dont like s. bray at half forward. maybe swap the brays as mentioned above. joe is irreplaceable on the team and i'd sooner have him CHF than FF. cian ward, though not the best player on the team, would be a hard one to take off. who else could get the scores he does? as for paddy in goals he seems a good keeper. however murphy'd get on ahead of him if he does come back, and he's also got competition from gallagher (if fit) and murray (is well worth his place on the team, i'd have him ahead of gallagher). so then my team would be something like: 1. P. O' Rourke (unless murphy does return) 2. M. Burke (based on this year i'd have to have him on. if successful at midfield, moyles would play here) 3. Reilly (no question) 4. Harrington (no question) 5. Kenny (though the place could easily go to king) 6. McGuiness (go on, try argue....) 7. O Connor (would be dangerous here i think) 8. Crawford (will have to be on top of his game to keep this place ahead of ward and maybe burke) 9. Meade (same situation as Crawford) 10. J. Queeney (this could be his best position, well deserving of a starting place.) 11. J. Sheridan (a class act.) 12. D. Bray (i think he'd be better here than his brother 13. S. Bray (dangerous in the corner) 14. S. O' Rourke (if not queeney or joe could fill this position either) 15. C. Ward (worth this place for frees alone.) luckily there are a few players with a good shout for a spot so players will be on form if they want their place. with moyles able to fill any role players will be very aware. forwards will also know farrel and byrne are readily available, with ward on the sidelines keeping the midfielders on their toes. also, a spell on the bench would cause players to realise they must improve, as it did with joe and byrne this year.

meath11 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 01/09/2009 19:55:49    412229

Some day in the not-too-distant future the GAA will see sense and we'll be basing these 'predict the team' threads around 13-a-side rosters, but until the powers that be in HQ wake up I suppose I'll have to pick 15.

1 Brendan Murphy

2 Eoin Harrington 3 Kevin Reilly 4 Caoimhin King

5 Shane McAnarney 6 Cormac McGuinness 7 Peadar Byrne

8 Nigel Crawford 9 Brian Meade

10 Anthony Moyles 11 Cian Ward 12 Shane O'Rourke

13 Brian Farrell 14 Joe Sheridan 15 Stephen Bray

So, to justify my starting fifteen... I hope the selectors are paying attention now...

Paddy O'Rourke in all likelihood will become a top goalkeeper for Meath. Right now, like a lot people here my gut feeling is that he is too raw, too young. Yes, any 19 year-old could get a bad case of the nerves being a shot-stopper in front of 50,000 but the modern game requires a keeper with real focus. That means implementing the coaches' game plan from kick-outs and doing it consistently. If Brendan Murphy can be persuaded to come back he would be an automatic No. 1. However, the distance O'Rourke gets on his kick-outs is phenomenal and it was a major part of Meath's tactical set-up this year, move the ball into the forwards as quickly as possible. It will be a potent weapon in the future.

Caomhin King at corner back! Playing at Full Forward sapped Kingsy's confidence this year, no doubt. Most teams play a 2 man Full Forward line in the championship. Harro and Reilly's fielding and marking abilities should ear-mark them for tackling the 2 man attack. King would be a natural choice for tracking the deeper-lying 3rd forward, additionally he is a ball-playing defender and would be crucial in working the ball safely out of defense.

Byrne and McAnarney as wing-backs. Such an important position in modern football. McAnarney has to start somewhere around the middle third. We really missed his foot-passing against Kerry. An outlet for good direct ball from the wings, setting up quick counter-attacks. When we need to run the ball, work it out to the left and let Peadar sally forward. He has the natural athleticism to be a great wing-back and would demand close-attention with his constant running from deep. Additionally he can tuck in on kick-outs and do what he does so well, win breaking ball.

Crawford, just hitting his prime. Meade seems to bring the best out of him and the young lad's a nice footballer, plays good ball off the boot. I don't know if it's true that Ward and Crawford can't play together. Ward seems to be able to drop the ball onto the D at will (which suits our style), but can he stay the pace of a championship game?

Googan (Meath) - Posts: 105 - 01/09/2009 21:00:42    412298

Agree with your selection Googan certainly a team with potential, Moyles at half forward would be deserved to be tried, i agree the man has taken unjust stick this year when he stood up to the challenge of being full back, tommy walsh is almost as unmarkable as donaghy especially given the height differential. Think Mickey Burke will be worth a try during league, love the guys work rate and all action approach.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 01/09/2009 21:43:23    412386

Continued...

...There's a good reason why a young Meath team did so well this year and that's often been the presence of veterans in the starting 15 like Crawford and my choice for the captaincy, Anthony Moyles. I'd sacrifice a wing-forward to play Moyles in a specialist role. Against teams that run the ball, (Cork, Tyrone etc.) Moyles would start as a sweeper closing down the space in front of the forty, allowing McGuinness to drop back a little and shepard the forwards out wide where they'll be pressured into taking difficult shots. Again, another option for kick-outs, even allowing McGuinness to drop back and collect the short one.

Against teams that employ a target-man Full Forward, (Kerry with Walsh, Mayo with O'Shea), Moyles would play just in front of Reilly looking to anticipate the high-ball and attack it early allowing Reilly to marshall the FF and break the ball down.

Two man half-forward line, O'Rourke as the engine running the ball from deep and Cian Ward the orchestrator. The advantage of having Shane on the forty is that he can form the top of a midfield diamond comprising Moyles-Crawford & Meade-O'Rourke. That should win us enough posession to take the game to any team.

I have every confidence that Ward has the foot-passing ability to be play-maker-in-chief for this Meath team but I'm not sure if he's mobile enough. He makes clever runs and looks for the ball alright but he's a heavily built player. Having him further out the field means we have a long-range sniper who's not afraid to shoot from any position.

Bray, Sheridan and Farrell. That line should pick itself. Sheridan needs to play on the edge of the square, he's the perfect foil for Farrell, (who we've yet to see the best of), with good direct ball he would free up Farrell from having to be the main ball-winner. Sheridan on a good day draws backs to him on the D, meaning more space for Brayser. This is the forward I would grant the most freedom, making runs into the corner or dropping back to the forty help set up attacks. In fact with O'Rourke back to fitness the two could swap positions on and off. Sheridan and O'Rourke under a good high-ball? That's enough to make sure the Dubs leave Croker next summer with unhappy memories.

The logic is sound though. If Ward can prove himself at no.11 then Bray has to play closer to goal. We just score more from play when he's up there.

Mickey Burke, Kenny, O'Connor can all play a huge role as impact subs. Last twenty, Kenny comes in for Ward, pushing McAnarney upfield. This would maintain Meath's hight-tempo style. Up front, Queenie may have pace but the rangy build, the fielding skills, all suggest he should be challenging Sheridan for no.14. Alternate between Farrell and David Bray during league games and you start to have real competition up front.

Personally I don't think O'Brien should be managing the team, (I'd actually love to see O'Malley get a crack at being Bainisteoir) but I have to hand it to the selectors, they're doing a good job of bringing the best players through. You can't focus solely on the senior grade any more, just look at the impact someone like Chris O'Connor made this season.

Googan (Meath) - Posts: 105 - 01/09/2009 21:53:31    412403

googan,
agree with alot of that, you know your football, but the positioning there is messy. king at corner back? ward centre forward?! no thanks...
McAnarney i wouldn't start ahead of burke or kenny and byrne as a half back is a dodgy enough experiment for an o byrne cup match, couldn't see it working.
though moyles would be valuable, i dont think he's of more worth than most forwards. it could be worth it but not worth the position in championship unless he truely proves himself.
CHF could be filled by o rourke or i'd love to see queeney with that spot, two players that can swap round any forward position.
king ahead of o connor is risky, though i admit this one could work.
farrell (and i REALLY hope i'm wrong about this) is no longer one of our top 15, or 20. he'd want serious improvement through the league if he's to get any position.
ward shoud be in the corner or at a stretch the wing, possibly even have sheridan out wing forward (with that sort of freedom he could do damage...), with queeney in the centre, ward in the corner and o rourke given FF. so eob may want to try this team for a challenge or something, see if they work well together:

P. O' Rourke

King Reilly Harringon

Burke McGuiness Kenny

Crawford Meade

Moyles Queeney Sheridan

S. Bray S. O' Rourke C. Ward

any thoughts?

meath11 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 02/09/2009 18:19:10    413472

I suppose the main advantage in having Queenie and Joe on the 45m line is you can go direct very early, they're both great at winning high ball and then you're just one good pass away from the square. Problem is I wouldn't trust either of them to supply that pass consistently. Think of that horizontal pass Sheridan gifted to Kerry, so risky. However, I think O'Brien will go with O'Rourke at FF and Joe will hang about aboved midfield occasionally popping up in the large rectangle. I would prefer if it was the other way around but management musn't be happy with the full forward line otherwise they wouldn't have tried out King there. More experimenting in the league me thinks. Yeah, I'm a big fan of Burke and Kenny but McAnarney has to start because he has the best foot-passing technique in the panel outside of Stephen Bray. So if we're going to persist with letting the ball in early from behind midfield we need someone who can do it accurately. I think McAnarney could set up quick counter-attacks from wing-back and could push up when we're in posession as an outlet for good diagonal ball into the full forward line. As for Peadar at wing-back the only concern I'd have is his tendency to give away fouls, you know when the red mist descends. I'd definitely groom him for the position during the league. He has the workrate, the athleticism, instinct for breaking ball, everything that should make for a good wing-back. When you play direct ball almost constantly like we do the opposition's half-backs tend to drop deeper when they see an attack building up, that leaves huge spaces for pacy wing-backs to run into. Think back to the start of the second half against Kerry when King bombed forward only to hoof the ball into row Z, I think Peadar Byrne would be very effective running the ball in this situation. Well, it should be either him or Kenny. I'd actually play Moyles as a sweeper behind midfield, I think having him, Crawford, Meade/Ward and O'Rourke operating around the middle third would add real steel to this Meath side. so it would probably look like this: --------------------------------1. Brendan Murphy ------------2. Eoin Harrington------3. Kevin Reilly ------------------------------------------------------4. Caoimhin King 5.Shane McAnarney----6.Cormac McGuinness -----------------------------------------------------------------------7.Peadar Byrne ---------------------10.Anthony Moyles ---------------------------------------9.Mark Ward -----------------------8.Nigel Crawford -------------------------------------------------11.Shane O'Rourke ------12.Cian Ward ------------------------------------------------------------15.Stephen Bray ----------------------13.David Bray---14.Joe Sheridan Maybe let David Bray oust Farrell for a few league matches, challenge Farrell to up his game. To be honest with you though I think the poor form, (by his standards) was a result of him being forced to be the main ball-winner in the front three. Have Joe or Queenie as your target man and Brian might benefit from feeding off the full forward?

Googan (Meath) - Posts: 105 - 03/09/2009 18:02:27    414651

Meath11. I really cannot agree with the omission of David Bray, and I think that Moyles and Sheridan would be destroyed by any serious wing-half back combination due to complete lack of pace. I do not agree about Farrell either, I think that he has lessons to learn as he currently too selfish a player and not accurate enough but if he can learn to seek out players in a better position to shoot than himself I think he has the game to be a very dangerous forward but he has as yet to show a suitable level of maturity.

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 03/09/2009 18:21:02    414690

1 Paddy O'Rourke 2 Eoghan Harrington 3 Kevin Reilly 4 Cormac McGill 5 Mickey Burke 6 Cormac Mcguinnesss 7 Seamus Kenny/Chris O'Connor 8 Nigel Crawford 9 Brian Meade 10 Alan Nestor 11 Cian Ward 12 Peadar Byrne 13 Stephen Bray 14 Joe Sheridan 15 Jamie Queeney That is just an idea of a team we could use. Most of the players there have made a good account for themselves this year. Kevin Reilly was injured a lot but i still think hes our best option at full back. Nestor and McGill were 2 of our better performers in '08 so hopefully they get a good run in the league. There are many others i would like to see get a run in de spring like Eoin Reilly, Graham Reilly, Michael Newman, Stephen Sheppard, Brian Sheridan and then the obvious contenders to be in with a chance of starting like anthony moyles (who i feel may be a better option as an impact sub), David Bray,Shane MacAnarney, David Gallagher, Shane o'Rourke,Mark Ward and Brian Farrell and Caoimhin King who are 2 players who i think have so much to offer but i just dont think they were up to scratch this year. I think that we do have a great group of players to choose from for next year and i'd be confident of geting a leinster title at least so long as the management does not make ludicrous decisions with tactics and and selections like de dublin game last year.

happydude (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 03/09/2009 19:33:25    414751

1) Paddy
2) O'Connor
3) Reilly
4) Harro
5) Kenny
6) McGuiness
7) Burke
8) Crawford
9) Meade
10) Byrne
11) Big-Joe
12) S.Bray
13) D.Bray
14) Quenny/S.O'Rourke(dont know which one to pick)
15) C.Ward

With subs like Moyles King the 2 Sheridans. And upcoming players like Sean Curran Mickey Newman Bryan Menton Damian Carroll Ciaran Lenehen Tommy Johnson and Andy Tormey we should be pushing for a leinster!!

Royal_son (Meath) - Posts: 300 - 04/09/2009 22:20:07    416085

Some of the above teams have shown many changes in personnel to the team that reached the All Ireland Semi Final this year. In all honesty getting to the semi was possibly something of a slight overachievement, welcome as it was. The following is a team that injury and suspension allowing I believe could well be the Meath team for 2010, although at this very early stage it is nigh on impossible to predict aaccurately. GK: Paddy O'Rourke; He is a young man who at the start of the year could not have imagined that he would be Meaths no.1 for the year. He has had a few dodgy moments, most notable of what I seen would be against Mayo, I believe some of the older, more experienced heads could have calmed him down last Sunday. Were Gallcgher to have an injury free year next year he could challenge though he has a young family and it remains to be seen if he is available for next year. RCB: Cormac McGill/Chris O'Connor; McGill has done enough in the past to suggest he could be one of the best man markers on the panel while O'Connor has proved to be one of the best attacking corner backs around this year. If McGill can stay clear of injury in the new year he may just edge out O'Connor, who could be able to also provide cover in the half back line. FB: Kevin Reilly; He started out the year as the no.1 full back in the county and his presence was missed against Kerry, yes I know he came on as a sub but he had a severe lack of football preceeding the game and didn't look 100% fit. LCB: Eoghan Harrington; He has had a very steady few years and fully deserves to keep his place. Were his form to slip McGill or O'Connor could slot in. RHB: Seamus Kenny; He has been one of the most consistent players for his county over the last number of years. His ability to win dirty breaking ball is best utilised fron wing back. Meath will need to keep experience in the team and Kenny would be the most experienced member of this particular defence. CHB: Cormac McGuinness; He was impressive for Navan O'Mahonies in the county championship and stepped up to this level well. A very good ball playing footballer and while not quite the replacement for Enda McManus we have been looking for for many a year if he can manage to improve on his tight marking then McGuinness could hold down the no.6 jersey for a while. LHB: Mickey Burke; Burke like Kenny on the other wing has shown that he can be rather effective at winning breaking ball and driving forward. Following on from his performances against Mayo and Kerry I feel he deserves an opportunity to nail down a place. He is also a tight marker. MF: Nigel Crawford and Brian Meade; It has been shown previously that Crawford and Mark Ward are not the most effective partnership available to us inspite of possibly being the two best ball winners, granted Ward does punch more than he catches. This season since being paired together since the Waterford game Meade and Crawford have been very effective. Meade, while not being the best ball player is an excellent foil for Crawford who had one of his best years to date in a Meath jersey. Some people doubt whether or not he may be around next year but hopefully he will as he will add some much needed experience. RHF: Anthony Moyles; Should Moyles decide to give one more year to the cause I believe this could be his most effective position. He is not naturally the tightest man marker and possibly not the most effective player under the high ball. From wing forward Moyles would be able to act as a third midfielder and when the need arises to act as a sweeper in front of the full back. He is also well able to deliver quality ball into the full forward line.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 05/09/2009 17:47:35    416457

continued CHF: Joe Sheridan; He has had to date his most effective season in a Meath jersey. Perhaps not being in the team early in the year drove him on? Either way he has proved more effective this year as a centre forward predominatly, but with a licence to interchange with the no.14 position. I would leave him on the forty for next year as he is perhaps at his most effective when running powerfully at opponents, is generally a good deliverer of the ball and is capable of winning the odd kick out. LHF: Steven Bray; Bray will hoefully have a kinder year next year with luck. He is the outstanding playmaker in the county, a talent that deserves prominence in tha half forward line. He is also well capable of kicking his point from 35/40 yards. If needs be he could on occasion be switched into the full forward line. RCF: David Bray; In his first year on the county scene Bray has done very well. If he can kick on next year he could have a very good season indeed. Well able to win ball high and low he also offers the ability as a left footed free taker, not a bad quality to have ina team at all. FF: Shane O'Rourke; Since 2007 he has suffered terribly with injuries. That year however he proved that he was a most effective full forward and were he to manage to steer clear of injury next year he would nail downa place in the Meath team. Hopefully he will and he would also offer flexibility in the full forward line and could be switched out with Sheridan or Bray in the half forward line. LCF: Cian Ward; I would like to see him use his undoubted ability to take a few more scores from play. However, he is the best free taker available at the moment and thus is worth his place if only for his frees. Like Stephen Bray he is also a decent playmaker and on occasion could switch out to the forty and Joe move in towards the square.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 05/09/2009 17:48:20    416458

We need a replacement for goalkeeper. And your answer is Ricky Nolan from Duleek. He is best goalkeeper in county at the minute by a mile.

meathman123 (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 06/09/2009 20:40:55    417316

Ill second that. Terrific for Duleek against the Pats last night.

qprmeath (None) - Posts: 434 - 06/09/2009 21:03:42    417345